Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 14 Sep 2008
By 
David Addison (Newcastle upon Tyne England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost Voices of the Royal Navy: Vivid Eyewitness Accounts of Life in the Royal Navy from 1914-1945 (Paperback)
This book details the experiences of ordinary men and women serving in the Royal Navy from 1914-45.I found it really interesting,as many accounts are told.The battle of Jutland,the disastrous Gallipoli affair.The harsh training one could expect.There's many stories from the inter-war years,that I knew nothing about.The Second World War experiences are excellently described.There are also many tales of heartbreak and tragedy.Its a shame a lot of our younger generation don't have the same spirit today.Every one who told their story here,deserves to be saluted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating insight, 24 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Lost Voices of the Royal Navy: Vivid Eyewitness Accounts of Life in the Royal Navy from 1914-1945 (Paperback)
As a scholar of Naval history, I have found this to be a fascinating and informative book. The voices are redolent with a sense of time and rich in pathos and the joy of life even in the most appalling conditions.
Some brave and candid accounts of incidents both great and inglorious. Some stories that are clearly straight from the heart and others that have clearly been rehearsed and reworked for dramatic effect by the teller.

A great addition to my bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Si vis pacem, para bellum, 29 Aug 2012
By 
A. R. Krantz (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Voices of the Royal Navy: Vivid Eyewitness Accounts of Life in the Royal Navy from 1914-1945 (Paperback)
A fascinating read about life in the RN in both the world wars and inbetween, this is a fantastically woven set of personal accounts from sailors.

What I liked about this book particularly was the slightly longer excerpts used per individual, allowing you to really connect and implant yourself into their story. All campaigns documented are engrossing to read, even the participation of the RN in the Russian Civil war (Bolshevik revolution, who knew??).

This book gives great detail on what life was like in the senior service in those terrible years with their own set of haunting and victorious events for the RN. It documents history in the best way I know, by the people present who lived those experiences.

If you want to find out about naval actions in the world wars, have a general interest in modern naval history or just want some haunting and hilarious historic personal accounts to read then this is the perfect book for landlubbers and sea-dogs alike!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Voices of the RN, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an Ex-RN Seaman this is one of the finest accounts of the Service I have ever read,the bravery of the RN and the bravery of the Royal Marines in their own words are staggering.
Once again you see how the ignorance of some Senior Commanding Officers refusing U-Boat protection can result in the loss of hundreds of lives and it can make you rage, but it's in the past now.
A truly great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best in the "lost voices" series to date., 28 Jan 2012
By 
J. Spennewyn "boxer lady" (cambridge, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost Voices of the Royal Navy: Vivid Eyewitness Accounts of Life in the Royal Navy from 1914-1945 (Paperback)
I've read & re-read alot of the lost voices series & books of a similar ilk, & simply know that upon reading the final page of this I shall start again on the first!
It's far more in depth than the paragraph here / page there of the other books, don't get me wrong it's not heavy going, but each character has a good few pages to tell of their individual story of battles, training or crossings.
It covers a greater span of history namely the run up to the first world war, through it, into the second world war & beyond, so scarpa flow, dunkirk, dieppe, the middle east & the falklands are all discussed from a ratings point of view & up the higher echelons of the naval service ranks.
Finally I understand alot more about the navy, & the importance even now of places such as the falklands which I previously & incorrectly thought of as a pointless colonial outpost!
Fabulous collection.
This is the way to learn history & appreciate the sacrifice of those who lived it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost Voices of the Royal Navy: Vivid Eyewitness Accounts of Life in the..., 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Voices of the Royal Navy: Vivid Eyewitness Accounts of Life in the Royal Navy from 1914-1945 (Paperback)
Very good record. Tells it like it was and is a very good record for those who enjoy anything to do with the Royal Navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit of an eye-opener, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Voices of the Royal Navy: Vivid Eyewitness Accounts of Life in the Royal Navy from 1914-1945 (Paperback)
An enjoyable read. I think we must have become a bit soft as a society - what some of these guys (and gals) put up with just wouldn't be tolerated today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great naval yarns, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great stuff. It just shows how these naval fellows had to work hard and the dangerous and at times boring lives they were living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pull up a Bollard, ordinary people with extraordinary stories., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After 33 years in the RN myself retired in 2004 the truth & authenticity of the voices in this book ring so true. The format means that it can be read & put down without losing a story. It covers all areas of the RN hardware, Ship/Shore/Weapons/machinery & Rank/Rates. When I joined there were still sailors from WWll and people from WWI even WWII were connected to the Victorian era. It is just a line streching back to King Alfred or Henry VIII.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Voices of the Royal Navy: Vivid Eyewitness Accounts of Life in the Royal Navy from 1914-1945 (Paperback)
The stories in this book are among the most gripping, fascinating and horrifying of any of the armed forces of the world wars. The sections on getting the SS Ohio into Malta are, frankly, astounding and eye-opening in their explanation of the intensity of combat that the Royal Navy faced.

The casualties sustained and the conditions in which the men lived and fought are brought to life by many self-effacing characters, who never considered themselves as heroes. This book and their stories, tell us that they most definitely were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews