Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant novel from Nicola Morgan
Sleep Walking is Nicola Morgan's latest novel. This time she has used sci-fi to create her latest masterpiece, proving again her great versatility.
In this book we find ourselves in a world that has been transformed into a far different world than which we know today. This is a world, which is completely controlled through one single building. The Citizens do not...
Published on 29 Oct 2004 by sheilahill5

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't understand the other reviews for this...
I just don't see how anyone could give this five stars. I thought it was contrived, annoying and don't get me started about the ending. I'm not the target audience, but even so, this was not a good book. Sorry Miss Morgan, I just didn't like it at all.
Published 21 months ago by Book Police


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant novel from Nicola Morgan, 29 Oct 2004
This review is from: Sleepwalking (Paperback)
Sleep Walking is Nicola Morgan's latest novel. This time she has used sci-fi to create her latest masterpiece, proving again her great versatility.
In this book we find ourselves in a world that has been transformed into a far different world than which we know today. This is a world, which is completely controlled through one single building. The Citizens do not realise this as they are in there own world, where you cannot be made upset by such trivial things. However there is a small band of people who do realise how the world is run. They can also use their minds clearly so, therefore see that the world should be changed. But this is not made easy as the new cruel police force hunt out this band of people. And now that a new plague is killing off the group the fate of the world lies in three teenagers hands.
Unlike most sci-fi books this one is down to earth, although the plot is typical of the genre. Morgan's style of writing causes the plot to be extremely believable. She also portrays the characters very well and really makes you care about them. Finally she also creates a sense of reality between reader and story. This book certainly lives up to the standards of "Mondays are Red" and "Flesh Market" if not exceeds them.
I would certainly recommend this book to teenagers through to adults because it's a fantastic story and you will not be able to put it down. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I can't understand the other reviews for this..., 26 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleepwalking (Paperback)
I just don't see how anyone could give this five stars. I thought it was contrived, annoying and don't get me started about the ending. I'm not the target audience, but even so, this was not a good book. Sorry Miss Morgan, I just didn't like it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sleepwalking, 12 May 2008
This review is from: Sleepwalking (Paperback)
****************************************************************************************************
-this is how many stars it deserves but you can only give 5 as the max.
It is full of interesting ideas about wright and wrong, captivity and hope and apart from that it is an a absolutely brilliant read.
Full of characters you can really relate to with their troubles and temptations even though they are in a different time to us.
I would definitely recommend for anyone to read as it has some thing for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but great, 14 Mar 2010
By 
emma_jane2 (North East, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sleepwalking (Paperback)
Much better than I expected. The plot is very interesting and the concept clever. It's easy to read and even though it is aimed at a younger audience, I was still absorbed into the story.

The only negatives are the slightly too cheesy ending and the epilogue which I can't make sense of but still a five star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping,deep.brilliant!, 28 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sleepwalking (Paperback)
this book is excellant. Someone has already outlined the plot so I'll just say that this story is depp and intresting. You get really caught up in the plot and the characters. I read in one day and it certainly wasn't time wasted.
I'd recommend this to teenagers and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading...but..., 31 Oct 2006
This review is from: Sleepwalking (Paperback)
A great read, interesting and slick the whole way through; but overall I thought there was something missing, then I realized that all these ideas have been presented before and better in some other books.

The story is a mish mash of: 1984, Brave New World, a bit of Wizard of Oz and every story where a plucky band of teenagers does battle against the evil Tyrants. (and if you want to understand the ending, make sure you know who Machiavelli was - and no, he has nothing to do with 2 Pac) Other imagery is stolen from various other sci fi films.

Certainly worth the time spent reading, just make sure you read all the other references.

And have fun working out the password!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleepwalking
Sleepwalking by Nicola Morgan (Paperback - 14 Oct 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews