Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CAMBRIDGE WHODUNIT
Meet Imogen Quy, College Nurse at St. Agatha's, who finds herself drawn into investigations into the strange death of a student in a locked library. Classic Agatha Christie you might think, although there's more of a nod here to Dorothy Sayers and - with its university background - just a touch of Morse,(a Cambridge backdrop substituting for Oxford's dreaming spires)...
Published on 17 Nov 2011 by Sou'Wester

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD STORY - BUT WHY THE BAD LANGUAGE?
Well written and well-plotted story, with an interesting and believable central character. Having read the author's work with Peter Wimsey, however, I was very disappointed to find so much bad language in this Imogen Quy story. I was also distracted by the fact that the university students are depicted more like nursery class children, with Imogen as their minder.
Published 16 months ago by Mystery Writer Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CAMBRIDGE WHODUNIT, 17 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wyndham Case (Imogen Quy Mystery 1) (Paperback)
Meet Imogen Quy, College Nurse at St. Agatha's, who finds herself drawn into investigations into the strange death of a student in a locked library. Classic Agatha Christie you might think, although there's more of a nod here to Dorothy Sayers and - with its university background - just a touch of Morse,(a Cambridge backdrop substituting for Oxford's dreaming spires). This is a reasonably diverting mystery, with neatly drawn though not particularly memorable characters and - of course - a picturesque setting. I'm not sure that the ending will take readers totally by surprise; without giving anything away, it is in part quite well signalled early in the book, although I won't pretend I'd worked out all the angles. There is the occasional jarring moment; for example Ms. Quy pays an impulse visit to a completely strange hairdressing salon and just happens to be dealt with by a stylist who is the victim's girlfriend. Mr Dickens might get away with far-fetched co-incidence, lesser writers do not! And being really picky, I would have thought a qualified nurse would not refer to the "St. John's Ambulance Brigade" but would use the correct title "St.John Ambulance Brigade". However, these are minor carps, and if you are looking for a reasonably literate but not over-demanding entertainment to wile away a winter's evening this may well fit the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dying for the sake of literature, 22 Sep 2001
By 
A traditional Cambridge college, the usual mix of class-conscious-rich and humble-working-class students, a college nurse. And an old and very outdated library of "scientific" books. Why shouldn't the body be found in the (locked) library? Well, thereby hangs a tale and a half, requiring sympathy and study to unravel. Historical detail is combined with a lively (and not always sympathetic!) description of gilded student youth, until Imogen Quy realises the story within a story and confronts killer and conspirators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good yarn and a cut above most, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wyndham Case (Hardcover)
a jolly good story, well written which does not patronise its reader - unlike a book I recently read where a character explains the meaning of the word esoteric, clearly the author thought her readership too dim to either know what it meant or too dumb to look it up! Not sure when it is supposed to be set as a student borrows her typewriter- most students wouldn't know what one looked like- but they have computers (?) that aside the story is good with nicely thrown red herrings. OK one or two wild coincidences but it is fiction! Enjoyable, readable will buy the next in series as soon as I finished writing this! -- kindle edition, no problems with Kindle layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable and kept my interest but the plot was slightly predictable. Read it in one session. Recommended as a novel to read when recovering from 'flu or as respite from marking exam papers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars my first imogen quy, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i read because i enjoy her lord peter wimsey add ons. She writes a good mystery yarn herself though. This was good i shall enjoy reading more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD STORY - BUT WHY THE BAD LANGUAGE?, 14 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and well-plotted story, with an interesting and believable central character. Having read the author's work with Peter Wimsey, however, I was very disappointed to find so much bad language in this Imogen Quy story. I was also distracted by the fact that the university students are depicted more like nursery class children, with Imogen as their minder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gentle mystery, nicely executed, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd read some of the other Imogen Quy books but never been able to find this one, so was delighted by the Kindle version.
It was good to finally read this and see where some of the references in the later books came from. It's gently intriguing and a restful read, rather than a gripping page-turner.
i guessed the hinge of the plot fairly early on (being a history graduate probably helped) and why the first victim was where he was, along with most of the method, but this didn't stop me enjoying this. i liked the writing style, which I felt matched the book well - something I think Jill Paton Walsh is good at. Her Peter Wimsey continuations show this too, where her style is sympathetic to Dorothy L Sayers but not just an imitation. Not sure I agree with those who call Imogen Quy the "female Morse", unless it's because of the university setting - this is more straight-forward fare.
Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The first and my favourite, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first of the Imogen Quy books and so people weren't quite so stereotyped as they later become. Easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I first encountered JPW through her continuation of Dorothy L ..., 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Wyndham Case (Imogen Quy Mystery 1) (Paperback)
I first encountered JPW through her continuation of Dorothy L Sayers' Lord Peter Wimsey series. The Imogen Quy mysteries are in a similar vein and thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Pleasant Read, 17 Dec 2013
By 
C. E. Utley "Charles Utley" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reassuringly, the first body turns up in the first chapter. Far too many writers of detective fiction now seem to think we have to read hundreds of pages before the crime is committed. Jill Paton Walsh, refreshingly, knows we want the crime early in the story.

The setting is delightful. And it is good to see Cambridge, rather than Oxford, as the scene of action.

I was surprised to see that this novel was first published as recently as 1993. The characters would probably be happier to be found a few decades earlier. But I did rather like the innocence of almost everyone (even if they did not ring true as late 20th century people).

The story is clever and fun. Most readers will work out why Philip was in the Wyndham Library long before the author wants us to, but that doesn't matter. Indeed, it is rather rewarding to discover one is right.

I am about to download the next in the series.

Charles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wyndham Case (Imogen Quy Mystery 1)
The Wyndham Case (Imogen Quy Mystery 1) by Jill Paton Walsh (Paperback - 21 Sep 2006)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews