Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you love world war 2 classics - you'll like this!!!!!!!!!
Never heard of Joan o'Neill before? I hadn't until i read this book. This woman deserves a lotta praise for this excellent novel! Set in World War Two it's a great insight to life on the homefront, but it's not one of thgose awfully dull reads your history teacher raves about - it's an enjoyable read about girls and boys, that lead similar lives to the ones we live...
Published on 19 Oct. 2003 by smiles89

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Daisy Chain War is alright
This book is quite good. I feel so secure with this book that I will never let go of this brilliant book. Not many people write about Ireland during the war even though it was neutral during war. The two girls are Lizzie and Vicky. Lizzie is the type of girl that is the quiet and bookish girl while Vicky is protrayed in a fun and a sort of flirty type of girl. My...
Published on 12 Oct. 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you love world war 2 classics - you'll like this!!!!!!!!!, 19 Oct. 2003
Never heard of Joan o'Neill before? I hadn't until i read this book. This woman deserves a lotta praise for this excellent novel! Set in World War Two it's a great insight to life on the homefront, but it's not one of thgose awfully dull reads your history teacher raves about - it's an enjoyable read about girls and boys, that lead similar lives to the ones we live today, (appart from the odd bomb going of here and there). The thing i have to make clear about this book is that it is SET IN WORLD WAR 2 but is NOT ABOUT WORLD WAR TWO! The characters are very real, and i've never felt the same about my grandma since reading this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daisy Chain War, 7 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Daisy Chain War (Paperback)
I'm a total book-worm and love reading!!! I've read quit a few books set in World War 2 time but this must be the best so far!! I found this book very hard to put down so much so that i would wake up in the middle of the night and want to read on. Lizzie is the main character and has to be my favourite, this book take you through about seven years of her life, her first love etc... When her cousin Vicky come to live with them alot changes in Lizzie's life e.g. she's not the centre of attention any more! She finds it difficult to get along with her cousin but desperately wants to be her friend. You should defiantly read this book its brilliant and im making my business to read the whole trilogy make it yours too!!! ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 13 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Daisy Chain War (Paperback)
Daisy chain war is an excellent book from start to finish it follows the life of Lizzie Doyle and all the troubles she faces in war time Ireland. The story has so many twists and turns none of which you necessarily expect. You really can see how difficult it was to be living in war time in Ireland. I would recommend it to those of age 12+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars daisy chain war, 10 Feb. 2003
This review is from: Daisy Chain War (Paperback)
This is a marvellous novel, set in World War 2. But don't let that put you off, it's a brilliant read and tackles modern issues with a traditional twist. It tells the story of ten year old Lizzie Doyle and her wild and headstrong cousin Vicky. they have loads of fun, despite the war, but as time wears on and the butter wears out their friendship detiriorates. The beginning is a little slow, but bear with it because once you get into the thick of things you'll find it hard to put it down. Definatly worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Daisy Chain War is alright, 12 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisy Chain War (Paperback)
This book is quite good. I feel so secure with this book that I will never let go of this brilliant book. Not many people write about Ireland during the war even though it was neutral during war. The two girls are Lizzie and Vicky. Lizzie is the type of girl that is the quiet and bookish girl while Vicky is protrayed in a fun and a sort of flirty type of girl. My favourite character has to be Lizzie she is so sensitive just like my friend. My favourite chapter has to be when Vicky goes to London to find the person she thinks she is in love with. The front cover is ok but it's so plain it doesn't catch my eye, it was only that I saw it was a new book that I decided to look at the burlb. The book is in a triolgy but the book is rushed during her life that it is very difficult to picture what will happen in the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daisy Chain War
Daisy Chain War by Joan O'neill (Paperback - 18 July 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews