Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing mystery from beginning to end
My son is 5 and loved being read this book. We have enjoyed other Secret Seven books and this was the best to date, mostly because it grips from the beginning and never lets go. Rich ladies with necklaces, gruff policemen, jolly detectives and queer circus folk... lots of fun! Incidentally, we are reading a Famous Five book right now - it's great but is a slightly more...
Published on 6 May 2001 by JB

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Secret Seven
Some of the words are old fashioned and a bit comical
but it still makes good reading 25 years on !!!!!!!!!!
Published on 6 Jan. 2012 by OHN EL


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing mystery from beginning to end, 6 May 2001
By 
JB "julesjjb" (WOKING, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
My son is 5 and loved being read this book. We have enjoyed other Secret Seven books and this was the best to date, mostly because it grips from the beginning and never lets go. Rich ladies with necklaces, gruff policemen, jolly detectives and queer circus folk... lots of fun! Incidentally, we are reading a Famous Five book right now - it's great but is a slightly more "advanced" read as it contains more descriptive than any Secret Seven book (which focus more on the action). If the books I've read are typical of their respective series, I'd recommend Secret Seven for reading to 5-7 year olds and reading by 6-8 year olds, and Famous Five books for reading to 6-8 year olds and reading by 7-9 year olds. I don't have experience of older children, so can't say if they would enjoy these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review for Parents of Developing Readers, 27 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This is a great book for children who are moving beyond very simple short chapter books to more extended reading. For any parent who is worried that their child will be put off by the increased number of lines per page, you will find there is no real need for concern. The text is quite simple, and your child will get so involved with the story that they will not notice the increased length of the reading. Be warned though that the style of speech used by the children in the story is rather stilted and old-fashioned by today's standards - ie the language style is upper middle-class British. On the other hand, it is always worthwhile exposing your child to a range of writing styles.
I beg to differ with the reviewer who recommended the book for ages 4 to 8. If you like to read aloud to your child, I would suggest the book is suitable for ages 6 to 9. Alternatively, the book is suitable for any reader who is about to take the bold step from a short chapter story to a longer chapter book. This book will give your child greater confidence in his or her reading.
"The Secret Seven" is the first in the series of Secret Seven books by Enid Blyton. The title is virtually self-explanatory, involving a club, adventures and mystery. The plot is complex enough for your child to enjoy, yet not so complex that you need to continually explain nuances. The benefit of this is that your child will be able to read the book with far greater fluency.
I hope this was of some use to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first adventure!, 13 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Secret Seven: 1: The Secret Seven (Paperback)
`In this, the Seven's first adventure together, Jack's adventure on a snowy night leads them to an old house, a deaf caretaker, and a thrilling mystery!' is the blurb of the first book of the Secret Seven series, and I like the part when one of the members forget one of the other members, as shown here: "Let's see--we want one for Pam, one for Colin, one for Jack, one for Barbara--who's the seventh of us? I've forgotten." The answer is George! The first mystery is about the old house opposite there own. There is a thief in there apart from the deaf old caretaker of the house!
As a first book in a series, this story is quite light and simple, but a lot of fun. It neatly paves the way for a series of similar but more involved stories to come. I would rate this book: 7/ 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exhilarating text for young readers., 26 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
Enid Blyton does it again! Enid Blyton has managed to produce yet another thrilling story for her young reading audience. This book highlights Enid Blyton's talent for capturing the imagination of her readers, while simultaneously indulging their senses through vivid description. A text of this calibre serves to heighten the awareness of children regarding works of fiction, and instills in them the desire to produce imaginative essays of their own. Having read Enid Blyton's books myself as a child, I was more than pleased that my young son was hugely appreciative when I purchased a copy for him to read. I am not at all surprised that Enid Blyton's work is appreciated by children of the twenty-first century, as it is the kind of text which is able to withstand the test of time. In my opinion, this book, along with any other Enid Blyton text, is a huge asset to any child's bookshelf, as it is not only an exciting read, but it stimulates the creativity which is inside every child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once I started the book I couldn't put it down., 14 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
My teacher told me to take a book home I was not looking foward to it, then I started to read the book it was so fascinating I could not put the book down. It was about a gang, they were called the Secret Seven they went on an adventure. It was about a necklace that was stolen, a man called Louis stole the necklace.I kept reading the book and when I finished it I kept reading the Secret Seven books and I am getting another one tonight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eeeeexxxxcccceeeelllleeeennnntttt!!!!, 18 Oct. 2003
I think Enid Blyton made a successful time writing this edition. Out of all the books I've read, I think my favorite is The Secret Seven Adventure. I'm really sure whoever buys this book, will be very glad. Those who doesn't enjoy adventurous and mysterious books, I think they will, if they start on this book. I bet if you read this book at night and your parents say,"Lights out," you'll still be reading it because they don't know like you know how bizarre this book is. I think you wouldn't waste a single cent buying this book because it's sooooo cooooool!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fandabbiedosie, 28 Aug. 2006
By 
Amanda O'Rourke (Horsham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a review by my 10 year old son....

The Secret Seven Adventure is a great book about 7 people Peter,Janet,Barbara,Colin,Pam and George. The story is about a robbery which the secret seven saw. The Secret Seven are determined to get to the bottom of it but they keep on getting to things that lead to knowhere! This is an easy to read book. The age range is 6-12 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary O's Superbly written book review, 2 May 2012
By 
L. Thayer "MRS THAYER'S CLASS" (Letchworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secret Seven: 1: The Secret Seven (Paperback)
Right now I am reading The Secret Seven. It is an amazing book! I love reading The Secret Seven especially when Peter's sister said the password so they changed it. Everyone should read The Secret Seven it has loads of adventures. They have brilliant adventures like when they had found a champion horse racer and they slept on the hay. The next day they actually found out it was a champion horse and told the governor what had happened and how they found the champion horse. The secret seven is a wonderful book Enid Blyton should right even more books about The Secret Seven. I actually finished The Secret Seven and now reading The Famous Five. But The Famous Five is a bit more adventures than The Secret Seven. They are still both very good books. I am hoping that I will get the whole collection of The Secret Seven and The Famous Five. That's why people and children should read The Secret Seven and The Famous Five. I hope they will like it as much as I have this is why I like The Secret Seven!!!! I give it 5 stars for Enid Blyton's amazing book The Secret Seven!!!!!
Age 7+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Seven 1: The Secret Seven, 5 May 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book in the Secret Seven Series (although Peter and Janet had appeared in an earlier book called “At Seaside Cottage” in 1947 and the formation of the Secret Seven was told in “Secret of the Old Mill” in 1948). After a very successful republishing of the Famous Five series, to celebrate 70 years of the books, we are treated to a new printing of all fifteen of the Seven Series, illustrated by Tony Ross – probably best known for the Horrid Henry books, his style will be instantly recognisable to children everywhere.

The Secret Seven consists of Peter and his sister Janet, and their friends Jack, Colin, George, Pam and Barbara . Peter and Janet’s spaniel Scamper is an unofficial member of the Seven and helps warn them when Jack’s annoying little sister, Susie, is creeping about spying on them. Their meeting place is the shed at the bottom of Peter and Janet’s garden and there is no entry unless the children are wearing their club badges and remember the password. When the children meet up in the Christmas holidays, Jack first forgets the password and then loses his badge in the field opposite a spooky old house, where the children were making snowmen. Banned from going out after lunch, Jack decides to creep out of the house and go and see whether he can find his missing badge at night and discovers a mystery worth investigating...

I have really enjoyed re-reading this book to my daughter at bedtime and look forward to sharing the entire series with her. Slightly shorter than the Famous Five books, these are a great introduction to Enid Blyton’s adventure stories and will appeal to both boys and girls. Great to read alone from approx 5+ or to read together at any age! In order, these are:

1. The Secret Seven (1948)
2. Secret Seven Adventure (1950)
3. Well Done Secret Seven (1951)
4. Secret Seven On The Trail (1952)
5. Go Ahead Secret Seven (1953)
6. Good Work Secret Seven (1954)
7. Secret Seven Win Through (1955)
8. Three Cheers Secret Seven (1956)
9. Secret Seven Mystery (1957)
10. Puzzle for the Secret Seven (1958)
11. Secret Seven Fireworks (1959)
12. Good Old Secret Seven (1960)
13. Shock for the Secret Seven (1961)
14. Look Out Secret Seven (1962)
15. Fun For the Secret Seven (1963)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 4 Oct. 2011
By 
M. Mandis (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Enid Blyton and the Secret Seven, this is a fab CD of the first 2 stories. Not too scary and easy to listen too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret Seven: 1: The Secret Seven
Secret Seven: 1: The Secret Seven by Enid Blyton (Paperback - 20 April 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews