Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Human Geography
This is a very good book which sets down the ground foundations of the subject very well before then exploring themes on the subject such as Developmental, political and historical Geographies.

There are some very good examples and the book is organised very well. Sometimes though, the language becomes very technical and for the novice, this can make reading...
Published on 15 Jan 2010 by Michael Philip

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of detail, but worded poorly towards students
As a Geography student, I have found this book to be extremely hard to read through. So much so that many class mates have decided not to buy it after reading through mine. It is one of those books where you may have to read over a few times to understand what it is talking about. It is very confusing to understand, and isn't very student-friendly. Like many students...
Published on 21 May 2012 by J Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of detail, but worded poorly towards students, 21 May 2012
By 
J Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition (Paperback)
As a Geography student, I have found this book to be extremely hard to read through. So much so that many class mates have decided not to buy it after reading through mine. It is one of those books where you may have to read over a few times to understand what it is talking about. It is very confusing to understand, and isn't very student-friendly. Like many students aswell as myself, have said it is like they have purposely set out to make it sound 'posh' by using a thesaurus for atleast one word in each sentence. I chose to steer away from this book for my students. You might want to look in the library and have a quick read through before buying as you may be one who prefers to be talked to as if you are a student, and not a tutor who has been studying the topics for 50 or so years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Human Geography, 15 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition (Paperback)
This is a very good book which sets down the ground foundations of the subject very well before then exploring themes on the subject such as Developmental, political and historical Geographies.

There are some very good examples and the book is organised very well. Sometimes though, the language becomes very technical and for the novice, this can make reading rather difficult.

But all in all, it is a well produced book that explores the subject in an interesting manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok-ish, 14 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition (Paperback)
i bought this book after being recommended it by my tutor for my human geography course, but i haven't found it to be that useful. the dictionary of human geography is much better i find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of this book, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition (Paperback)
As my course requires this book it has been very helpful when going over things in lectures I didn't understand or wanted more information on. I would recommend it to anybody studying Geography/Human Geography at university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good ., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition (Paperback)
I study geography at Bristol (1st year) and found it very useful for revision and for understanding the lectures. almost like an A-level text book but at a slightly higher level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY HANDY!, 24 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition (Paperback)
For any human geographers out there (Like me) I definetely recommend this book. It is literally an INTRODUCTION to a huge range of topics. No topic is covered extensively, but it gives you just an introduction, then you go read deeply into it elsewhere. It also gives you an easy further reading at the end of each topic, very useful! Great handy tool for any geographer. 10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i needed, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition (Paperback)
if your doing a geography degree, BUY THIS BOOK !!!!

it has a overview of all of the topics covered on the human areas of the course.

really really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor for students, 9 April 2014
As a student just being introduced to the broad range of topics in human geography this book is very unsuitable. Yes, it does contain information about any topic relating to the extensive field of human geography, but is geared more towards professors who have studied the field for decades. Seems as if it is worded in a very complicated fashion on purpose.

Students, steer clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 2 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition (Paperback)
Im a year 1 undergraduate at University of Leicester studying BA geography. This book is very useful for really understanding many topics in human geography and is really nice to read following through from A level text books. Came really quickly and very happy with my buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition (Paperback)
Well worth the reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition
Introducing Human Geographies, Second Edition by Mark Goodwin (Paperback - 27 May 2005)
Used & New from: £22.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews