Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somebody's Child
This book was bought for me by my birth mother who I made contact with 6 years ago at the age of 34. I've just bought it for my sister - also adopted. For anyone who has been adopted, especially someone who is a foundling, the book will be fascinating. The history of foundling hospitals from the mid 18th century to the present day is particularly interesting and not...
Published on 20 Feb 2006 by Stephen Allford

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nobody's Child
I was expecting the book to be more about Kate Adie's work and travels so was very disappointed that much of it was not even about her. My fault for not reading the reviews.
Published 4 months ago by JackieA


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somebody's Child, 20 Feb 2006
This review is from: Nobody's Child (Hardcover)
This book was bought for me by my birth mother who I made contact with 6 years ago at the age of 34. I've just bought it for my sister - also adopted. For anyone who has been adopted, especially someone who is a foundling, the book will be fascinating. The history of foundling hospitals from the mid 18th century to the present day is particularly interesting and not something that, to be honest, I was really aware of. For anyone who has been adopted, there will be many snippets that you will be able to relate to, which in my mind makes the book worth buying in itself. To know that you aren't alone in how you think or react is a crucial step in coming to terms with your past. Overall the book is well written, informative and sympathetic, in a non patronizing way, to the issues related to being adopted. I wonder if I should get a copy for ‘Mum and Dad’?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's your Mama's name, child?, 12 May 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nobody's Child (Hardcover)
First, a note to the reviewer who thought this was Kate's biography - it isn't - she wrote that before she wrote this and it's called The Kindness of Strangers : The Autobiography.

What is your name? What were your parent's names? When and where were you born? We get asked these questions throughout our lives. For most of us, including myself, these are easy questions to answer. For adopted children whose birth parents are known to the authorities (such as Kate Adie), they are a little trickier to answer, but there is another group of people who are unlikely ever to be able to answer these questions accurately. These people are called foundlings and they are the subject of this book.

I'd never come across the word foundling prior to reading this book, but it's easy to work out what it means. Just as a duckling is a baby duck, so a foundling is a baby found - after being abandoned by his or her parents. Even if we haven't seen any for ourselves, we've all heard on the news or read in the newspapers about babies abandoned on doorsteps or in telephone kiosks, taxis, rubbish skips, bushes and any number of other places. Occasionally, the baby's natural mother is identified but more often they aren't. Of course, this is not a new phenomenon, as everybody who even vaguely remembers the Old Testament knows about Moses. Yes, Moses was a foundling. The problem of abandoned babies in Western Europe and North America is nothing like it once was because of contraception, abortion and a reduction in poverty, but it still exists. Elsewhere in the world, the number of foundlings may actually be increasing.

Much of this book is devoted to looking back in time, particularly to the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, In those days, special institutions (called foundling hospitals but they certainly didn't merit the hospital tag) were set up to look after foundlings. The institutions were run in almost military fashion but the mortality rate was appalling. Any foundling who entered such an institution was lucky to come out alive. Boys who came in and survived the ordeal often ended up with a job in the army or navy, which was no surprise given the way they were raised. Girls were trained to be - guess what - domestic servants.

Entry to these institutions was often via a turning wheel that guaranteed anonymity for whoever deposited the baby. It seems from the description and picture that the turning wheel was a bit like a revolving door with the wheel as its base, except that it was at window height and was about the size of a window. So the mother could just arrive at the turning wheel, place the baby on the wheel and leave. Somebody inside would see (or hear) that a new baby had arrived and turn the wheel. At least in Europe, turning wheels have been consigned to history but their modern successors (baby hatches kept at a constant, warm temperature) can be found in Germany. Fortunately, they aren't used very often, but enough to justify their existence. Hey, it's better than dumping a baby in the bushes or on a doorstep.

With imperial expansion, foundling hospitals seized their opportunity to export children for a better life in other countries. American foundling hospitals on the well-established east coast states sent children westwards on inaccurately titled orphan trains. While orphans evoke sympathy because their parents can't be blamed for dying (unless they committed suicide), foundlings are regarded as the offspring of feckless parents, so any sympathy they get is more limited. Maybe a few orphans travelled on these trains but they were far outnumbered by the foundlings. Apart from all the bad history of foundlings in Britain and America, Kate tells us about religious bigotry in Ireland, attitudes to disabled people in Russia and attitudes to girls in China, all of which have affected the treatment of foundlings or made some types of babies more likely to be abandoned by their mothers than others.

In amongst all the historical stuff, Kate tells the stories of various British foundlings that she has met, some of which made huge headlines at the time of their discovery while others have achieved considerable success in life such as Fatima Whitbread the former javelin thrower and Andy McNab the former SAS soldier and now successful author.

The most notorious and strangest case concerns a baby girl, probably born in late 1936, found in a blackberry bush among the hills (the Sussex Downs) near Worthing in August 1937. Most unwanted babies are abandoned soon after their birth where they can easily be found, but this one was abandoned several months after her birth in a well-concealed, remote location, having clearly been well treated prior to her abandonment. She was only found because a family on holiday just happened to take a walk that brought them near enough to hear faint crying (only the mother heard it) in the distance, which was very loud when they got near. The baby, later adopted by a different couple, was still enjoying life as a grandmother in her late sixties when Kate Adie wrote this book. Despite the unusual circumstances and nationwide publicity at the time, the birth parents were never identified. If you do a Google search for Worthing baby 1937, you can read more about this story than I've said here, but less than you'll find in this book.

This is a fascinating book about an issue that I'd never really thought about before, but which aroused my curiosity. I'm glad that the worst horrors are consigned to history, at least in the developed world, but the problem isn't going to disappear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 April 2011
This review is from: Nobody's Child (Paperback)
I don't usually like this sort of book which can be a bit 'reality TV sob storyish' but Kate Adie's writing, always articulate but sensitively analytical, makes this an engaging and informative read. It certainly made me think in a completely different way about the importance of family and shared history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nobody's Child by Kate Adie., 16 April 2011
I have always had a high regard for Kate Adie's TV reporting and was not disappointed by this book.
It is very well researched,clearly set out, and therefore easy to read.
It will be enjoyed by the general reader and also the professional social worker.
Those who are the subject of the book will also find it helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and carefully researched, 27 Oct 2007
This review is from: Nobody's Child (Paperback)
Kate Adie's research into the personal stories of foundlings and adoptees is written with sensitivity and without sentimentality. She talks to people from all walks of life whose uncertain beginnings have left them with a tangled web of half resolved questions and emotions.

As well as looking at the experiences of individual foundlings (many of whom are well known), Adie looks at the issues, personal and practical, moral and cultural, for the mothers who abandoned their babies and across a number of countries and religions.

The book is very thought provoking, particularly as the problem of "unwanted" babies and what to do with them is with us today, all around the world, as much as it ever was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foundlings, 13 Dec 2009
By 
P. E. Vernon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nobody's Child (Hardcover)
Following a visit to the Foundling Museum in London, I found this very interesting as to the effects of being a foundling. Both books were in excellent order, one even signed by the authoress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into the plight of Foundlings, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody's Child (Paperback)
Fascinating and very moving insight into Foundlings. Only people of a certain age can appreciate the stigma attached to babies born out of wedlock. It must have been been a desperate situation for the mothers and painful for a child to discover they have been abandoned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an autobiography, 14 Jan 2009
This review is from: Nobody's Child (Paperback)
Thought this was going to be an autobiography based on the fact that Kate is adopted. Far from it. Her own life is possibly the basis for this book but is rarely mentioned. Interesting history of the Foundling movement in this country and elsewhere,and also gives horrifying details of the number of abandoned babies everywhere,past and present,and their fates.
I think it may be useful to an adopted person to know they are certainly not alone in their desire to 'know',and also gives some useful contacts.
I would say its not an easy read,but worth it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart wrenching true stories, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody's child (Kindle Edition)
This book is very well written & tells the stories of so many abandoned children. It also includes personal accounts of some individuals who have risen above their very difficult start in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody's child (Kindle Edition)
I have not finished it yet but so far it has been an unsentimental and powerful description of the particular problems of identity which adopted children face as they become adults. J
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nobody's Child
Nobody's Child by Kate Adie (Paperback - 5 Jun 2006)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews