Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Judge it on its own merits - it is not holy writ!
* Beware - this review contains spoilers * -

I underwent a bit of soul searching before I read this book, the first of Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson's two sequels to the original Dune Chronicles.

"Chapterhouse: Dune", the last of Frank Herbert's own 6 Dune novels does answer a lot of questions, but it was fairly clearly not meant to be the end to...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. D. Clark

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Hunters of Dune"
The Dune prequels by Brian Herbert and KJ Anderson are, unfortunately, bloated, bland, overblown and unbelievable. However they are fairly entertaining in their own right, and you can appreciate the bit of imagination that's gone into tying these books in with the original Dune series by Frank Herbert. They are acceptable - because they are decidedly separate from the...
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by David Brookes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tying up loose ends, 3 Aug 2006
This review is from: Hunters of Dune (Paperback)
The eagerly awaited 7th novel in the Dune series is nearly upon us. It is receiving mixed emotions from die-hard Dune fans. Some fear that Brain Herbert and Kevin J Anderson have taken it too far, however given the way in which Chapterhouse Dune ended there was clearly some unfinished business. Using Frank Herberts original ideas and rough outline, Kevin and Brian have fleshed out the concluding 2 chapters of this epic tale. Given all the speculation on the Dune fan forums, fans will now have an answer as to who Daniel and Marty are, as to who the Honoured Matres were running from, the extent of Duncan Idahos abilities and just who the Great Enemy is. This book may be dubbed as far-fetched by some fans but this is Dune we are talking about, you cant get more far-fetched than the universe that the great Frank Herbert created. Any continuation of his dream is more than welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some answers at last, 15 Sep 2006
By 
Ms. L. J. Haynes (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hunters of Dune (Paperback)
Just finished reading the book last weekend, took me 2 days, and in all honesty I couldn't put it down. It was good to have some answers to questions left from Chapterhouse Dune. Nothing will ever surpass the original Dune book, not even the subsequent books by Frank Herbert, but I really enjoyed this. I will definately be buying the last book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good, but still worth reading, 27 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunters of Dune (Paperback)
It would be too much to expect these books to match the genius of the original Dune books. That said, the plot feels as if it really does follow the outline that Frank had in mind, and the writing feels a bit like Frank on a bad day. An enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, 1 Dec 2006
This review is from: Hunters of Dune (Hardcover)
This is a very good book. It's an interesting read, and it answers some of the questions that have been plaguing Dune fans for decades. I did get the feeling that the authors ignored some of the groundwork that was set in Heretics and Chapterhouse, and I feel somewhat offended by the liberties that they took to "crowbar-in" some elements from their previous additions to the series (as well as conveniently thrown-in hints to prequels that are yet to be written).

But overall, it's a good read, and the closest we'll ever get to an official continuation of the Duniverse. I look forward to the sequel, which will be the long-awaited finale to the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where are these plot contradictions?, 15 Feb 2007
By 
Teresa Sinclair (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hunters of Dune (Paperback)
Given the bias i have to anything Dune related, i even have sand in my pants now, i must say that this book follows the tradition of being a real page turner.

I can't understand other reviewers talking about the massive collection of plot contradictions; they must not have read all the books in sequence.

Granted the book isn't as intricate, deep or complex as Frank's originals, but then emulating that genius is asking a bit much...

I`m looking forward to the other books, so they are guaranteed my money, but as with all things, i suggest you make up your own minds.

It may help to read all the other books first, in the new sequence, that way you get to follow logic as opposed to ranting on amazon :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and Brilliant, 20 May 2006
By 
Mr. D. W. Wallace "Lacros" (Farnham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anyone following the Dune series already available up to Chapterhouse Dune, then you really should consider this title. Brian Herbert and Kevin J Anderson have already published the first three chapters of this book on:

[...]

It is looking as thought Even Frank Herbert himself couldn't have done a better job. So to all fans of Dune i Simply say:

BUY THIS BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brian's not Frank - but its all good, 5 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. T. J. Harvey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hunters of Dune (Paperback)
Loved the Dune books, Frank was the undisputed master of his own slice of sci-fi and if you want more of that intense thrill then read the Dosadi books (often highly underrated). However the boys have done well, the preludes were great page turners, maybe not as challenging as Franks work but with their own style these volumes stand up well to the high quality sci-fi writing of the last few years, and it's in that style that the Dune saga continues.

I for one enjoyed this immensely, and cant wait for the final instalment of Dune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not read the reviews, 22 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Hunters of Dune (Paperback)
Yeah ... do not read the reviews.

I have read all 6 Frank Herbert's novels many times and I love them.

And then I read this book, written by his son. And ... I love it too.
I have to admit ... it is not Frank Herbert, it's different writting ... but it is a great writing. I couldn't stop reading this book, while I was on vacaion in Egypt ... and all I did there was just reading the book, instead of going for some trip to see pyramids and other stuff.

So just to summarize it ... this book is different, it is not so deep as far as describing characters (as Frank's books were) ... but on the other hand ... it is a great "action" book, that will keep you reading and reading and reading ... and I am sure, that if you consider this book as a 21st century sci-fi book, and not another "Frank Herbert's wanna be" book ... you'll love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has potential, 23 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. C. J. Thorpe "Lastaria" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunters of Dune (Paperback)
This review was written before the release of the novel and the rating reflects my expectations.

I think this could be a good novel. Reading the synopsis my eyes widened a little when it spoke of the characters which are to return, but then is this really such a big thing when thousands of Duncan Idaho's have already been cloned?

I know many criticise the sequels to Dune as not being on the same level as the Dune six Frank Herbert penned, and I too did not think they matched up to his master pieces. However I think the criticism is a little harsh. Their books are still a good read when taken in their own light and not compared to Frank's work. Stand alone these novels would still have many readers and fans.

And though I doubt this 7th novel will be as good as the novel Frank should have written had he not been taken from us so early. I still think using his notes it will make an excellent novel and finally conclude what so many have waited for for so many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic read, 26 April 2008
This review is from: Hunters of Dune (Paperback)
By book 7 Frank Herbert had lost the way slightly. His son has brought Dune back up to the original quality. A true great read,, well written in the original Frank Herbert style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hunters of Dune
Hunters of Dune by Kevin J Anderson (Paperback - 8 Mar 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews