Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A journey of self discovery - I like!
I bought this book about 3 weeks ago and have seen a marked improvement in my handwriting. It's a little ponderous in its approach but it ticks all the boxes if you want to identify what makes your handwriting illegible and how to improve with practice. The exercises are pretty boring and repetitive but do them and you will find results in a few weeks can be achieved...
Published on 20 May 2006 by KingCedricTheGreat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Came quickly, but not that fantastic for what we wanted it for
Got the book quickly. Reliable seeming supplier. Not that fantastic for late teenage boy to improve handwriting. Lots on analysing handwriting roblems. Could have done with more practice sheets and styles of handwriting to choose from. Bit disappointed didn't do this. Never mind!
Published on 1 Jan. 2010 by S. L. Pelling


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A journey of self discovery - I like!, 20 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR) (Paperback)
I bought this book about 3 weeks ago and have seen a marked improvement in my handwriting. It's a little ponderous in its approach but it ticks all the boxes if you want to identify what makes your handwriting illegible and how to improve with practice. The exercises are pretty boring and repetitive but do them and you will find results in a few weeks can be achieved. The writing style put forward is rather like cursive italic (Getty and Dubay).

In my teens I trained as a draftsman. Each morning I was obliged to spend 30 minutes (for a few months) retraining my cursive hand into printed lettering for architectural drawings. As a result I lost the ability to write cursive and my hand writing 20 years later was very scruffy and printed. My daughter started learning cursive at school so I wanted to re-learn and this has been a journey of discovery!

I like my emerging new handwriting and recommend this book to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Came quickly, but not that fantastic for what we wanted it for, 1 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR) (Paperback)
Got the book quickly. Reliable seeming supplier. Not that fantastic for late teenage boy to improve handwriting. Lots on analysing handwriting roblems. Could have done with more practice sheets and styles of handwriting to choose from. Bit disappointed didn't do this. Never mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfactory, 24 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR) (Paperback)
The handwriting advice in this book is trivial; it seems most suited to the training of one who is incapable of writing at all.

Although there are handwriting samples in the book there is no rigorous set of exercises, drills and instructions such that might allow one to learn a particular style of cursive business hand, which is likely to be the aim of most people who would seek to improve their handwriting using a book such as this one. Instead the book offers an infantile "training alphabet", and instructs students to develop their own "natural style" thereafter. Although perhaps in the computer age it is reasonable for an average man to write in a natural (i.e. essentially haphazard and untrained) way, this is hardly a recommendation with which one who purchases a book on handwriting skill should expect to be confronted.

Although there are exercises in this book, they are casual in nature and underspecified; the student is not instructed upon the proper spacing or guide paper to use or upon the correct technique to employ in performing these exercises. Furthermore, essential elements of instruction in handwriting technique are absent; for example, one does not learn in this book the importance to general-purpose writing of using the entire forearm to move the pen across the page, rather than "finger-drawing" the letters.

I strongly advise those who possess basic writing ability but who wish to improve their handwriting to the grade of a stylish-yet-practical business hand to visit iampeth dot com, where are to be found a number of free and highly useful out-of-copyright handwriting books (I am currently working my way through the "Palmer Method") and also the requisite guide sheets to be used in completing the lessons therein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth doing, 30 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR) (Paperback)
This did take a while to read but only due to commitments, it was an excellent read and i would recommed others to take a peek as well as it could help so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but incredibly repetitive, 18 May 2009
This review is from: Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR) (Paperback)
I liked this book, and it has very good techniques and rough insight into what may be the causes of illegible or poorly-structured handwriting and has some very interesting analysis of those. What I did find incredibly annoying was that it repeats the sentiment of "different reasons for differing handwriting quality" so MANY times that you find yourself skimming past yet another paragraph that repeats it.

Overall though, from a practical standpoint it's good. Very easy to understand, well structured and excellent insight into characteristics of handwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good 'Textbook', 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR) (Paperback)
My school-age daughter (who thinks her handwriting is fine!?!) did actually have a good look at this book and it's one I think she would find useful if she did decide to improve her writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rosemary sassoon teach yourself better handwriting, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR) (Paperback)
very good indeed a simple and easily understandable manual for facilitating better written communication.
find yourself a quiet room somewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating method, 22 Aug. 2014
By 
Greenky (norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR) (Paperback)
Fascinating method about how to improve fluency of handwriting. I bought it for my students but may try it myself too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's hard, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR) (Paperback)
Trying to teach yourself how to write again it is hard but is possible. You just have to be dedicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handwriting, 6 Jun. 2010
By 
Mrs. EEC Brown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting books with lots of interesting tips on how to produce better handwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR)
Teach Yourself Better Handwriting New Edition (TYHR) by G S E Briem (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews