Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


219 of 220 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Own Experience With 'The Huge Bag Of Worries'
I was 7 years old (im 13 now) when i received this book, at the time i was having problems with bullies and it was very difficult, i got so worried i began to lose some of my hair. I was given this book by my mum and i read it a lot, it didn't make a substantial impact at the time, nor did it change the bullies but i started to tell my parents when i got worried and my...
Published on 9 April 2010 by C. scullion

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for toddlers
I'm not sure what the intended age range for this book is, but it didn't seem appropriate for my four year old. The metaphor of having little monsters in a bag following you was just too confusing. I don't want to add to her worries by making her think there are monsters following her around! She is still at an age where she takes things quite literally. Probably a...
Published on 4 May 2012 by Barb Fillington


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

219 of 220 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Own Experience With 'The Huge Bag Of Worries', 9 April 2010
By 
C. scullion - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Huge Bag of Worries: The Huge Bag of Worries (Paperback)
I was 7 years old (im 13 now) when i received this book, at the time i was having problems with bullies and it was very difficult, i got so worried i began to lose some of my hair. I was given this book by my mum and i read it a lot, it didn't make a substantial impact at the time, nor did it change the bullies but i started to tell my parents when i got worried and my hair stopped falling out. When i think back i can remember this book and it really did help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


262 of 265 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A springboard for talking over a child's hidden worries, 6 Sep 2001
By A Customer
"The Huge Bag of Worries" relates the simple story of a little girl who finds she is carrying an ever growing 'bag of worries'. She tries to think of ways to reduce her load but finds that everyone she wants to talk to about her 'bag' has so many of their own worries that she doesn't want to burden them further. Finally her Grandmother notices her growing 'bag of worries' and they work through her worries together. The girl finds there are lots of different ways of dealing with or sharing worries and feels a whole lot better once her 'bag of worries' has been cleared out.
Our family found this a useful aid in dealing with the stresses suffered by our 6 year old daughter who is hard of hearing. She has more on her plate than most and the story gave us very useful code for addressing her concerns. We continue to use the 'bag of worries' terminology and find that now we can go straight to the problem rather than the old guessing game we used to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Huge Bag of Worries: The Huge Bag of Worries (Paperback)
I bought this book about 3 years for my son when he was going through a difficult time at school. He carried his own 'bag of worries' with him and didnt really know what to do with them. When we read this book he started to refer to his own worries, so while we talked we created an imaginary bag! He was able to dip into this bag to take out one of his own worries, this enabled him to talk about it! He is now 10years old and he still likes to read this story when he is concerned about anything!

I think this is a great story that all ages, even adults, can relate to. I am currently counselling young children and am considering using this book with one of the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point, 6 July 2009
By 
This review is from: The Huge Bag of Worries: The Huge Bag of Worries (Paperback)
This book is a good starting point to talk about anxiety to a young child who is worrying about things - probably up to 6 or 7 year olds would enjoy the pictures and text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all parents!, 4 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Huge Bag of Worries: The Huge Bag of Worries (Paperback)
Excellent. This book says what I have struggled to explain to her during a very difficult time in her life. Well deserving of the 5*'s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the huge bag of worries, 29 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Huge Bag of Worries: The Huge Bag of Worries (Paperback)
I have used this book with my 6 year old son who has the worlds worries on his shoulders, since reading this book we discuss what is worrying him and work out who the worry belongs too, most of the time it is not his, so he throws it away. He has accepted this way of dealing with his worries so i would highly recommend this book to someone who has a worrier, it makes their life less stressful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource!, 22 Mar 2009
By 
This is an excellent resource for those working with anxious children. The children love the story and the beautifully bright illustrations are sure to engage even the most reticent child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars huge bag of worries gone!, 20 April 2009
By 
Mrs. Sarah N. Duggan ((St Albans, England)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Huge Bag of Worries: The Huge Bag of Worries (Paperback)
Used this in a SEAL group with Y3 - 6. Also in assembly at school. the feedback from other teachers was great with children sending me their worries to get rid of in my 'bag'. Some of them we were able to 'pick up' and deal with in school. Lovely book and well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 10 July 2009
By 
J. A. Lipscombe (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Huge Bag of Worries: The Huge Bag of Worries (Paperback)
This is a lovely book particulary for anyone who works with children who seem to have a lot of worries or concerns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for older children too..., 24 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: The Huge Bag of Worries: The Huge Bag of Worries (Paperback)
I asked our oldest son, who had a huge bag of worries, to read this to his younger siblings. Although it is not aimed at his age he was able to hear and respond to the clear and simple message which applies to any age. It has really helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Huge Bag of Worries: The Huge Bag of Worries
The Huge Bag of Worries: The Huge Bag of Worries by Virginia Ironside (Paperback - 18 Nov 2004)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews