Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bend it like Beckham!A new area of becoming independent, 6 Jun 2004
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham (Bite) (Paperback)
The book is about an Indian girl who wants to play football like her idol David Beckham.The message of this book is that you don`t need to stop fulfilling your wishes and dreams wahtever other people think.The parents have other ideas of living than the children have.The main characters Jess and Jules become best friends while the plot.They`re both in love with their coach Joe.
The novel isn`t so hard to understand because you can find the vocubalary at the end of the pages but it`s written in a slang.It`s put up in thirteen chapters.
I think that it`s important to live the way you want and not just to follow traditions and values.In my opinion is this the right book to show this problem and the generation conflict.
The appeal is that also girls are able to play football professional.I recommend this book because it`s modern and it talks about the real problems that tennagers have. hannah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!, 5 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham (Bite) (Paperback)
Follow Jess and jewels through their fight to play in a womens soccer leagues. Jess fighting against her religion to play soccer meets her new best friend jewels, who fights against her mum. (who thinks she should be into pump up bra's?)Jewels and jess develop a very special relationship but all fails when they both fall in love with their coach, georgeus Joe! Jess keeps sneaking off to football practises, even misses her sisters wedding. But what happens if they find out and will Jess and Jewles ever make up?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 26 Oct 2004
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham (Bite) (Paperback)
I found this a great book. It's a book about a mix of soccer and love and I think most teenagers will like that. I've enjoyed reading it very much! I found it even better than the film. The book is very well written and it's easy to follow the line in the story.
Maybe later I'll read it a second time because it's a very beautiful and exciting story.
I hope there are more such books to read, I really enjoyed it!
I'm not a fast reader so this book was perfect for me! I really recommend this book to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bend it like beckham, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book so much like I could read it for the rest of my life. This book is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An Excellent read - used it for world book day with my Year 8 class.It comes highly recommended. with thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is so good because its an Indian girl who wants to play football and she loves her coach which i Irish and is white and Indian girls are not supposed to love white men who aren't indian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, 16 Mar 2013
I have always liked this book, firstly i bought the film then the paperback and cd soundtrack and now goin to buy the ebook version so i've always got it to hand. Definitely one of my faves since i was 14.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bend it like beckham, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham (Bite) (Paperback)
I love the story, but enjoyed the jfilm better. It is well writtten and quite readable. I have been inspirted to write on a similar topic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sport and love combined, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham (Paperback)
This book, funny, realistic and great! Who wouldn't want to read it?
This book is about a girl who is a bit of a tom boy called Jasminder who is obsessed with football although her family object to this. She is an Indian girl and is expected to do housework instead of `rolling a ball.' However she goes against her parents commands to go and play in football matches. She falls in love with her coach but because he is Irish she would not be allowed to marry him when she is older or even tell her parents.
This book is set in the present tense, it gives a moral that you should follow your dreams. It is set in normal England. Her family are traditional and have very strict customs and beliefs and refuse to let them be disobeyed.
She's realistic and I like that she knows what she wants at an early age and is mature. It is astonishing how far she will go for football! Would you miss your sister's wedding? Anyone would like this book, id give it 10/10. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hallo mrs Sallmann, 14 Feb 2006
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham (Bite) (Paperback)
I found that book is very interesting!The topic of this book is very interesting and its very easy to understand it! In this book is a girl who would like to bend it like Beckham!But her partents are against that she plays football they want to see that their child can cook! BUT jess wouldn´t like to cook anything! I had read it! And i found that book was very good
bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab8f7eac)

This product

Bend It Like Beckham (Bite)
Bend It Like Beckham (Bite) by Narinder Dhami (Paperback - 18 April 2002)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews