Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth waiting for., 14 May 2005
By 
A. J. Watson "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quarterdeck (Thomas Kydd) (Paperback)
This fifth novel in the series marks a major change - both for Kydd and the reader - as Kydd is no longer part of the crew, but an officer, with the uniform to prove it. Thus we are now party to strategy and decisions that were previously denied us due to Kydd's lowly rank.
Both Kydd & Renzi have their promotion and Kydd determines to 'improve' himself, in keeping with his new status. Renzi attempts to educate him on the finer points of genteel breeding, but with little success in the limited time available before they ship out on Tenacious, 64, escorting a large merchant convoy to Nova Scotia.
Her hard-horse captain has little time for 'tarpaulin' officers, forcing Kydd to prove himself at every turn, as well as trying to gain acceptance by the gentry class of officers.
Not only that; his new position alienates him from the deck-hands, making him feel more alone than at any time previously - until a blast from the past remedies the situation in a most unexpected way.
The N. Atlantic weather provides action and tension aplenty in the form of storms, fog and ice, with the added interest of French privateers and the tense Anglo-American political situation.
There is action on land as Kydd tries to locate a long-lost relative and as he sabotages the Frogs as they lay up for repairs.
His lack of social graces makes him an ideal candidate for an advisor to the newly-formed American Navy, where he makes a crucial but potentially foolhardy decision, putting him in the political spotlight.
The spotlight again falls on him in the most prominent way, as his gaucheness leads him to make his biggest social gaffe (of which he is completely unaware) in the funniest last chapter I've read in a long, long time - worthy of Patrick O'Brian.
As usual, the impeccable research (detailed in the Author's Note) lends authority to Lt. Commander Stockwin's fluid literary style, making the pages turn so fast that I had to ration my intake to extend the pleasure of this most excellent read - and we get a taster of the next book in the series,'Tenacious'. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book in series, 2 May 2006
By 
Dr J (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quarterdeck (Thomas Kydd) (Paperback)
The fifth book in the Kydd series (see my reviews of _Kydd_, _Artemis_, Seaflower_, and Mutiny_)sees our protagonist promoted to lieutenant and shipped off to North America. It's obvious that Kydd does not fit in with the other officers in the Royal Navy with whom he must serve. He simply comes from a different social class. This is the central theme of the book. The episodes are not as exciting as in the previous books, but this book is pivotal to the growth of Kydd as an officer in the Royal Navy. He is loaned to an American ship as an observer/advisor, where he experiences first hand how people can rise in society based on their merits. When he is offered a position in the American navy, Kydd seriously considers it. This seems like a dream come true. What will he do? Does he stay loyal to king and country, or does he do what millions have done-go with the future and opportunity? This book is interesting in that the conflict he feels is what every potential emigrant must face. One can only imagine one's own ancestors wrestling with the same conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe on the High Seas, 28 July 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Quarterdeck (Thomas Kydd) (Paperback)
The fifth book in a long running series that just seems to get better and better the characters keep growning and flowing with their ever expanding plot lines and movement into the ever larger arena of their times, as they and their careers / fortunes grow so do the scale and power of the troubles they encounter gone is the innocence to the plot a new origionality pervades the whole story and leaves the reader with a shanty lilt to their speech and a roll to their gait.

This book is one of my personal fav's in the series, this is when Kydd gets his step, when he moves from one world to the next, its told so well and so powerfully you can just feel all the uncomfortable moments, all the resentment and all the enthusiasm of the various players in the story.

Having read the rest of the series and read the rest of the reviews i can tell others that Julian did learn and progress the characters even further, and when that was coupled with his obvious passion for the sea and all things nautical, you end up with a series that does rank up there with Forrester and O'Brian, every year i look forward to my new instalment of Kydd...but to get there you have to start at the beginning.

Well recommended

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I cant fault any of Julian Stockwin books. This ..., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cant fault any of Julian Stockwin books . This is the second time of reading them I never tire of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars QUARTERDECK., 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first Julian Stockwin novel I have read and I was delighted by the depth of knowledge he displayed about all elements of shipboard life, historical detail and the general "Feel" of the book. I shall certainly be buying more of his excellent and exciting books!!!
MJGW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quarterdeck, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is of the highest standard which I expect of Julian well written and true to date. Well done and thank you Julia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a mariner who has come myself through the hawspipe and now Captain believe the author is spot on with his research and portrayal of an officer such as Thomas Kidd.
Even today I find that some look down their noses at my route to Captain. So enjoy this excellent book .I can not wait to get stuck into the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars julian stockwin carries on with this superb saga, 14 Dec 2013
By 
T. Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quarterdeck (Thomas Kydd) (Paperback)
not having read this author for a while,it was amazing how I soon picked the story up,a very good author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars They could be quite good books rather than classic pulp fiction, 26 Nov 2013
By 
J. Anckorn "Ferg" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quarterdeck slips neatly into the mold crafted by Mr Stockwin with a jerky, clumsy, yet compelling storyline set within a highly detailed and richly coloured Napoleanic era British naval backdrop. It is another satisfying page-turner but you can't help wishing (yet again) that Stockwin would have some patience with his plots...........there is actually a very interesting storyline about the hero grappling with his rise into the officer class and all that entails in an England of 300 years ago.........that Stockwin chooses to bring to a hasty conclusion by a most unbelievable artifice. This is very typical. Pity. They could be quite good books rather than classic pulp fiction, in my own humble opinion. But I am still going to read the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Kydd, 15 Sep 2013
By 
A. Ward "Tony Cussler Fan" (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quarterdeck (Thomas Kydd) (Paperback)
Excellent Reading you feel from the words that you are experiencing the actual ups and downs and the Blood Sweat and Tears from the Sailors and the Officers. It also explains the Difficulties of coming thru the Ranks.
You are able to put the book down and when you pick it up again the thread is still there to carry on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quarterdeck (Thomas Kydd)
Quarterdeck (Thomas Kydd) by Julian Stockwin (Paperback - 28 Mar 2005)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews