Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traditional mystery with lots of local colour about Galloway, Scotland
The second in the DI Marjory Fleming series, like the first (Cold in the Earth), provides an authentic, detailed picture of rural life in Galloway, Scotland - against the background of a "classic" murder mystery. In a dramatic opening, the local three-person lifeboat sets out in a storm, but after the crew deal with the ship in distress and are returning home, the boat...
Published on 10 Nov. 2011 by Maxine Clarke

versus
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not very good at all.....
I don't like to rubbish writers' work but this really is one of the lamest books I've read in a long time. The author is clearly trying to introduce some psychological depth to her characters which is to be applauded but she's so bad at it - all her characters are shallow cliches: the pushy big-city cop, the social worker hungry for a child to admit to being abused (ok,...
Published on 9 Oct. 2007 by D. Saltiel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traditional mystery with lots of local colour about Galloway, Scotland, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
Maxine Clarke "Maxine of Petrona" (Kingston upon Thames, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkness and the Deep (DI Marjory Fleming) (Paperback)
The second in the DI Marjory Fleming series, like the first (Cold in the Earth), provides an authentic, detailed picture of rural life in Galloway, Scotland - against the background of a "classic" murder mystery. In a dramatic opening, the local three-person lifeboat sets out in a storm, but after the crew deal with the ship in distress and are returning home, the boat misses the harbour and sails onto some treacherous rocks, with devastating consequences. The main focus of the book is Marjory's investigation of the deaths, once it becomes apparent that the wreck was not an accident.

The small community is slowly coming to terms with the previous year's foot-and-mouth epidemic, affecting the usually no-nonsense Marjory both because her farmer husband, Bill, has to get his life and business back on track, and because in her role as a police officer who carried out the unpopular government policy, her teenage daughter Cat is being ostracised at school. These family dynamics are knitted into the plot, as well as those of Marjory and her police colleagues, not least concerning a new recruit who is, horror of horrors, English - and cocky with it. A final running theme is the presence of Laura, a major character in the previous novel but here limited to making contributions when Marjory needs them, rather than participating in events in her own right. Laura is a psychologist, so not only provides Marjory with some brief profiles of the possible perpetrator, but also helps mend relations between mother and rebel daughter.

I enjoyed this novel because it is well-constructed and provides an absorbing account of an isolated community and individuals within it, complete with spiteful gossips, drug dealers, handsome doctors and endless supplies of rock cakes. There is a hard-headedness that prevents the whole becoming twee, even though quite a few salient details are glossed over. In the end, the mystery is solved by solid police work, though there is a somewhat "rabbit out of the hat" element to it. If the police had made more use of technology in, for example, tracing car number plates or doing some elementary background checks on the internet, the "discrepancy" that Marjory notices on about page 350 of a 390-page book, which changes the focus of the investigation, might well have provided the crucial lead much earlier on. Nevertheless, this second Marjory Fleming novel is a pleasant read, particularly in the depictions in brief of its cast of characters, and with plenty of threads and elements to keep the reader looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine till the denouement, 12 Sept. 2011
By 
Dr. Peter G. Upton (Woolston, Southampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkness and the Deep (DI Marjory Fleming) (Paperback)
90% of this book is fine, probably the best of Ms Templeton's oeuvre. I am not a fan of the Rabbie Burns thread; I know he was a son of Galloway but Tam's quotes are really lame and don't ring true. The story gallops along nicely until a sudden improbable revelation and denouement, with some threads left hanging. The author is some way short of the top rank, and several of her stories are only available second hand; I got one for 1P (plus postage) which was a nice birthday present for the wife. The Galloway setting is nice; Kirkudbright should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lifeboat mystery, 22 Dec. 2012
By 
maggiefb (Famagusta, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm working my way through this series, having started with number 8: Evil for Evil. This book, number 2, like the rest of the series is set in rural Galloway. A lifeboat on a routine rescue mission is returning to harbour when it misses the bay and is wrecked on rocks. Although at first this is taken to be a tragic accident it soon becomes clear that sabotage has occurred - and a murder investigation is launched.
We are reintroduced to DI Marjory Fleming, DS Tam MacNee and other characters who first appear in 'Cold in the Earth.' We also meet the diverse inhabitants of Knockhaven, where the lifeboat station is, several of whom seem to have a motive for eliminating at least one of the lifeboat crew.
It seems possible that this case is related to problems with drugs which are also being investigated by the police. However, when 'the wrecker', as the perpetrator in this case has been named, was identified, I have to admit I was surprised!
We are updated on DI Fleming's family situation. Laura Harvey, the psychotherapist from 'Cold in the Earth' has moved to the area and now seems to be helping informally with Marge's cases and family problems - pity she doesn't seem to know the difference between anorexia nervosa and bulimia, but never mind.

I am now starting on book number 3: 'Lying Dead', as I'm keen to know what all the characters gt up to next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like to read books in order, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good stories, I like the continuity and the way the characters grow DI Marjory Fleming could be the person living next door. she is not a super hero but a very clever lady who does a good job. The stories also show just how difficult it is to juggle a job and family life and do not always make her out to be one of these women who CAN DO EVERYTHING. Enjoyed everyone so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Wigtonshire, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read Aline for the first time. Liked the style of delivery very much. The overall plot was good, not too fantastic and the description of the family life and work life merged very realistically
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very intriguing, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed ALL of the Di Marjory Fleming stories. You have been kept in the dark as to "who dunnit" till the end!!!

Good all round book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book. Kept me guessing. Characters are great. Super story line. My 3rd Ailen Templeton read and just about to begin my 4th!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I intend to work my way through the whole lot so what better recommendation can I give than that, 7 Mar. 2015
By 
M. Parker (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came across Aline Templeton's first book in the series by accident and a lucky one for me. I am now on her third book and have bought the fourth. I intend to work my way through the whole lot so what better recommendation can I give than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her best yet, 30 May 2006
By 
Sally Stewart (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is to my mind the best book that Aline Templeton has written to date. Her characterisation, especially of the female characters, is brilliant and the focus is on "who did it", rather than on the black details of death. "The Darkness and the Deep" shows she has mastered the genre and I cannot recommend it too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic story. Well written and absorbing. Cant wait to read another book written by this author. Will search anaconda for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Darkness and the Deep (DI Marjory Fleming)
The Darkness and the Deep (DI Marjory Fleming) by Aline Templeton Short A like Alice Line pronounced lean (Paperback - 8 Feb. 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews