Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teach Yourself Bulgarian, Holman,M. and Kovatcheva,M.
This book takes you from the absolute basics of pronunciation and reading the Cyrillic alphabet up to the grammatical information you'll need to be able to communicate effectively. There are plenty of chances to practice written and oral skills as you go along, especially if you buy the accompanying tape, which I would definitely recommend. Grammatical points seem to be...
Published on 9 Sep 2004

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Beware!
Beginners will not be at all pleased with this book. It is far too advanced for any useful home study without a tutor. There is no easy explanation how the words are to be pronounced, and the audio tape/CD goes off far too quickly, into advanced situations (Mr Businessman ordering a hotel room etc.) Yoghurt is in its dictionery, but not cat, dog, or face.

You...
Published on 19 April 2006 by Basilpru


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teach Yourself Bulgarian, Holman,M. and Kovatcheva,M., 9 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This book takes you from the absolute basics of pronunciation and reading the Cyrillic alphabet up to the grammatical information you'll need to be able to communicate effectively. There are plenty of chances to practice written and oral skills as you go along, especially if you buy the accompanying tape, which I would definitely recommend. Grammatical points seem to be presented in a non-daunting way on a need-to-know basis, but some could do with a bit more fleshing out. Also, a few more listening exercises would be useful. Overall, an excellent, well-structured place to start your Bulgarian learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You won't learn Bulgarian in 5 minutes, but if you're serious this can be a useful book, 13 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. Timothy Morris "Tim Morris" (Sutton Coldfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bulgarian (TY Complete Courses) (TYCC) (Paperback)
The initial reaction to this self-study course is that it is far too advanced for the beginner. It starts quite simply, then and appears to race off into the distance. But learning a new language is never easy, and for a retired person the learning process becomes ever that much slower!

However, if you're serious about learning the language and you are willing to persevere you can eventually make real and satisfying progress. Most of the information you need is in this book, though it does help to have alternative texts available to stretch the vocabulary a little - and, of course, a good dictionary. (This latter not so easy to find!)

The CD's are a real help and whilst each new lesson at first sounds totally incomprehensible, you find that as you progress you can return to earlier tracks and pleasantly surprise yourself that you are now understanding spoken Bulgarian at a reasonable speed. Without the CD's, the course would be impossible for a beginner, and I imagine that manipulating the tape cassettes would become far too tedious to be helpful.

This course is far, far better than a number of courses I have seen published in Bulgaria!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bulgarian (Teach Yourself), 16 Mar 2006
By 
maidenmillom (Millom, Cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bulgarian (TY Complete Courses) (TYCC) (Paperback)
I have used this book for a while, and am finding it extremely useful. I particularly like the Vocabulary sections at the back (English-Bulgarian and Bulgarian-English) making it very easy to look up words. It is easy to understand, and covers a range of everyday situations, which really helped on my recent trip to Bulgaria. I use it in conjunction with the tape, which goes a little too fast for a beginner, and it is sometimes a struggle to keep up with the speed when you are trying to listen and read at the same time! However, overall the book is great, and I like the section which teaches you to write the alphabet, both in capital and small letters, which are sometimes very different! If you are learning Bulgarian, it is a very useful tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Jun 2005
This review is from: Bulgarian (TY Complete Courses) (TYCC) (Paperback)
Just what you need in order to get a grip on the basics of the language and see if in fact you like it before you delve into it any further. I very much enjoyed the dialogues and the cassette - I suggest you buy the book AND the cassette or the CD. The audio bit is absolutely necessary for learning the particulars of bulgarian pronunciation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, 4 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. R. G. A. Polak "Ruthcasares" (Casares, Málaga, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bulgarian (TY Complete Courses) (TYCC) (Paperback)
Considering what a difficult language Bulgarian is, not least because of its unfamiliar alphabet and construction,this book, along with the CDs, does a first rate job in getting you started and then going on to developing your Bulgarian language skills.
No one would pretend it is easy and it certainly requires perseverance and commitment but provided you are determined enough then this book will give you all you need to get a good grasp of this fascinating language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Beware!, 19 April 2006
This review is from: Bulgarian (TY Complete Courses) (TYCC) (Paperback)
Beginners will not be at all pleased with this book. It is far too advanced for any useful home study without a tutor. There is no easy explanation how the words are to be pronounced, and the audio tape/CD goes off far too quickly, into advanced situations (Mr Businessman ordering a hotel room etc.) Yoghurt is in its dictionery, but not cat, dog, or face.

You cannot even find simple words like numbers, days of the week, months etc, let alone how to pronounce them. There is no Phonetic representation how the words are said.

I have studied languages for 50 years and this is the worst language tutor book I have ever read. I may be able to find a Bulgarian teacher who can make use of it, but as a self-study book, AVOID this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new copy, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulgarian (TY Complete Courses) (TYCC) (Paperback)
i thiought this book would be really good because i already have a copy and have already read it,just wanted a new copy instead of my old tatty one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kupete!, 16 Oct 2007
This review is from: Bulgarian (TY Complete Courses) (TYCC) (Paperback)
I started with nothing and now I can write to my Bulgarian friend in Bulgarian. Does what it promises. The index needs a lot of work and it does assume you will have the CD for pronounciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaed8fb28)

This product

Bulgarian (TY Complete Courses) (TYCC)
Bulgarian (TY Complete Courses) (TYCC) by Dr Mira Kovatcheva (Paperback - 26 Dec 2003)
Used & New from: £10.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews