Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenging look at the awesome power of God's Holy Spirit
One Holy Fire is an incredible testament to the amazing power of the Holy Spirit. Nicky Cruz talks about the many miraculous ways the Spirit has moved in his life and the lives of those around him in the forty years since becoming a Christian. If you enjoyed Run Baby Run (the story of Nicky's life before Christ and his dramatic conversion) you will love this. Many...
Published on 30 Jun 2003 by Sarah

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Failure to ignite
I came to this book about a month after reading Run Baby Run, the classic insirational story of the authour's early life and conversion to Christianity. The publishers clearly intended to capitalise on this association and the cover of the two books are very similair.
Unforunatey this book has none of the narrative flow or charm of Run Bay Run.
To be frank;...
Published on 8 Sep 2007 by i wrote this


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenging look at the awesome power of God's Holy Spirit, 30 Jun 2003
By 
Sarah (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul (Paperback)
One Holy Fire is an incredible testament to the amazing power of the Holy Spirit. Nicky Cruz talks about the many miraculous ways the Spirit has moved in his life and the lives of those around him in the forty years since becoming a Christian. If you enjoyed Run Baby Run (the story of Nicky's life before Christ and his dramatic conversion) you will love this. Many times while reading this book I found myself shivering with excitement at the wonderful ways God shows himself and works in people's lives. This book isn't just stories, it is a challenge to the individual and to the church as a whole to draw upon the limitless power of the Holy spirit and it's a calling to all to lead the lost to Jesus.
A definite 'must read'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-ignites passion for God!, 16 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul (Paperback)
A long-time admirer of Nicky Cruz's servant heart , yet again this book demonstrates how God can work powerfully through anyone who invites Him in. Nicky writes from 30 years' experience of trying to put God first, and each of these testimonies make you stop and think 'Wow, if only I could do that for God'. But in fact, this is the whole point of the book: God can and will do amazing works through those who yield to the Holy Spirit living inside each on of us. The power inside you is immense and potentially explosive. It's tempting to think Nicky Cruz is in a league of his own, but with his searingly honest words, we are encouraged to accept the fact that such power is within our own grasp too! Read this book and be prepared to re-discover the passion you had when you first realised the true joy of having a living relationship with Christ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING CHALLENGE, 5 Sep 2008
By 
T. Netherwood (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul (Paperback)
If you're a born again believer this book is for you. If you're not born again you won't understand it, like one reviewer (Failure to Ignite).
Inspiring me to evangelise and pray for our inner cities, this is truly a Holy Spirit inspired book designed to inspired the Holy Spirit filled believer. Buy two and give one to another believer who needs inspiring!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul (Paperback)
This is a great, inspirational and encouraging read.
To see how far this man as come and to where God is taking him is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 Dec 2013
By 
F. I. Dyson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul (Paperback)
Fantastic book, inspiring, would highly recommend it to anyone whether Christian or not, brilliant read about Nicky Cruz and his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one holy fire, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul (Paperback)
bought as a gift so cant really comment mum likes nicky cruz and this book was not to expensive seems well worth the money need confirmation from mum. nice size not to big to hold and not heavy, was well packaged and arrived early looks good and i know its a good book for christians to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Dec 2011
By 
M. Lewis (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul (Paperback)
Exceptional account/testimony of Nicky Cruz, once gangster & violent drug user from a disturbed background who was changed by accepting Jesus and this tells of how his life has developed since then & the account of how God has been involved in his life, the miracles & provision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and Humbling, 28 Aug 2009
By 
BorgWolf (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul (Paperback)
I have no doubts thats this book has been overseen by Our Lord, It is an honest account of a mans vision and drive to fullfil the Lords will, The struggles and hardships are just the tip of the iceberg, Family reality and negative comments from unbeleivers as well as from the conventional Churchs lead to not to disaster and anger but to satisfaction and confidence in knowing Our Lord is always with Us, Read and be amazed by Nicky Cruz's Later years since his acceptance Of Our Lord!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Failure to ignite, 8 Sep 2007
By 
i wrote this "i did" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul (Paperback)
I came to this book about a month after reading Run Baby Run, the classic insirational story of the authour's early life and conversion to Christianity. The publishers clearly intended to capitalise on this association and the cover of the two books are very similair.
Unforunatey this book has none of the narrative flow or charm of Run Bay Run.
To be frank; this book is a mess.
Having finished it and reflected on it for some time I still haven't got a clue what it's supposed to be about. The title and back cover claim that it's a statement about God's Holy Spirit. But as a reader I felt this book was a directionless collection of anecdotes. The stories Nicky Cruz tells here span the decades he has been involved in Christian ministry but aren't related in any kind of order, either thematically or chronologically. Each chapter felt to me like a free association exercise.

I don't wish to be disrespectful to Nicky Cruz, or the organisation that he leads. Some of the stories that he tells here are interesting and insiteful, some are inspiring. But other episodes read as arrogant and some seem designed to make readers feel guiltly for a lack of faith on their own part. Still others make little sense at all. Here's my favourite example from the book:
"Have you ever wondered why a pig won't look you in the face?
It's because it knows that it's mother is a fat ugly pig.
Now satan too is a fat pig because of Jesus Christ"
Ehhh?????
I would like to applaud Nicky Cruz and his team for the work they do and I am prepared to believe that this book may have suffered in the move from the USA to the UK and perhaps the American audience was able to make better sense of it. But I advise other British readers to avoid this book.

There are plenty of coherent and inspirational books on Christianity, but for me this isn't one of them.
If you're looking for something that will put a spring in your step I recommend Rob Bell's Sex God or Neil Anderson's Victory Over the Darkness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul
One Holy Fire: Let the Spirit Ignite Your Soul by Nicky Cruz (Paperback - 22 May 2003)
6.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews