Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As wonderful as ever ......, 5 Oct 2000
By 
Mrs Colette Morris (Peterborough, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
My kids (one and two) love this book. It is a simple story about a magic balloon, and it has lots of colour and magic and (important as far as my kids are concerned) fold out bits. Not too long for limited attention spans, it really hits the spot. This is definitely one of their top five books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A favourite at bedtime, 24 April 2012
This review is from: The Blue Balloon (Paperback)
Helen: [...]

This is the current favourite bed time story in our house for both my 2 yr old and my 4 yr old. It makes sharing a bedtime story so much easier when you stumble across books they both adore!

Lots of children love balloons and this definitely appeals to that fascination. The story is simple, a boy finds a balloon and it turns out to be an extraordinary, indestructible and very thrilling. This balloon can change shape, size, colour and even better, it doesn't pop. It will even fly you to the moon.

This is all made more exciting by the different bits to pull or open out in the pictures. The enormous balloon has a page that opens out 4 times the size of the others. When the balloon is stretched a part of the page 'stretches' too, and so it goes on.

Verdict: The girls love the story and the pictures. It is a great book.

And for anyone interested in useless bits of information; this is also the story in which Kipper (the dog) makes his first appearance before going on to have his own series of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best children's books, 10 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Blue Balloon (Paperback)
I first saw this book while I was at University in England doing a BEd back in the 90's. It was read to us by a primary teacher explaining how she uses it in her classroom. I have been using it ever since with young learners of English as a foreign language. It is fun, easily understood and the children are always excited to see the illustrations and the changes of the blue balloon. I would suggest using some flashcards after you have read the book with the children so that they could put the story in order.
I would highly recommend it for all primary teachers, parents and teachers of English as a foreign language to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blue Balloon introduces a new character to children's story-time..., 8 Feb 2008
.....'Kipper' the dog!

The story is about a little boy who finds a balloon which behaves like any other balloon.....most of the time......

But...... as we all know, ordinary behaviour is not part of the Inkpen strategy!

From the back cover:-

'Mick Inkpen's warm and witty storybooks have been loved by children around the world for many years.

The Blue Balloon is now a celebrated classic which continues to delight millions of children, taking pride of place on their bookshelves.
It is a book to be treasured, loved, read time and time again - and passed down to a whole new generation of children.'

A simply illustrated cover opens to 28 high quality pages, in 2-page spread format, with the added interest of some fold out pages.... especially..... the very last page!
Beautifully illustrated throughout. Clearly laid out text with just enough words on each page, in a good-sized print, to be stimulating but not over-powering.

Example of text:-

'The day after my birthday party Kipper found a soggy blue balloon in the garden.
It was odd because the balloons at my party were red and white.
I blew it up.
At first I thought it was an ordinary balloon.
But now I am not so sure.
It is shiny and squeaky and you can make rude noises with it. And if you give it a rub you can stick it on the ceiling.
Just like an ordinary balloon.
But there is something odd about my balloon.......'

And.......it certainly is a rather odd balloon - needing four times the size of the page, (and some dexterity), at one point, in this very different book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great interactive book, 8 Oct 1999
By A Customer
My children both loved this book! Every page gave them a different experience they enjoyed over and over again. Even I enjoyed what was happening to the balloon on every page. My youngest always wishes for a blue balloon that will change all different colors for her birthday. Maybe one day she'll get one! This book is a great addition to any child's library - and even adult ones! It will be treasured for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely gentle story for a young child, 20 July 2006
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Blue Balloon (Paperback)
This is a beautifully illustrated story of a little boy and a balloon. The boy's dog is clearly recognisable as Kipper though he isn't key to the story and if your child doesn't yet know the Kipper character then this would be lovely gentle introduction. It's a simple tale of a boy playing with a rather magical balloon. Plus there's a pull-out page at the end with a surprise which never fails to amuse the children.

Kipper books vary widely in level from the very simple like `Splosh' which is a `first story book', for an 18-month old who just moving on from picture dictionary type books, to those with a story-line that is conceptually suited to a 4 year old (Kipper's birthday for example could be used to teach yesterday & tomorrow). This story falls towards the simpler end of this spectrum, perfect for a 2 year old, though my four and five year olds both still enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A firm family favourite, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Balloon (Paperback)
Our children are now teenagers but this book was much loved by them both when they were little. So much so, my daughter chose it for a little one we know, in the hope that he will come to love it as much as she did. The illustrations are so appealing and colourful and although the books is quite a large square is a wonderful read with an adult especially with the surprise pull out pages at the end. A lovely story and is a firm family favourite with us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful story, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Balloon (Paperback)
Such a lovely classic story! I read this many times to my pre school kids and over and over to my 3 year old daughter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Balloon (Paperback)
Love this story and my copy was damage so it was great to be able to replace it. Good condition arrived on time and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Book, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Balloon (Paperback)
Another copy bought for a friend as delighted by the copy owned by my children. Fantastic story and illustrations. Great to read to a 3 year old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blue Balloon
The Blue Balloon by Mick Inkpen (Paperback - 20 July 2006)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews