Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crime Pays
The first half of Nicky Cruz's harrowing personal account of growing up as a feared New York gang leader will not seem a typical testimony of finding God, nor should it. It is violent, graphic, as gritty and real as they come and at times even hard to read in it's intensity. It will entertain even fans of gangster films: images from certain passages of this book have...
Published on 23 Oct 2005 by David La Beau Tete Arriba Gonzalez

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed.
I read this book some 30 years ago, and was a little disappointed that this publication was lacking in some detail, compared to the edition I read all those years ago.
Published 6 months ago by helen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crime Pays, 23 Oct 2005
This review is from: Run Baby Run (Paperback)
The first half of Nicky Cruz's harrowing personal account of growing up as a feared New York gang leader will not seem a typical testimony of finding God, nor should it. It is violent, graphic, as gritty and real as they come and at times even hard to read in it's intensity. It will entertain even fans of gangster films: images from certain passages of this book have stayed with me since my childhood when I first read them. But all the more powerful comes the message of the latter of the book as Cruz reforms his life through a chance encounter with a preacher. This may seem a 'typical' ending for a religious book, but his journey to that point is a revelation in Christian literature, and should not be overlooked by any means. An incredible account, and a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing read!, 12 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. A. Belam (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run Baby Run (Paperback)
I found this book to be truly inspirational!

I don't find it particuarly easy to read a book from cover to cover but with "Run baby run" I just couldn't put it down. I would find myself at all different times in the day just glued to it!

Nicky Cruz's conversion is truly an amazing one. It truly is very encouraging and demonstrates the need of having a true conversion i.e. having the power to live a christian life etc.

I would give this 10/10, it definately exceeded expectations.

Check out "The Cross and the Switchblade" for the perspective of David Wilkerson - the minister who was instrumental in Nicky Cruz's turnaround. This is incredible too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian Reality, 12 Dec 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run Baby Run (Paperback)
Cruz, in his own words, doesn't pull punches. He didn't when he was the president of the most feared street gang in Brooklyn back in the 60s, and he doesn't now that he's given his life to Christ and works as an evangelist amongst broken people.
He doesn't want you to read this book to be entertained; it's not even really meant as an "encouraging" book. It's a book that glorifies God through its honest account of how he and his fellow ministers let God work powerfully through him. The idea is to read it and change your life by the conviction of God's Spirit within you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life-changing read!, 3 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This is one of my all-time top reads.
For anyone, the story is amazing. For anyone, who now feels depressed or that they are on the wrong road - this book shows that there is hope.
That it is true, and that Nicky's conversion remains true today make this book really amazing.
He was a thug and he is now a priest. Read the story and you will find inspiration beyond belief.
Buy it now - you will not regret it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, God is EVERYWHERE, 6 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This book has been a source of inspiration to me time and time again. When I think I'm having a tough time, I read this book and it puts everything in perspective. It has taught me that God is incredible, He can do anything, and through Him, WE can do anything. He has the ability to change everyone and he can change you today. If you don't believe me, read about Nicky Cruz. If God can change him, God can change all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another book to give away!, 26 Sep 2007
By 
A. Thorne (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run Baby Run (Paperback)
I have read this book, many times, along with Cross and the Switchblade, and more recently Soul Obsession.
In the last few years we have used many of these books in prison work. It is a very readable book that can connect with many.
An excellent book telling the story of a real man with a life turned around by a dramatic encounter with God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a life changing read, 19 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Baby Run (Paperback)
Nicky Cruz honset and readable style makes you rethink how you view life and the Christian faith. One minute this book will have you crying your eye out and the next minute amazed at God forgiving power. This book will challenge you views and take you in to whole different enviroment. A very worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus loves you!, 30 Jun 2010
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run Baby Run (Paperback)
This book is the autobiographical account of Nicky Cruz. Originally hailing from Puerto Rico he was sent to New York as a teenager. There he had no-one so he turned to the gangs. It wasn't long until he was elevated to gang leader thanks to his fearless ways. But later came a man with three words for him that did scare him:

`Jesus loves you!' Three small words that change Nicky Cruz's life for ever!

However the change was not easy, there were struggles along the way and friends were lost as Nicky made the transition from gang leader into ministry!

This book can make you cry when you read about how faith in Jesus Christ has impacted on people's lives where they are seemingly too far gone down the darkside to be saved.

Read it and weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, excellent book, 4 Mar 2010
By 
R. Bell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run Baby Run (Paperback)
I bought this for my 13 year old son as my old book had fallen apart. He loved it. Excellent timeless book - I read it many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rune Baby Run, 8 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Run Baby Run (Paperback)
It's an incredible book that shows how someone can change. It shows you how a gang leader that is so evil with hate inside can change into a peacful person who is on a journey to God in the most amazing things. The start of the story is a little violent but its like a huge build up. Don't be put off by the start of the story, until half way through the book until he finally has his encounter with God. His life is turned the right way round and he surprises all his friends when he turns good. Some bits i laughed out loud, this book made me fell good about myself thanks to its incredibley powerful testimony. I wasn't christian before i read this book but it was one of my subjects in school, and im very happy i had that subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Run Baby Run
Run Baby Run by Jamie Buckingham (Paperback - 22 May 2003)
6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews