Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb little book, buy it!
This is a superb little book and is the ideal companion for when you are out and about cloud spotting. It's just the right size to put in a pocket too. The book is packed with great pictures and gives a brief but very descriptive write-up on the cloud in question. There is also a space to fill out where and when you spotted a certain cloud with points awarded too, this...
Published on 22 Jun 2009 by S. Clout

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cloud Collector's Handbook
It is a nice booklet, I was a little bit disappointed because of the size of it, it is very small.
But just the same, I love it.
Published on 1 Nov 2009 by P. Maria


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb little book, buy it!, 22 Jun 2009
By 
S. Clout - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Collector's Handbook (Hardcover)
This is a superb little book and is the ideal companion for when you are out and about cloud spotting. It's just the right size to put in a pocket too. The book is packed with great pictures and gives a brief but very descriptive write-up on the cloud in question. There is also a space to fill out where and when you spotted a certain cloud with points awarded too, this could be handy for children (and competitive adults!) if they have a general interest in the weather.

This book will be constantly by my side as I'm sure it will get used daily. For those of you who want to look at more clouds don't forget to have a look at the Cloud Appreciation web site where there is a huge selection of photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow The Cloud Collectors Handbook hasnt left my side., 12 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Collector's Handbook (Hardcover)
Ezxcellent as I said I've had it with me ever since ...full of interesting facts, figures and even better pictures. I'd reccommend this book to anyone who looks skywards ...from behind a window or in the great outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gavin's wee book, 6 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Collector's Handbook (Hardcover)
A nice compact but comprehensive wee book. I keep one at home and one in the car. Illustrations quite small and not up to photo quality but sufficient to distinguish the differences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant little book no one should be without, 19 July 2009
By 
S. Herbert "Sherbs" (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Collector's Handbook (Hardcover)
If you have ever holidayed in Britain and cursed the clouds, buy this book! You will find yourself suddenly fascinated and often charmed by each and every whisp in the wide blue, and enthusiastically taking photos, exclaiming 'Ooh look! Cumulo Nimbus headed our way!' instead of groaning 'O Oh, looks like thunder'!

Wittily written, excellently illustrated and brimming with the fun of 'collecting' different types of cloud, the Cloud Collectors Handbook should reside in every glove compartment, rucksack or handbag, next to a handy camera with which to record your finds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book that helps you look up, 14 July 2009
By 
Mr. Christopher Hobbs (Kent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Collector's Handbook (Hardcover)
First of all the book is well made(a small hardback with rounded corners) which makes its easy to carry in your pocket or car without getting damaged.
There is a good mixture of wit and information and the photos are excellent. Its a bit like having a friendly scientist by your side and there are references if you want more technical information but for me the balance is just right.
With the scoring system there is a feel of a 21st century I-Spy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning! ... This book could turn you into a cloud geek ..., 25 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Cloud Collector's Handbook (Hardcover)
Not that that is such a terrible thing.

Be prepared to spend your idle hours glancing skyward 'spotting' clouds, for this book is a spotter guide. You get points for each type of cloud you spot and extra points if it has a 'special feature'. There is space to record where and when you spotted your cloud - and even what the weather was like.

This little book is so informative that you will soon be regaling family and friends with your new found wisdom regarding clouds - and indeed, the type of weather certain clouds bring with them.

This book is small enough to fit nicely in your handbag/pocket - and the when you score your first points - you feel very satisfied. You may even want to join the Cloud Appreciation Society - but again, be warned - if you do, there is no going back! And you will very soon be singing the praises of all types of cloud (except the altostratus - which everyone agrees is the most boring of all the clouds).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Book, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Jan Church "GoldauGirl" (Richmond Hill ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Collector's Handbook (Hardcover)
I have always had an interest in clouds and joining the Cloud Appreciation Society was one of the best things I have ever done for myself. When an email came with reviews and things for sale I saw the Cloud Collecters Handbook and ordered one right away. It came a little late because it mistakenly was sent to Iran but I did get it in great shape and I really like it and am so very glad to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Head in the Clouds, 6 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Collector's Handbook (Hardcover)
This is a really sweet little book. I tend to be much more appreciative of clouds and spend a lot more timing looking at them. The book is good to take out and about. It has whetted my appetite and I am now interested in finding out more with a more substantial book. I first heard about this book after watching the writer on TV doing an hour long programme on clouds, his enthusiasm is boundless. There is also a cloud appreciation society that I thought would be fun to join.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cloud Collector's Handbook, 12 July 2009
By 
M. Jenner "Mary Jenner truenorth" (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Collector's Handbook (Hardcover)
Marvellous book - I Spy for grown ups. Long may Gavin Pretor-Pinney and the Cloud Appreciation Society continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 6 July 2009
By 
K. Fallows - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Collector's Handbook (Hardcover)
if you ever wondered about clouds then this little book is a must,you can slip it in your pocket and,check of the clouds when you see them and get an explanation on the cloud formation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cloud Collector's Handbook
The Cloud Collector's Handbook by Gavin Pretor-Pinney (Hardcover - 11 Jun 2009)
£8.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews