Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 August 2009
Invisible Women starts with an abreviated version of Jacky Trevane's first book, Fatwa. I haven't read this and in a way, wish I had read it first and ommitted the first 56 pages of this book.
The following 8 chapters are devoted to the stories of 8 women whose circumstances, all beyond their own control, have led to them being in the position of feeling "invisible". It's an interesting concept for a book and one that worked well. Nearly all these women had come to know the author via her Fatwa website. They contacted her with their own sad tales and to her best ability she helped and guided them. Many, in fact I'd say, most of the stories do not have happy endings - it is more a matter of learning to cope with situations.

Ms Trevane's own experiences left her psychologically wounded, with an understanding for other peoples' problems that she probably would not otherwise have had. I kept feeling that she should go for some sort of phsychology training to give her the confidence to do what she is obviously so talented at.
What really impressed me was that she was prepared to be there for these women in spite of the memories that their situations must have stirred in her. In my limited experience of people who have been through trauma, the victims want, quite rightly, to move on, and can't cope with the raw wounds opened when others talk of similar suffering.

A short, quick read that left me determined to be available for friends if and when they might need me.
I hope it helps women who feel alone and unloved.
There are also some very useful e mail addresses in the back for professional advice and support.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2009
I read fatwa and couldnt put it down and this is the same i have read both books in 4 days you just cant believe these things go on its great the way it is written such unbelievable stories and so many haertfelt stories you actually feel like you are in the book i didnt want it to end both jackys books are a truly enjoyable read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
This book is a slow starter and I thought it was going to be a disapointment. The author, Jackie trevanes first book is an excellent read too; FATWA, which translates to living with a death threat. I would recommend reading this one first if you can.

The invisible women chapters the life of different women who have experienced harrowing life changing existences that shape their lives and sometimes lead up to their deaths. The stories, each very different, give much food for thought and are excellently written. I couldn't put it down and would definately suggest it is well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
I brought this book along with the author's first story `Fatwa living with a death threat' (a must read by the way). This story begins with the author updating us from her first story and then as a result of her website, she received numerous calls/emails from other women who were moved by her story and had one to share of their own. This is what Invisible women is about. Short stories of women from varying backgrounds who suffered from different situations. Its brilliant, really must read it. Some of the stories are really daunting, I still think about some of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
True life stories giving a greater understanding of other peoples lives & cultures. Makes us realise how lucky we are.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
i found this book very disappointing indeed. it started as a condensed version of "fatwa" which i had already read. the rest of the book was trite and uninteresting and not very well written. there are lots of well written and interesting books on the same subject to be found. if you like lightweight, padded out stories, this is the one for you. if not, steer well clear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
An excellent book - amazing stories of different lives and an up-date on Jacky Trevane's life. An amazing woman who overcame her situation and goes on helping others. If you like biographies then this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Truly excellent book. Scary to realise the problems with so many lives even in the Western World. Would be perfect as part of GCSE English syllabus as more awareness must be raised amongst youngsters. Jennifer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
very good book. highley recommended.i have read this book before purchased it again for a friend who loved it!has now past to another friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
A good follow up to Fatwa. Some of the stories of treatment of these women is particularly harrowing. A great eye opener
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)