Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2004
I'm a uni student about to go to teach english in Austria as the third year of my German degree. I'm not going to get much formal training, so this book has given me a great deal of confidence and some great ideas and teaching techniques. It covers a lot of material, but is split into small chunks which are well written, easy to understand and very effective. Would recommend this to anyone about to go into TEFL without having formal qualifications. Excellent!
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For anyone new to teaching, this book offers a solid grounding in general teaching practise, but generally a little less than one might wish on TEFL. However there are nuggets of useful information, and the book is far more reasonably priced than other guides - as such, it is very good value for money.

I would strongly recommend this for anyone new to teaching, or returning to teaching after a break/moving to teaching adults from teaching children. The book is divided into logical and helpful sections, beginning with generic teaching skills and moving through subject specific areas such as teaching grammar, pronunciation, speaking and listening and writing.

The book is highly prescriptive and makes no apologies for being so,setting useful tasks for trainees that offer a genuine chance to reflect on their own performance. If you are a highly experienced teacher there is a lot here that will remind you of what you know already. Still, it's always useful to be brought back to basics.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2004
This book comprehensively distills the whole TEFL course in a book. (If it werent for requiring the certificate I'd recommend saving yourself some money by just buying the book!). An indespensible resource, especially for new EFL teachers.
0Comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2005
I wasnt sure about buying this book to begin with but after reading the first few pages, I realised I had made an excellent choice. The layout is good and it is easy to read and full of tips, advice and ideas on teaching. It practically covers a TEFL course in a few pages. Definately recommend it to anyone interested or going to work as a TEFL teacher.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2009
As a previous reviewer has stated, this book is a comprehensive CELTA or Trinity course in a very small (and very cheap!) format. If you are doing a course, or contemplating teaching English without one, I'd thoroughly recommend this book, which is highly readable and easy to understand, and imparts the basics very well. I have been teaching for over two years and this is one of the books I come back to every now and again just to remind myself of the core ideas behind the communicative approach.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
I am about to embark on a CELTA course, adn this book has taught me SO much. Questions that I wanted answering, and even questions I had never thought of posing are in this book. It is incredibly detailed and an absolutely vital resource for anyone considering a CELTA or TEFL course! This book if worth every penny!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2009
This book offers help on planning lessons and gives hints and tips, like how to simplify your language and use gestures/body language to communicate more easily. It also encourages playing name games so that everybody is familiar with eachother, which makes for a better working environment. Informative and recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
I found this an interesting reading in preparation for a TEFL course. It maty be even more useful after you get a TEFL certificate as a source of valuable suggestions and tips on how to become a skilled and creative TEFL teacher. The only (small) negative side is that some could see it as a bit outdated.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
excellent and insightful. gives plenty of ideas how to teach and avoind mistakes as well as other things that you can only learn from somebody passionate who has years of experience. highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
The book is more about theory rather than practice, it is good if you are writing assignments on teaching English as a foreign language, but this is not an activity resource if this is what you are after. Learning Teaching would be a much better choice if this is the case.

Riddell's book is more of a teacher trainer resource or course book and this needs to be highlighted more clearly in the description. It is full of quizzes for teachers not for students, something which occupies the main bulk of the book making the amount of reference theory seem rather insignificant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)