Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing mystery from beginning to end
My son is 5 and loved being read this book. We have enjoyed other Secret Seven books and this was the best to date, mostly because it grips from the beginning and never lets go. Rich ladies with necklaces, gruff policemen, jolly detectives and queer circus folk... lots of fun! Incidentally, we are reading a Famous Five book right now - it's great but is a slightly more...
Published on 6 May 2001 by JB

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Secret Seven
Some of the words are old fashioned and a bit comical
but it still makes good reading 25 years on !!!!!!!!!!
Published on 6 Jan 2012 by OHN EL


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing mystery from beginning to end, 6 May 2001
By 
JB "julesjjb" (WOKING, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
My son is 5 and loved being read this book. We have enjoyed other Secret Seven books and this was the best to date, mostly because it grips from the beginning and never lets go. Rich ladies with necklaces, gruff policemen, jolly detectives and queer circus folk... lots of fun! Incidentally, we are reading a Famous Five book right now - it's great but is a slightly more "advanced" read as it contains more descriptive than any Secret Seven book (which focus more on the action). If the books I've read are typical of their respective series, I'd recommend Secret Seven for reading to 5-7 year olds and reading by 6-8 year olds, and Famous Five books for reading to 6-8 year olds and reading by 7-9 year olds. I don't have experience of older children, so can't say if they would enjoy these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review for Parents of Developing Readers, 27 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This is a great book for children who are moving beyond very simple short chapter books to more extended reading. For any parent who is worried that their child will be put off by the increased number of lines per page, you will find there is no real need for concern. The text is quite simple, and your child will get so involved with the story that they will not notice the increased length of the reading. Be warned though that the style of speech used by the children in the story is rather stilted and old-fashioned by today's standards - ie the language style is upper middle-class British. On the other hand, it is always worthwhile exposing your child to a range of writing styles.
I beg to differ with the reviewer who recommended the book for ages 4 to 8. If you like to read aloud to your child, I would suggest the book is suitable for ages 6 to 9. Alternatively, the book is suitable for any reader who is about to take the bold step from a short chapter story to a longer chapter book. This book will give your child greater confidence in his or her reading.
"The Secret Seven" is the first in the series of Secret Seven books by Enid Blyton. The title is virtually self-explanatory, involving a club, adventures and mystery. The plot is complex enough for your child to enjoy, yet not so complex that you need to continually explain nuances. The benefit of this is that your child will be able to read the book with far greater fluency.
I hope this was of some use to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first adventure!, 13 Jan 2008
This review is from: Secret Seven: 1: The Secret Seven (Paperback)
`In this, the Seven's first adventure together, Jack's adventure on a snowy night leads them to an old house, a deaf caretaker, and a thrilling mystery!' is the blurb of the first book of the Secret Seven series, and I like the part when one of the members forget one of the other members, as shown here: "Let's see--we want one for Pam, one for Colin, one for Jack, one for Barbara--who's the seventh of us? I've forgotten." The answer is George! The first mystery is about the old house opposite there own. There is a thief in there apart from the deaf old caretaker of the house!
As a first book in a series, this story is quite light and simple, but a lot of fun. It neatly paves the way for a series of similar but more involved stories to come. I would rate this book: 7/ 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exhilarating text for young readers., 26 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Enid Blyton does it again! Enid Blyton has managed to produce yet another thrilling story for her young reading audience. This book highlights Enid Blyton's talent for capturing the imagination of her readers, while simultaneously indulging their senses through vivid description. A text of this calibre serves to heighten the awareness of children regarding works of fiction, and instills in them the desire to produce imaginative essays of their own. Having read Enid Blyton's books myself as a child, I was more than pleased that my young son was hugely appreciative when I purchased a copy for him to read. I am not at all surprised that Enid Blyton's work is appreciated by children of the twenty-first century, as it is the kind of text which is able to withstand the test of time. In my opinion, this book, along with any other Enid Blyton text, is a huge asset to any child's bookshelf, as it is not only an exciting read, but it stimulates the creativity which is inside every child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once I started the book I couldn't put it down., 14 Jun 2000
By A Customer
My teacher told me to take a book home I was not looking foward to it, then I started to read the book it was so fascinating I could not put the book down. It was about a gang, they were called the Secret Seven they went on an adventure. It was about a necklace that was stolen, a man called Louis stole the necklace.I kept reading the book and when I finished it I kept reading the Secret Seven books and I am getting another one tonight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eeeeexxxxcccceeeelllleeeennnntttt!!!!, 18 Oct 2003
I think Enid Blyton made a successful time writing this edition. Out of all the books I've read, I think my favorite is The Secret Seven Adventure. I'm really sure whoever buys this book, will be very glad. Those who doesn't enjoy adventurous and mysterious books, I think they will, if they start on this book. I bet if you read this book at night and your parents say,"Lights out," you'll still be reading it because they don't know like you know how bizarre this book is. I think you wouldn't waste a single cent buying this book because it's sooooo cooooool!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fandabbiedosie, 28 Aug 2006
By 
Amanda O'Rourke (Horsham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a review by my 10 year old son....

The Secret Seven Adventure is a great book about 7 people Peter,Janet,Barbara,Colin,Pam and George. The story is about a robbery which the secret seven saw. The Secret Seven are determined to get to the bottom of it but they keep on getting to things that lead to knowhere! This is an easy to read book. The age range is 6-12 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 4 Oct 2011
By 
M. Mandis (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Enid Blyton and the Secret Seven, this is a fab CD of the first 2 stories. Not too scary and easy to listen too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter, 23 July 2009
By 
Robert Blandford (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Seven: 1: The Secret Seven (Paperback)
I read this to my 6 year old boy, it's his first non-picture book. He loved it. We have bought another 4 since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary O's Superbly written book review, 2 May 2012
By 
L. Thayer "MRS THAYER'S CLASS" (Letchworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secret Seven: 1: The Secret Seven (Paperback)
Right now I am reading The Secret Seven. It is an amazing book! I love reading The Secret Seven especially when Peter's sister said the password so they changed it. Everyone should read The Secret Seven it has loads of adventures. They have brilliant adventures like when they had found a champion horse racer and they slept on the hay. The next day they actually found out it was a champion horse and told the governor what had happened and how they found the champion horse. The secret seven is a wonderful book Enid Blyton should right even more books about The Secret Seven. I actually finished The Secret Seven and now reading The Famous Five. But The Famous Five is a bit more adventures than The Secret Seven. They are still both very good books. I am hoping that I will get the whole collection of The Secret Seven and The Famous Five. That's why people and children should read The Secret Seven and The Famous Five. I hope they will like it as much as I have this is why I like The Secret Seven!!!! I give it 5 stars for Enid Blyton's amazing book The Secret Seven!!!!!
Age 7+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret Seven: 1: The Secret Seven
Secret Seven: 1: The Secret Seven by Enid Blyton (Paperback - 20 April 2006)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews