Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good basic guide
Given the nature of the Welsh diaspora, learners probably fall under one of two categories: those near or in Wales, with adequate provision for supplementary learning (talking to Welsh-speakers, joining a club, etc.) and those far-flung, isolated people across the world who wish to learn something of a once native language. To this second category belong people with...
Published on 27 July 2007 by Barnard E. Turner

versus
69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Welsh speaking and listening
This product is well recommended for speaking and listening. However, it is not much good just by itself. There is actually a book which goes with the CD pack. If you want this Welsh learning double CD pack, then my advise would be to buy the book as well - so that you can carryout the exercises.
Regards.
Published on 20 Oct. 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Welsh speaking and listening, 20 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This product is well recommended for speaking and listening. However, it is not much good just by itself. There is actually a book which goes with the CD pack. If you want this Welsh learning double CD pack, then my advise would be to buy the book as well - so that you can carryout the exercises.
Regards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good basic guide, 27 July 2007
By 
Barnard E. Turner (singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Given the nature of the Welsh diaspora, learners probably fall under one of two categories: those near or in Wales, with adequate provision for supplementary learning (talking to Welsh-speakers, joining a club, etc.) and those far-flung, isolated people across the world who wish to learn something of a once native language. To this second category belong people with little or no Welsh heritage who are fascinated by the language. Given perhaps the use of English as a medium, and what I would think would be a certain lack of Welsh-learning resources in other languages, to this category also belong non-L1 speakers of English who want to learn Welsh. Given the nature of the language (very different from other standard languages taught in Anglophone schools), a solid beginning is a necessity. It is very easy to get discouraged early on--so much is unfamiliar, there are odd things like mutuations to get used to, and the syntactic structure is strange.
This is a worthwhile text to begin with, as the pacing is just right at the opening and the voices on the CD are really like real people (I could list some characteristics but will spare you--the people attached to the voices might be reading this!) This is engaging, and the grammar is introduced slowly and just right. There are of course other texts on the market, and I have tried one or two (but, as I just said, got discouraged); this is the best. But it is wise to buy the CDs too--the language is relatively difficult to pronounce at first.
There are a couple of more technical issues which might be addressed if and when there is a new edition. The internal margins of the book are very narrow, which means that using the book, flipping back and forth, going over pages three or four times, I can see the binding coming loose. The chapters on the CD correspond to those in the book, rather than the dialogues within the book chapters, which means that, on an ordinary CD player, it is time-consuming to find an individual dialogue mid-way through the chapter. (Other Teach Yourself language books do this differently.)
Final point: there's also a Teach Yourself Welsh Grammar, which might be considered alongside this book. I at least have found it quite helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Double CD & Book Edition- Teach yourself Welsh, 11 April 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (worthing, west sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If you are a complete beginner, don't start with this! I have gone through the first cd, with the book, and found the cd sadly lacking! This is a language that requires lots of help with the pronunciation in the early stages. The book in itself is good, but there is a lot missing from the cd e.g. there will be a short dialogue from the book, but then there are 4 or 5 pages where you are left floundering trying to work out how the other written words/phrases are pronounced. Also, I found one of the "voices" not the easiest to follow to get the correct pronunciation-quite gruff! Good Luck! You'll need it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book/CD combo, 14 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this not to long ago and was just taken in by the course. Its very intresting and takes the user from a basic level to a modaratley advanced one. I wouldnt kid you that this takes you to a fluent or even near fluent level, but with the advice of the book such as listening to Welsh language radio, you become proficent enough to have conversations with first language speakers to a good level, in a wide variety of subjects. Overall Excellent and really good vale, a reccomended buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hwntws neu Gogs, 15 May 2013
This review is from: Teach Yourself Welsh (Teach Yourself Languages) (Paperback)
This is helpful to get a basic grasp of welsh. Obviously you won't be fluent by then of this book and it is dated. Be careful when choosing - the focus is on hwntws- South Walian. If you want to learn Gog - North Walian- look for something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5*, 3 Sept. 2014
By 
Matthew Davenport "math85" (Rhymney, Caerphilly CBC, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teach Yourself Welsh (Teach Yourself Languages) (Paperback)
Item as described. Fast delivery good quality product. Would recommend seller A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CAnnot review this too much as of yet, because I haven't had enough time to go through the CDs and the book. So far, I find it difficult, but will get there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teach Yourself Welsh (Teach Yourself Languages)
Teach Yourself Welsh (Teach Yourself Languages) by Julie Brake (Paperback - 27 Jun. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews