Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful and inspirational
this book inspired me to take lessons at my local dance school and was really useful for getting started and learning all the different names for the steps and lots of coloured photos to refer to. I can highly recommend it if you think you've got two left feet. It is fun and has lots of info in it for finding out where schools of dance are etc and all the info you need...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by Buddy Lancaster

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Style over Substance (If you could call it style)
Oh dear! A classic example of a celebrity cashing in on his status. A major gripe with this book is that the author lacks any writing ability whatsoever and so makes up for it in the use of 'candy floss' gibberish. He constantly fills this book with useless and irritating waffle like a californian high school girl at a pyjama party which, for the beginner,just gets in the...
Published on 18 Mar 2007 by Jan webber


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Style over Substance (If you could call it style), 18 Mar 2007
By 
Jan webber (Kidderminster, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) (Paperback)
Oh dear! A classic example of a celebrity cashing in on his status. A major gripe with this book is that the author lacks any writing ability whatsoever and so makes up for it in the use of 'candy floss' gibberish. He constantly fills this book with useless and irritating waffle like a californian high school girl at a pyjama party which, for the beginner,just gets in the way of the learning experience. However, the book's death blow comes from the fact that the author has spent the bulk of his efforts concentrating upon describing the style of the dances. Aswell as dragging on a bit this excessive glamourisation is wasteful; What a beginner really needs is comprehensive faultless diagrammatical foot positioning of near mathmatical precision. Simply put he needs to know where his feet are supposed to be at any particular moment. This is certainly not what you get from this book. Far too few foot diagrams of figures (a figure being the grouping of a number of steps into a distinct pattern which bungled together with other figures in various ways forms a particular dance)and when they are there they don't seem to connect together (or the author just forgot to tell us how to do that) Guidance is also lacking on how to start the dances. What we have instead is Len (who appears to be a co-author of some sort) popping his head round the corner with extra useless stylistic tips delivered in rhyme (which only adds to the irritation.) In summary, there are far supperior books out there for beginners. Ps (don't be fooled by a flick-through which gives the book the appearance of being an idiot's guide which it most certainly is not. Pps The photographs of the couples at the start of the book were usefull in demonstrating the different holds (Even though greater use of close ups, particularly of where the hands go, could have been used.) However, The book's crammmed full of sequential photo's of couples performing various figures. One can imagine a video clip of this being useful but these sequential photo's tell the beginner absolutely nothing. As i said, style over substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what it seems, 14 Oct 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Gtr Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) (Paperback)
This is an attractive book at first sight. However, it does not contain enough diagrams for foot positions and has some basic steps missing e.g. Susie Q in the Cha Cha. Also, the book as supplied by Amazon DOES NOT CONTAIN the promised CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New to ballroom, 9 Feb 2006
By 
Ms. N. M. Rogers "ninsy" (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) (Paperback)
Craig Revel Horwood starts by giving the reader a basic terminology of ballroom dancing words which are uses throught out the book. The book moves on to important 'warm up' exercise and what to wear. The book contains 8 dances to learn including the waltz and jive. Each dances has photographs for each steps and tips. Within each dance there are basic step leading to the turns and variations onces the basics have been mastered. Some of the more difficult steps have floor plans to show the reader where their feet should end up. The book also contains a C.D with timing and two songs to dance to for each dance.
I personly have discover I'm no relation to Ginger Rogers and would of benefitted greatly from having a floor plan for some of the harder dances. The photographs do little to help you see where your feet should go. The C.D is very uses full for timing but doesn't go on for long enough. if your a natural on the dance floor this book is for you however if you have two left feet I suggest a D.V.D!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful and inspirational, 27 Sep 2008
This review is from: Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) (Paperback)
this book inspired me to take lessons at my local dance school and was really useful for getting started and learning all the different names for the steps and lots of coloured photos to refer to. I can highly recommend it if you think you've got two left feet. It is fun and has lots of info in it for finding out where schools of dance are etc and all the info you need for starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unimpressed, 15 Dec 2009
This review is from: Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) (Paperback)
Can't say I was particularly enamored dah-ling. I do like Craig, but he should stick to judging, as he's more proficient at it than he is at writing. As has been mentioned before, needs more diagrams and less flowery waffle, although I thought the photos handy.
A bit of a disappointment, not nearly practical enough, and not the best book for a dance beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) (Paperback)
Learning to dance is far easiers without singing. This Cd has a loud beat that you can easily count and dance to. Go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Teach yourself Ballroom Dancing., 30 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) (Paperback)
The is book is nice and clear. It has interesting information about the origins of the dances. I like advice about the tunes for each kind of dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book To Get Started, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) (Paperback)
Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (Teach Yourself General)

This is a really good book for me as I want to dance but have no previous experience. It assumes no knowledge. The instructions are precise and it shows with diagrams what is described in the text. It also comes with a CD so I can try out the moves with the right music.

As recommended I use the book in parallel with attending group dancing lessons. The book is the place to go to work at my own pace and make sense of what the dance teacher has said.

By showing how the dance is made up of small groups of steps I can understand what I am doing, and I can now see the pathway between the simple dances that the book teaches and the routines that are shown on Strictly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars helpful, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) (Paperback)
really enjoyed this book, really helped me get in to the basic of ballroom dancing, would recommed it to anyone interested in taking up the sport
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing, 24 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) (Paperback)
I looked in a number of high street bookshops for this book but had no success. I then found a number for sale on the Amazon Website and this one came a few days after sending for it. It was not new but in like-new condition and for a fraction of the original price. Needless to say I am very pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG)
Teach Yourself Ballroom Dancing (TYG) by Craig Revel Horwood (Paperback - 26 Aug 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews