Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOOK, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book to be just as good as the DVD's from start to finish the story was just awesome and the laughs in the book is really brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat, 30 May 2011
Without doubt Dave Allen was a comedian ahead of his time. While his peers were still telling jokes, Allen was turning his observations of life into comedy treasure well before `alternate' comedians had identified the style. Allen's style was simple, engaging with the audience in his intimate and inimitable fashion, and his comedy was based not just on the witticisms of his observations but on understanding how his audience would respond to his humour. This anthology is well structured, providing some background on Allen (and in the process revealing, inadvertently, how private he was), and the jokes well chosen. Every joke carries Allen's touch and the reproduction of some of his handwritten notes adds to the anthology. Most of all, Allen's distinctive voice can still be heard as the jokes are read. A real treat for all his fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can hear his voice as you read them. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dave allen, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliantly funny book dave allen is comedy royalty to me this book is a must for all allen fan's very amusing as his show's are
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such happy memories, 13 April 2013
By 
Aly Gator "muslie" (Newmarket, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I use to beg to watch Dave Allen on TV when I was a child. Apart from wallowing in the nostalgia, he is still remarkable relevent today and very little of this material comes across as dated. I wish he could be part of the nostalgia run of 60's/70's comedians that we have on t.v, like the two Ronnies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VEry funny-a great read, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read,very funny even if you had never seen or heard Dave Allen

Feeling 'down;, suggest reading the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend!, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dave Allen (Hardcover)
Dave Allen was an absolute legend and I'm making my way through the books and DVD's. This man was timeless and I found the book really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Divine Dave Allen, 9 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say? It's Dave Allen at his best and my partner said this was the best birthday present he had ever received!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY FUNNY, 18 Dec 2009
By 
J. W. Shepperd (london,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i bought this book for my mum & she loved it, made her laugh out loud, she says she would recomend it to anyone,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Allen, 23 Dec 2009
By 
J. M. Moss "Jean Moss 'Cog'" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought as a gift.
It has to be good it is Dave Allen, need anymore be said?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Dave Allen
The Essential Dave Allen by Graham McCann (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews