Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another pulse-pounding, unputdownable book, 27 Sept. 2007
This review is from: CHERUB: Mad Dogs (Paperback)
Because Robert Muchamore's language is simple and clear, reviewers tend to ignore him. But his writing always puts you firmly in a place and time. Without resorting to long descriptive passages he makes you taste, hear, smell, feel and especially see what's going on around. And what a lot happens! In this book about rival gang wars in Luton, (no false glamour with Muchamore), there is a real sense of danger. The two things I like most about Muchamore's books, apart from the clarity of writing, are that his stories feels absolutely real, and that you never know what's going to happen next. I also like the strong sub-plot about 15 year old James' growing maturity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Dogs - Muchamore Turned Up To 11, 28 Sept. 2007
By 
King Johno "Mark Johnson" (Stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CHERUB: Mad Dogs (Paperback)
I got hold of a preview copy of the book and thought I'd share my views on it.

This book isn't just Muchamore turned up to 11. The whole series is completely tuned in to what the younger generation wants to read, it seems that Muchamore has managed to capture it in a book so fast paced and adrenalin filled that once you've started reading, you won't want to stop.

I won't tell you too much about the plot however as per usual with a CHERUB book you have just more than one storyline to keep you the story thrilling and the book sees many of the main characters grow up, as well as some of the background details be built up helping you gain a real sense of the CHERUB world.

For the first time we see a gadgets master in the book, although he isn't supplying the agents with gameboys crammed with a smoke bomb and bug finder. Knives, miniature guns and nanotube fabric are the order of the day - this is certainly not Alex Rider. We're no longer talking of kids who can't handle weapons and who certainly can't get injured of hurt.

Mad Dogs is certainly brilliantly crafted and is a superb read. It could be quite controversial as some aspects of the book are more adult than child, however any fan of the series and new readers alike will love the book for what it is.

A true five star read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars James Adams meets Alex Rider!, 21 Dec. 2007
This review is from: CHERUB: Mad Dogs (Paperback)
Violence has exploded on the streets of Luton. Two of the major criminal gangs have started a turf war. They are called the Mad Dogs and the Slasher Boys. There is only one person who can get the information that the police need - James Adams. This boy is special. He works for CHERUB. CHERUB is a secret spy organisation with agents ranging from the ages of 10 to 17. In this book you will find out about Kyle's last year as a CHERUB agent. Will James get out alive? Will Lauren ever go on a mission again? And who will win; the mad dogs or the Slasher Boys? Read to find out...you'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!! : - ), 29 Jan. 2008
This review is from: CHERUB: Mad Dogs (Paperback)
i am a MASSIVE fan of the CHERUB books. i think mad dogs is the best book so far. there is loads of action and you notice how James has matured through the series. The CHERUB series is about teenage spies who go on undercover missions. It all sounds really sad and but it's not.I think this book is mainly aimed at age 12 - 17 but it is very grippng and i would strongly recomend it.But this book is DEFINATELY not suitable for anyone under the age of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the series and better than Alex Rider, 22 Dec. 2008
This review is from: CHERUB: Mad Dogs (Paperback)
This book is by far the best of the cherub series. I love the action chapters and pretty much every chapter in the book. There is no dull moment. One thing Muchamore does so well is that he keeps all the heart pumping edge of your seat chapters, just like Alex Rider. But they are realistic. I am a huge Alex Rider fan and Anthony Horowitz fan. Two of my favorite series' is Alex Rider and The Gatekeepers. But Alex Rider gets a little crazy, like a knife fight in space. Cherub keeps it very believable and has the same amount of action as Rider. Also he keeps the books fresh. One of two problems I have with Alex Rider is it's always busting someone whos going to kill a ton of people with a bomb or clones or a hotel or something but cherub keeps it fresh. One time it's a eco-terrorist group, then a drug dealer, then a illegal wepons dealer, then a murderer, then a colt, then a animal rights group, and gangs, and terrorists blowing up planes. Muchamore keep 'em coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best CHERUB book so far!!!, 8 Nov. 2007
This review is from: CHERUB: Mad Dogs (Paperback)
Amazing,this book was the best book out of the CHERUB series so far. Although I would suggest that you are over eleven before you read this or any other book from the CHERUB series so far.
Thanks Robert Muchamore for another brilliant CHERUB book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Dogs- Another fantastic read, 6 Oct. 2007
By 
S. Bower - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CHERUB: Mad Dogs (Paperback)
Since buying the first book of the CHERUB series, ive absolutely fell in love with it!
Muchamores writing is exciting and well paced and you are bored. Indeed, when i put the book down in order to go out, i would often think about how much i wanted to come back and read it.

Whereas i've found the CHERUB books to drop in style during the middle of the series, this book is certainly one of the best of the series, along with The Recruit and Class A.

A must read for teens and adults alike- you'd be mad not to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He does it again, but so mcuh better., 13 Oct. 2007
By 
Mr. T. E. Knowles "tommy5x" (West Midlands,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CHERUB: Mad Dogs (Paperback)
Muchamore's CHERUB series has always produced books that teens can relate with, and that can either be read and enjoyed,or read into and truly understood.

Mad Dogs is the best in a long line of fabulous literature and I have no doubt that this is not yet the best to come.

This edition features much of the gritty realism we have come to love and whereas some people would prefer to wonder about traction engine yoyos, with nanotube carbonfibre impregnated clothing and sub-compact handguns as deal of the day, it is clear that this authour has done his homework.

We look forward to more of your work Rob.

Yours,
Tommy5x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Authentic portrayal of teenagers - excellent, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CHERUB: Mad Dogs (Paperback)
The eighth book in the Cherub series hows some old character development as each of the main characters grow older and more or less wise. The setting of a gang war introduces the reader to a wider range of agents than in some of the earlier books, and gives more chance for the author's style of realistic, almost too authentic, portrayals of teenagers.

This book, along with the rest of the series, very clearly states on the cover that it's aimed at an older young audience, and this one in particular features a number of more adult themes, both romantic and violent, than earlier ones and so some parents may decide they want to vet this before giving it to their children.

One of the things that stood out here is the borders between black and white, and how easy it is to fall in between. Several characters have difficult choices to make and that's really interesting in a young adult book that it really engages the reader in a way that a lot of books don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT BOOK, 22 Dec. 2007
By 
J. Harrison (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CHERUB: Mad Dogs (Paperback)
I amsolotly love all the books in the cherub series and this is no exeption. I would recommend this book to people above the age of 12 as some sections may be unsuitabal for people below this age. Well worth the asking price and well worth a read. suited to adults and children alike. overall a fantastic book thats well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CHERUB: Mad Dogs
CHERUB: Mad Dogs by Robert Muchamore (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews