Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of varied stories
Although best known for his long-running series of novels featuring Inspector Alan Banks, Peter Robinson is also a writer of short stories, and this is his second collection, after Not Safe After Dark: and other works. This collection contains 10 short stories, three of which feature Banks, and a novella in which the central story concerns Banks' last days as a policeman...
Published on 31 Mar 2010 by M. V. Clarke

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars liked rather than loved
Must confess straight off i am a big Peter Robinson fan. I love the inspector robinson novels. These stories were generally good. Short stories are a hard form to master. Some of these come off as commisions to please publishers or friends. The highlights for me were Eastvale ladies poker circle, walking the dog,shadow on the water, the cherub affair. This gives me a...
Published on 16 May 2012 by A. Browne


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of varied stories, 31 Mar 2010
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Price of Love (Paperback)
Although best known for his long-running series of novels featuring Inspector Alan Banks, Peter Robinson is also a writer of short stories, and this is his second collection, after Not Safe After Dark: and other works. This collection contains 10 short stories, three of which feature Banks, and a novella in which the central story concerns Banks' last days as a policeman in London before his move north to Eastvale. All of the short stories have been published elsewhere, but it would take an avid collector of short stories from several countries to have read them all before - I'd only come across the one that's in John Harvey's Men from Boys.

The short stories show off Robinson's considerable versatility as a writer, with a wide range of settings, from war-time stories, to elements of the supernatural, parodies, PI's and the more familiar territory of Eastvale. All are rewarding, with interesting characters, atmospheric settings and intriguing plot lines. Particular favourites were Cornelius Jubb, a tale exploring racial tension in the American army and in Yorkshire, The Price of Love (the title story, in which the central character is a young boy, and Walking the Dog, with its dramatic twists. Fans of Banks will be delighted with the novella that concludes the collection; it begins with Banks in his present Eastvale home receiving a letter that prompts him to remember his last days working in London. We're then transported back to the mid-80s, and find Banks investigating prostitute murders in Soho; key series characters, including his family, Gristhorpe, and Dick Burgess are all introduced. Alongside a tense, taut plot, featuring organised crime, vice and violence, we get the background on Banks' early career follow him through his decision to apply for a vacancy in Eastvale. A great story in its own right, but also a good way to build up a fuller picture of Banks and to provide some further context for all that happens in his personal life through the series of novels. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banks in the Met and other Interesting Stories, 9 Aug 2009
By 
H. meiehofer "haroldm" (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Price of Love (Hardcover)
Peter Robinson is best known for the excellent Inspector Banks series of novels. This collection demonstrates that he is also a very good short story writer.

Banks' fans will be delighted to get hold of the new stories featuring their hero. However, the other stories are also excellent. Of particular note are the first two in the collection. "Cornelius Jubb" sees Robinson tackle issues of race and a period, the Second World War, not covered elsewhere in his work, whilst "The Magic of Your Touch" has a supernatural theme.

Other stories concern the horrors of the trenches in World War One, the "hippy generation" and murderous duplicity in a marriage.

There are three stories featuring Inspector Banks. The one that will be of most interest to Banks' fans is the novella, "Like a Virgin". This fills in the back story for Banks, showing him working for the Metropolitan Police long before he went to Eastvale. Banks develops like a real human. At this stage in his life for example he ahs only just started listening to jazz and opera, which will become so central to his personality later on. Banks is an attractive hero not because he is flawed like a hackneyed cliché detective, but he appears like a real human being who has weaknesses as well as strengths which makes him interesting. The novella fills in some of the gaps in this very human existence.

Peter Robinson has had a long career writing about Inspector Banks and whilst these stories may not quite match the best of his novels, they are nonetheless very fine fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars liked rather than loved, 16 May 2012
By 
A. Browne "avid reader" (Donegal Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Price of Love (Paperback)
Must confess straight off i am a big Peter Robinson fan. I love the inspector robinson novels. These stories were generally good. Short stories are a hard form to master. Some of these come off as commisions to please publishers or friends. The highlights for me were Eastvale ladies poker circle, walking the dog,shadow on the water, the cherub affair. This gives me a score of 4/9 the other were merely adaquate passing tales. Looking forward to next Ispector Bank's novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Price of Love (Paperback)
I bought this book without reading the back just because it was a Peter Robinson. Even though it turned out to be a book of short stories it was well worth the price. I had only read one of the stories previously and there were three 'Banks' stories which were excellent as usual. Especially the last story set in the '80s which sheds some light on how Insp Banks ended up in Eastvale. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Right, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Price of Love (Paperback)
I am not usually a short story reader but this book may have changed that. I found myself making excuses to sit and read. Each story gave me a new view on things. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Price of Love - A Mixed Bag, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Price of Love (Kindle Edition)
The Price of Love is a collection of short stories. Some, bit not all, feature Alan Banks who is the author's best known character. As might be expected with a number of short stories it is a bit of a moxed bag but overall I enjoyed it and it does show that Peter Robinson can turn his hand to a variety of topics with some success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of short stories, 4 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Price of Love (Hardcover)
The Price of Love

As a big Peter Robinson fan I really enjoyed this collection of short stories. Obviously the major draw is the novella which explains the background of Banks' move to Yorkshire and reveals certain details never explained in the series such as how he got his scar. There is also an interesting end to the story which suggests possible link into future novels!

Even the short stories which are not Banks-related have some excellent ideas and always written well, particularly the title story.

In some of the other reviews people have complained that the blurb somehow 'mislead' them into thinking this was a full-length Banks novel. I can't say I understand how the blurb on the book (or Amazon) possibly leads to that conclusion, but on the offchance someone has bought this without thinking it is an excellent collection and essential to the Banks oeuvre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars for the novella - none for the rest., 15 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Price of Love (Hardcover)
Unfortunately this was the most disappointing of Peter Robinson's works. The bulk of the stories were flimsy in plot and characterisation, proving yet again, that the ability of novelists to write short stories to a similar standard as their full length works, is in question. The book is redeemed by the novella which takes up the last quarter or so of the book and which is up to the quality we expect. The rest is, however, not worth the price of admission. My recommendation would be to wait for the paperback and leave the hardback well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 7 July 2014
This review is from: The Price of Love (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars strong characters, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Price of Love (Kindle Edition)
Good storyline and strong, credible characters make this an enjoyable read and interesting insight into a detectives private life and thoughts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Price of Love
The Price of Love by Peter Robinson (Hardcover - 6 Aug 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews