Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a 70s classic, more relevant now than ever
this book looks great - it reminds me of another favourite of mine, sophie grigson's "country kitchen" in both artwork and recipes.

most of the recipes are plain, good old fashioned fare, but easy to cook and delicious to eat. i have tried kipper quiche (it was fantastic), bangers braised in cider (mouthwatering) and curried eggs with cauliflower (believe it or...
Published on 13 Nov. 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More common sense than frugal
I've enjoyed reading through this cook book to get Delia's take on frugal eating as well and it being a re-print from 1976.

Most of the recipies are common sense recipies rather that frugal in the sense that I've become accustomed, the extravagance seems to have been cut but some of the basic ingredience used are far from frugal - i.e. Beef, tuna and the tonnes...
Published 12 months ago by Just_meme


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A treasured book book, 22 April 2011
By 
Elizabeth S. Wells (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frugal Food (Paperback)
Delighted to find this. Though written year's ago, Delia at her best and most practical.Delia's Complete Cookery Course - Classic Edition: Vol 1-3 in 1v
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipe ideas, 10 Feb. 2013
By 
K Haycock (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
A lovely book with some good ideas and well set out. I haven't cooked from it yet but plan to do soon. The only I would have preferred is book with pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought as a gift for my daughter as I purchased ..., 16 Mar. 2015
By 
italian_ style (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
bought as a gift for my daughter as I purchased Delia's original Frugal Food which helped me a lot when funds were low and I had to feed a family of 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frugal Food, 16 Mar. 2009
By 
John Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
I've always relied on Dehlia Smith for some excellent recipes and this book doesn't disappoint. I've already tried a couple of the recipes and they are delicious, easy to prepare and, perhaps most importantly, easy on the budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
one of the best books out in this economic climate,gives you good meal ideas at very little cost and all are easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always Delia comes up trumps with dishes that are unique and lovely and best of all don't cost too much to make
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
Ideal for the cook who doesn't like wasting good food. Would recommend it to all my friends and family. great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cooking, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
A. Shearer (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book but my husband liked it even more. He does likes cooking and found it quite helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frugal ideas, 23 Jan. 2009
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointing. A resourceful cook can manage without this. Very short on creativity but it does give basic ideas to the new cook. Dated but there's nothing wrong with that especially during a recession when it might be very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delia's Frugal Food, 21 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
This book was delivered in excellent condition. The recipes within it are practical and tasty. Most of the ingredients are ones which are kept in store cupboard and instructions are easy to follow.
i would highly recommend it and have done so at every opportunity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Delia's Frugal Food
Delia's Frugal Food by Delia Smith (Hardcover - 30 Oct. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews