Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pilgrim's Progress
An 18th century Christian classic by John Bunyan, born 1628, who was a poor tinker and later a soldier with Cromwell's Parliamentarian army. He married a poor girl whose dowry was two books, 'The Plain Man's Guide to Pathway to Heaven' and 'Practice of Piety'. Reading these books transformed Bunyan's life and he became a lay preacher at a time when it was illegal for the...
Published on 23 Feb. 2001 by amarula4@yahoo.co.uk

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book but be careful...
Great book, but be careful I thought this was the one with the fabulous illustrations... IT IS NOT.... its a much SMALLER black and white book that disappointed me because I have the original sized one with the colours.
Published on 20 Mar. 2010 by L. M. CARTER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pilgrim's Progress, 23 Feb. 2001
By 
amarula4@yahoo.co.uk (Walsall, West Mids, UK) - See all my reviews
An 18th century Christian classic by John Bunyan, born 1628, who was a poor tinker and later a soldier with Cromwell's Parliamentarian army. He married a poor girl whose dowry was two books, 'The Plain Man's Guide to Pathway to Heaven' and 'Practice of Piety'. Reading these books transformed Bunyan's life and he became a lay preacher at a time when it was illegal for the laity to preach in Britain. Whilst in prison for the second time he wrote 'Pilgrim's Progress'.
This version, abridged by Geraldine McCaughrean, won the first Blue Peter overall Book of the Year award (December 2000). It is a highly enjoyable retelling of the story, with some simplifications in language for the younger reader. Some of the names are altered, for example, the most lugubrious 'Slough of Despond' is called 'The Great Bog Misery' - which is good, if not quite the same. And one word, which might be outside the scope of the average young person - 'donjon', the central tower or keep of a castle - sent me to the dictionary, but overall the effect is marvellous. The book is richly illustrated with very good colour and black and white illustrations by Jason Cockcroft. An ideal gift and a great introduction to the full work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing allegory of a christian child's walk through life, 12 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This book will grab the attention of any inquisitive child or grown up. The well-known story is re-told so that any child can understand and relate to it and the vivid pictures bring the whole epic to life. As was Bunyan's intention, all of life's battles are encapsulated within the story and the lessons spelt out clearly. The story unravels the mysteries surrounding God, the crucifiction, the resurrection and heaven so that a child can understand it. It will also help any adult looking into Christianity to deepen their understanding in a clear and enjoyable way. This book is a must for any God parents to give to their God children from 7 upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book but be careful..., 20 Mar. 2010
By 
L. M. CARTER "Lover of the word" (Nottelling) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories) (Paperback)
Great book, but be careful I thought this was the one with the fabulous illustrations... IT IS NOT.... its a much SMALLER black and white book that disappointed me because I have the original sized one with the colours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, a modern re-telling, 19 Aug. 2012
This review is from: A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories) (Paperback)
I came across this book by accident: drawn to it by its beautiful illustrations, and then as I read it aloud to my grandson, gripped by the re-telling of the story.
Geraldine McCaughrean has found a marvellous way to tell the story without reducing the original to anything less than it was: she is a genius to tell, like a born storyteller, this most engrossing story.
My grandson was 7 when we first read it, but the age-range is wider: and older children reading to themselves, would revel in the story and its lively illustrations. Over-tens would see more deeply into the story...
As ever, Bunyan showed us the pitfalls that await, the glories that beckon, and the very human inability not to be tempted 'off-track' which we all share.
A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories), 8 Sept. 2011
This review is from: A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories) (Paperback)
A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories)]. Brilliant book & very effective. My 9 year old son started the 'original' book but we faltered and stopped - just too difficult. Then a friend suggested this one. Success! He loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pilgrims Progress, 20 Sept. 2010
This review is from: A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories) (Paperback)
Both my 10 year old son and I enjoyed this book. When I asked him questions to see if he understood the meanings behind the book he showed suprising insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a chapter before bedtime, 4 Aug. 2012
By 
Mrs. V. Saunders "Viz" (Chichester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories) (Paperback)
A Pilgrim's Progress is a wonderful classic, and to be able to find this simplified version for children is very special. Once they have grasped the amazing analogous story, they will then be able to upgrade to the full version. Meanwhile this is a lovely book for reading to our children - perhaps a chapter before bed. Or if they are young readers they will be encouraged by the friendly layout with the little black and white illustrations throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An 'old' story refreshed., 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories) (Paperback)
John Bunyan was inspired to write his Pilgrim's Progress about Christian & his journey to the Golden City.

This book 'refreshes' the story which is still relevant & vital today, drawing attention to the wiles of the evil one.

Good for children of 12 upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, I could manage to read this version., 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories) (Paperback)
I did try to read the original years ago but it was too much like hard work and I gave up. Give me the children's one and I can understand it! I know names have been changed and things left out but all in all for people who find the original difficult this is a good solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: A Pilgrim's Progress (Hardcover)
Honestly, the best looking and most faithful (considering it is abridged for children) to the text. a beautiful presentation of a timeless story. read to your children, or to yourself. makes a perfect gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories)
A Pilgrim's Progress (Classic Stories) by Geraldine Mccaughrean (Paperback - 19 April 2001)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews