Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The past is your training for the future, 18 Jan 2010
This review is from: In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place (Paperback)
A great book on how to live an authentic Christian life in the modern world. Like the previous reviewer, I'd really recommend this if you're burning out and just need to hear about people living out the love of God.

This is a much easier book to read on an emotional level than the hiding place, and just full of grace from start to finish. It is an absolute must if you want to learn about hospitality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brave Dutch Family, 18 Mar 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Bracknell, Berkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place (Paperback)
Although it is some time since I read The Hiding Place, Corrie's World wide best seller; also available on DVD; I have grown to love this Author and indeed, the whole Ten Boom Family! I have researched the 2WW very extensively, as part of my History studies, mainly because the History I was taught as a school child, was woefully lacking.

The Ten Boom Family owned a watchmaker's shop! Yes, in those days, items were made to be repaired, when necessary!! Corrie inherited her Father's love of Watches and clocks,and became the first Liscensed Woman Watchmaker in Holland.

The Family were highly regarded in their local community.No -one in need, was ever turned away. Somehow, there was always enough food, to feed unplanned for guests. Often, for the Joy of repairing rare clocks or watches;Corrie's father forgot to send the bill. When Corrie took over the shop work, this had to be improved, as money was needed for the special work this Family later came to do.

Finally, I really recommend reading the whole of Corrie's books. She survived the darkest hour in a Concentration camp. This, I find a great comfort in MY darkest hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Faith is more about nestling than wrestling", 16 May 2001
By A Customer
The beautiful story of Corrie Ten Boom's childhood showing a family living through a period of hardship sharing their life and faith with those God sends them. God's gentle supporting hand can be felt through all their trials as they rely on his provision and care and not on their own strength.
Full of lessons from the life of someone whose was a triumph of faith, without hipocracy. This is especially helpful for those who feel they are too tired to fight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In my Father's House, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place (Paperback)
I chose this book as I had seen excerpts from 'The Hiding Place' and wanted to find out more about this remarkable woman.
Well written and humerous in places; giving a vivid picture of her early life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In My Fathers house-the years before the hiding place, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place (Paperback)
A very good and personal demonstration of Corrie Ten Booms, own personal relationship with God-in terms of social
conduct and endeavour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten out of Ten, 25 Dec 2013
By 
Eric Irwin "Eric" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place (Paperback)
Almost finished and thoroughly enjoyed every page so far. All through it God's hand on us is so obvious, to use His children to His glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars author, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place (Paperback)
I have read other books by this author and loved them. Have not got around to reading this one yet, bit am confident i will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love reading Corrie Ten Boom, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place (Paperback)
Very inspiring, & a good example of living the christian life; & It brings reminders of the important things in life & shows the great grace in which Corrie Ten Booms father lived. It also made me laugh!

wonderful reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Corrie Ten Boom is a primary example of Heroes in Christ. Plus other awesome Book & dvds on Amazon, 23 May 2013
This review is from: In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place (Paperback)
Corrie Ten Boom has written a number of books. Amazon Search her name for other titles.

'The Hiding Place' By Corrie Ten Boom. (Just remember the Corrie from Coronation Street to remember the book author) has also been made into a powerful feature length Movie the Hiding Place. Awesome in the face of true terror & horror. Wonderful women show their true quality & strength.

See also another woman of power.

Jackie Pullinger Book 'Chasing the Dragon'.

When reading this book as with Corrie Ten Boom story the evidence & truth pour out between the written lines. A modern day Mother Teresa of Calcutta from the evangelical side. Standing together in the body of Christ, there is nothing lame in saying that. This book is a mountain mover.

This is another story that should be made into a full block buster movie! I have always thought that! So Powerful & what a Testimony. Is there anyone out there that can make this happen? It's a must!

How can one woman achieve so much that had bewildered every previous attempt for change by the Governments & law forces. Poverty, drugs, prostitution, satanic rituals, abuse & horror on every front. This true story charts one woman's stand in the face of impossible odds. Pullingers profound experience & powerful testimony, offers hope, especially to those who believe they are too far gone to be forgiven. Rise into a new life of joy, peace, freedom & love through Jesus Christ. Repentance means to turn around & make good your life choices through Christ! & `The Great Command'

Also

'Run Baby Run' by Nicky Cruz has been made into a Powerful Feature Length Movie the original book & movie called 'The Cross & the Switchblade'

Other recommended true story reading in the face of impossible odds, on amazon

'From Witchcraft to Christ' By Doreen Irevine (All time World famous occult deliverance, another book that should be made in a block buster movie to warn others!)
'A Very Present Help'By Sir William Dobbie (Malta SOLDIERS & miracle survival).
`War & Grace:Short Biographies from the World Wars' By Don Stephens.
'The Cross & the Swastika'By F.Grossmith.
'Another Man's War:'By Sam Childers (made into a feature length movie & dvd `Machine Gun Preacher'(2011). Incredible powerful gripping story.
`Faith Under Fire'By Andrew White.
'SEAL of God'By Chad Williams(Navy Seals).

TRUE STORY DVD titles on amazon to set you really thinking & stir the emotions.
`Machine Gun Preacher'(2011)Gerald Butler Movie
'Schindler's List' (19930 is a miraculous true story modern exodus, a powerful Steven Spielberg movie the maker of 'ET extra Terrestrial' 1982 ET phone home)
'Saints& Soldiers'(2003)
`Hidden in Silence'(1996)
`The Hiding Place'(1975)
'No.4 Street of Our Lady'(2009)
'Thank You,Mr. Hodges'(2007)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight into the hardship faced in growing up in a poor under privilegded world., 11 Sep 2010
This review is from: In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place (Paperback)
An eye opener to what hardship there was back in the early 1900's where everyone had to make do and mend and helped everyone else. Very inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place
In My Father's House: The Years Before the Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom (Paperback - 25 April 2005)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews