Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Gold!
Looking for that excellent read which will make you or someone in your life laugh? Then look no further. Bring on the Empty Horses (and "The Moon's a Balloon!") are two of the funniest and most satisfying books I have ever read. There is something about the way in which David Niven writes about other people from which you just know they would approve of what he has said...
Published on 6 Mar 2007 by Ned Middleton

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bring On The Same Story.
This is a good book, but if you have first read another David Niven story of Hollywood , such as the Moons a Balloon, then you find the two are more or less the same. However if this your first venture into the writings of Mr Niven you will find it interesting enough. I always liked David Niven, he seemed a thouroghly decent chap, the book is in the same witty tradition...
Published on 3 May 2010 by A. Tomlinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Gold!, 6 Mar 2007
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Looking for that excellent read which will make you or someone in your life laugh? Then look no further. Bring on the Empty Horses (and "The Moon's a Balloon!") are two of the funniest and most satisfying books I have ever read. There is something about the way in which David Niven writes about other people from which you just know they would approve of what he has said. As an actor, David Niven always seemed to play the good guy, the dashing hero, the sort of character to whom we would all wish to aspire. As an author, however, he writes about his fellow personalities from the Hollywood of yester-year with whom he worked and came into contact. Where others might expose drunkenness or sordid behaviour, Niven simply makes us laugh and, as I say, those of whom he writes would, therefore, approve.

In this book, Niven confirms his credentials as an ingenious writer as he pours his own brand of humour onto each and every encounter he describes. Not once does he stoop to the level of cheap gossip, not once does attack another person. Instead, we have a first hand account of that golden age of Hollywood written by a master wordsmith who has also mastered the art of writing humour. Only a writer who had also been a central part of that of that glorious cast of characters and people could possibly have produced this work.

Was it me, or did I detect a certain disappointment from within his own relationship? More likely it was that David Niven was far too much the perfect gentleman to mention such things.

If you are a fan of the olden days - the golden days of Hollywood, you will enjoy this book. If you simply want a damned good read, you will enjoy this book even more. Truth is, I cannot imagine anyone could not enjoy such an excellent product.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic insight to the Golden Age of Hollywood!, 16 Jan 2001
By 
Tony Pyle (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
The incomparable David Niven offers a series of vignettes of the famed stars of Hollywood, from Gary Cooper to Greta Garbo. Niven reveals what the famed actors, directors and producers really were - normal people (with a few interesting quirks, of course). It is a great companion to Niven's autobiography, "The Moon's a Balloon."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Biography, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an amazing life David Niven has had, and this audio cd of his book is truely magical.
We had the original version of this on a cassette when it was first released back in the 70's
and we loved it then. So glad we were able to find it again...We would certainly recommend
this to anyone who likes David Niven and has not heard it before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on the empty horses, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring on the Empty Horses (Hodder Great Reads) (Paperback)
This is as good as The Moons a Balloon, utterly fascinating and extremely funny, I find I can pick it up over and over again and still find it hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that started me off reading biographies, 27 April 2001
By A Customer
I could not have chosen a more colourful biog to start my interest in this type of book. I have never laughed out so loudly in any other book in the following 16 years. Obviously the stories were found to have been attributed to other movie stars after the book was published but, that aside, if only part of it was Niven then it is still worth anyone's time to read this fabulous insight to Hollywood in its heyday. He comes across with all the style, panache and feeling that we have become accustomed to in his long and distinguished career.
Read this and remember - not all books will be this good. Unless you count 'The Moon's a Baloon' of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great man, 16 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Bring on the Empty Horses (Hodder Great Reads) (Paperback)
Classy man with hilarious stories. Seems to have been friends with all of Hollywood and is decent enough to protect someone's identity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forrest Gump Does Hollywood?, 9 Mar 2011
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring on the Empty Horses (Hodder Great Reads) (Paperback)
I moved straight on to this from "The Moon's a Balloon", which I felt glossed over a lot of his Hollywood days. The good news is that this book gives a bit more detail about that major era in David's life.

It's basically a collection of shortish anecdotes and memories about many of the characters and aspects of Hollywood in the 30s to 50s, written in no particular order. He does seem to have led a fairly charmed life in relation to the high-profile friends he had, which seemed slightly at odds with my vague recollection of him being very much second tier at best. I don't mean that in a disrespectful way, as David always came across as a thoroughly decent chap and a great raconteur and is very much one of the good guys of the acting profession.

The main thing that struck me was that he seemed to be on very good terms indeed with some major players such as Bogart and Flynn, to the extent that I kept thinking back to Forrest Gump, where Forrest is seen present at many of the major events of the 60s, such as with JFK. Niven seems a bit like that in Hollywood. Reading around the subject, he does seem to have embellished the truth in certain areas, such as rather than sharing a house with Errol Flynn as he describes at length, he actually shared with the somewhat less alluring Robert Newton.

Those minor issues aside, it's a very entertaining read about the glory days of Hollywood and whets the appetite for reading more of the same.

By the way, for those who're interested and don't already know, apparently "Missy", who features significantly in the book, is actually Vivien Leigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring on the Empty Horses (Hodder Great Reads) (Paperback)
item as described and arrived on time. worked perfectly, very happy with purchase. no issues at all. highly recommended. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring on the Empty Horses (Hodder Great Reads) (Paperback)
I really like David Niven and found this book to be a good read and interesting, though still not as amazing as his first book which I truly loved and just made me respect him even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Hilarious., 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring on the Empty Horses (Hodder Great Reads) (Paperback)
I first read this book when it was first published and thought it was hilarious and brilliantly written. Maybe you have to be a certain age to remember the people David Niven is talking about, but it's still one of the best books I've ever read. It seemed even funnier this time around. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa92b8654)

This product

Bring on the Empty Horses (Hodder Great Reads)
Bring on the Empty Horses (Hodder Great Reads) by David Niven (Paperback - 5 Jun 2006)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews