Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a 70s classic, more relevant now than ever
this book looks great - it reminds me of another favourite of mine, sophie grigson's "country kitchen" in both artwork and recipes.

most of the recipes are plain, good old fashioned fare, but easy to cook and delicious to eat. i have tried kipper quiche (it was fantastic), bangers braised in cider (mouthwatering) and curried eggs with cauliflower (believe it or...
Published on 13 Nov 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not exciting
I bought this book hoping it would inspire me with thrifty recipes to cheer my table in these penny pinching days. There are a handful of recipes i would try but a distinct lack of pictures make for an uninspiring tome. Im not a great Delia fan so maybe that's the problem, maybe the die-hard Delia fans out there might rate it higher than i did.
Published on 21 Mar 2009 by Mrs. C. M. Lambert


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Originally published in the 70's, now updated for modern life - a kitchen classic., 7 Feb 2014
By 
Celticprincess "What you send out, comes back... (Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
I love this book and am so pleased to now own the updated in 2008 version. This book was so popular in its day, the 70's a time of strikes and poverty and harsh lives. In lots of way life today is getting rather similar and so many people are looking at ways to cut the food budget whilst feeding themselves and their families with good, wholesome, healthy 'in-season' food that is both delicious and economical. This isn't a book for those that are on the true-breadline but for those that want to cut back, eat better, buy local produce that is in-season (thus cheaper) and to generally live better whilst saying goodbye to processed junk that is overpriced in the supermarkets.

The recipes are great! easy to follow, often simple easy to locate ingredients, tasty! and nutritionally good for you. Dehlia was a master of her craft in her day and her teachings are just as important now. Its a book that will get well used, well read and well enjoyed and I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not exciting, 21 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
I bought this book hoping it would inspire me with thrifty recipes to cheer my table in these penny pinching days. There are a handful of recipes i would try but a distinct lack of pictures make for an uninspiring tome. Im not a great Delia fan so maybe that's the problem, maybe the die-hard Delia fans out there might rate it higher than i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urging all could-be-cooks!, 31 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Frugal Food (Paperback)
Delia has managed to condense the best of British cooking into this wonderful book that comprises decadent starters to wickedly indulgent puddings, all thouroughly explained and supplemented with pictures. Each recipie presents methods in a simple and precise manner so that recipies are accesible to everyone. Whether you need to bake a cake for tea or are attempting the full on christmas roast; this is the book that will provide the know how, and with out doubt will result in a mouthful of pleasure at the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived quickly and as described, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
Delia has always been a firm favourite and in this current climate this was just what I was looking for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars frugal cooking, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
I have had my paperback copy for many years and have had to buy this for my daughter and grandaughters. The recipes may be inexpensive but are never boring nor complicated to make. In these hard times it is a must-have on tne bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now this is what Delia is about!, 19 Mar 2008
By 
Hannah Gibson "Hanpan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frugal Food (Paperback)
Great Book, I've cooked so many recipes from this book and still revert to it as a foolproof classic. I wish she'd made an up to date version of this to teach people how to cook, instead of how to cheat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the food conscious, 23 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
I really wanted to like this book. It has everything that should appeal to me - it's a little bit of history, and it still has a message to teach about frugality and minimising waste. But the message is dated, and Delia's efforts to mitigate this just make it worse. This is penny-pinching frugality. In her intro she says she's done away with flavoursome animal fats in favour of groundnut oil because of its blandness and cheapness, and she apologises for the "extravagant" use of cream and states that all milk has been given as semi-skimmed because whole milk and gold top is a thing of the past (have you been to a supermarket lately, Delia?) She similarly substitutes all herbs for "Herbes de Provence" (a snob's name for mixed herbs) and boasts about where to find the best curry powder.

The message for the modern era is that food doesn't need to cost the earth, and homemade is better than shop bought, but this book is preaching about how the 12 minutes a woman queues up in Sainsbury's to buy prepared sprouts could be better spent at home peeling her own sprouts (to save pennies) and buying loose tea will save over teabags. It's grim and depressing reading. Don't get me started on her section about "dull cod" or battery eggs. I know these were written 32 years ago (the year I was born in fact) and times have changed, but her glib modern remarks in italics at the bottom of the page are not enough and in fact make me see red.

This is a flimsy attempt to cash in on the credit crunch and wheel out her old material for a new generation. Give up Delia, the only people you'll be pleasing are the ones who bought this book the first time round and want a fresh copy.

If you're looking for a decent cookbook do yourself a favour and spend the money on Jamie Oliver (there's something I never thought I would write). He can set you up with a storecupboard full of herbs, spices and other basics and get you making some really good, fresh and exciting food for about the same price as Delia's Mutton Pot Pie or the unspeakably awful sounding Kipper Quiche or dreadfully dated "Porc au chou" (because saying it in French doesn't make it any better).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frugal Food, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. Caroline O'Callaghan "Caroline" (Evesham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frugal Food (Paperback)
I bought my original copy in the 1970's and it is still in regular use. Chilli sausages and the minced lamb curry and sage & onion toad in the hole are family favourites so much so I have worn the original out and have to buy a new one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 19 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frugal Food (Paperback)
Bought this recently and a week ago tried one of the recipes- spiced chicken pilau. Just like other Delia recipes that I have tried, this did not disappoint.
Her take on frugal eating and cooking is always timely but alas, her pronouncements on freezing are out of date (see How to Cheat at Cooking for updates on freezing and how technology has made it all possible).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delia, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Miss Williams (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
I have very few of delias recepie books but this one I really like it has some good vedgitarian ideas and the others are not way over my status like some can be.
I recomend this one for sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Delia's Frugal Food
Delia's Frugal Food by Delia Smith (Hardcover - 30 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews