Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource
The book and CDs together really do make a complete course for you to follow at home. Presentation in good within the constraints of the small format and lack of colour printing/illustration. Each chapter is very well organised and follows a logical format. Grammatical points are explained succinctly. There are exercises and dialogues and also a focus on an aspect of...
Published on 16 May 2007 by Knitting Nellie

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Audio does not work on kindle
Producing an electronic course book with embedded audio clips is a brilliant concept. However, the audio doesnot work on Kindle devices. This is displayed clearly on the amazon website, but not on the kindle store. There is no way of knowing this when you download the book through your kindle, only to then be told your device does not support the audio content. Rather a...
Published on 15 Jun 2012 by Hautbois


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, 16 May 2007
The book and CDs together really do make a complete course for you to follow at home. Presentation in good within the constraints of the small format and lack of colour printing/illustration. Each chapter is very well organised and follows a logical format. Grammatical points are explained succinctly. There are exercises and dialogues and also a focus on an aspect of Danish culture within each chapter. The variety is very welcome. There is a lot of information in each chapter, and you should not expect to progress particularly quickly. The CD is essential as a guide to the deffinately different way to pronounce Danish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter set for the Danish language, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Gillian A. Smith (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Danish Book/CD Pack (Teach Yourself) (Paperback)
This is a really good way of learning a language. By playing the CD over and over again you soon pick up the vocabulary and more importantly the pronunciation. This is presumably how children learn to speak by hearing their parents speaking. Repetition is the secret. The CD can be taken wherever you go, in the car etc, or I listen whilst I'm sewing or doing housework. I am only just starting on the book and working the two together, but it is helpful to see the written language. I would say that you must be fully committed to learning Danish. My husband has listened and isn't at all interested! I felt exactly the same way with the French course. My heart wasn't in it but I enjoy Danish and am finding it challenging. I would recommend it as a very good starting point to see whether you want to pursue it further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!!!, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Pavlos Iglesis (Greece, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Danish Book/CD Pack (Teach Yourself) (Paperback)
This is a great book!!

It takes you step by step with everyday conversations and finally you start to understand the basics faster than you would expect.

It is totally "a must" for the beginner like me!

I totally recommend this book to anyone who wants to start learning the basics of the Danish language, someone who wants to visit the country or someone who is starting to live or work at this wonderful country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Audio does not work on kindle, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Producing an electronic course book with embedded audio clips is a brilliant concept. However, the audio doesnot work on Kindle devices. This is displayed clearly on the amazon website, but not on the kindle store. There is no way of knowing this when you download the book through your kindle, only to then be told your device does not support the audio content. Rather a costly mistake to make, when you can buy the electronic coursebook for kindle for 9.99. I have always found Teach Yourself books to be clear and conscise- just make your you don't waste your money paying for something that won't work on your device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angelo, 10 Feb 2011
Teach yoursefl Danish is one of the best book you can find to learn Danish. Make easy the most difficult pronunciation ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great course, but........, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great teach yourself danish course but the people saying the lines on the audio cd sound totally stilted at times so there is no rhythm to the conversations. The book is quite old now so maybe its time to rerecord the audio
With some new actors?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I had expected., 6 Jun 2012
By 
M. W. Ellwood "mwellwood" (Abingdon, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be honest, I didn't expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised.

One thing that always pleases me is when a book is well laid-out and clearly printed, and this one is.

The CDs correspond to the book fairly closely. There are some extra bits in the book that aren't on the CD, but you'd expect that.

I have a slight issue with the way the publishers keep repackaging books like this, and it's not clear if they've been updated or not. But that's not the author's fault. Also, the publishers have (physically) overpackaged it in a huge box, which isn't necessary. It's so it looks like you are getting more for your money I suppose. Again, this isn't the author's fault, and I'd say it's still worth buying, especially if you haven't already got an older version. If you do have an older version, and it's still in good condition, then it may not be worth getting this one. It's up to you.

I don't accept the criticism of another reviewer that it's not for people who haven't learned a language before. It is not particularly overburdened with grammatical language. For helvede, Danish isn't that sort of language for a start!
It has much simpler grammar than English.

But where there are grammatical terms, in the age of the internet and google, no one has an excuse for not being able to quickly find the meaning of the most common grammatical terms.

I googled quickly on "modal verbs in Danish" and got the Danish Grammar wikipedia page. In this I read:

"The future tense is formed with the modals verbs vil or skal and the infinitive, e.g. tror du, det vil regne, "do you think it's going to rain", vi skal nok komme igen i morgen, "we'll come again tomorrow".

Really this is so close to the English, it's pretty clear what's going on. It's not rocket science folks.

Going back to the book, even if you are not sure what a modal verb is, from the translations of the Danish sentences, when a modal is involved, the meaning is pretty clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please don't bother., 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll keep this brief. This book is written by a language major who assumes everyone else reading this book is too. It may be for beginners in Danish, but it's not for someone new to studying language. Look at this way: Do you know what an adjective agreeing with a qualifying noun is? How about cases, genitive nouns, modal verbs or present participles? If you're wondering what the hell I'm talking about, that's nothing compared to how you'll feel if you waste your money on this course. None of this is explained and the preface doesn't even explain that this knowledge is assumed. Oh, and there's already two typos 5 pages in. Please, buy anything other than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This product details aren't true, 11 Oct 2010
By 
K. Gulias "K.A.G." (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After reading all the reviews I thought, great! I'm going to buy!
I bought and only received a CD, no book accompanies this product. So I asked Amazon for a replacement. They have sent me AGAIN another package with just a CD and no book. So, my conclusio: There isn't really a Book that accompanies the CD. It is lie. So, I recommend not to buy this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Danish Book/CD Pack (Teach Yourself)
Complete Danish Book/CD Pack (Teach Yourself) by Bente Elsworth (Paperback - 29 Oct 2004)
Used & New from: 9.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews