Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Ordinary Man!
This is an astounding collection of Christy's favourite songs, 500 in total, and the stories that go with them, how they sustained and carried him around the world. From the dizzy heights of the Palace cinema in Newbridge, Co. Kildare to the lonely citadel of Carnegie Hall in New York, Christy has performed these songs 5,000 times, each time like the first, never to sing...
Published on 22 Jan 2004 by Jenni Doherty

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring.
I was so disappointed with this. I love Christy Moore and the few times I've heard him being interviewed found him witty, well informed, pleasant etc. I was really hoping that he'd explain how he'd come to write his songs and tell us more of his life. This book felt like he'd been forced to write it...I had to force myself to finish it. Such a shame. I'll still be buying...
Published 12 months ago by Tia Janey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Ordinary Man!, 22 Jan 2004
By 
Jenni Doherty (Derry, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This is an astounding collection of Christy's favourite songs, 500 in total, and the stories that go with them, how they sustained and carried him around the world. From the dizzy heights of the Palace cinema in Newbridge, Co. Kildare to the lonely citadel of Carnegie Hall in New York, Christy has performed these songs 5,000 times, each time like the first, never to sing the last. This is an autobiography which dispenses with a traditional life-narrative in favour of an approach that's far more innovative and revealing. It is also one of the few music books you'll read in which the subject eloquently communicates their love of music and illustrates just what it has meant throughout their life. There are some very revealing stories behind the words and music of particular songs and writers. A lot of his material was by unknown authors that he then recreated into his own unique renditions. Included are well-know and much-loved songs from the talents of Bob Dylan, Shane McGowan, Bobby Sands, Woody Guthrie, Pierce Turner, Jimmy Page and Joe Dolan to mention a few.
There are also quite a few references to Derry and the people Christy met and some of the experiences he had during the troubles at the time. His stories are intimate, honest, absorbing and occasionally disturbing and harrowing. He shares the ups and downs of his music career, his personal battles and his family life. His raw energy shines through and his strength and honest outlook are hard to ignore. Christy found that through this 'labour of love' he was able to write about his life through writing about the songs themselves. They are the real words and memories of much more than "An Ordinary Man" who has been on the circuit for nearly four decades. His message to all is "let the music keep your spirits high." Genuine, sincere and full of spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Ordinary Man!, 4 Feb 2004
By 
Jenni Doherty (Derry, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Voice: My Life in Song (Paperback)
This is an astounding collection of Christy's favourite songs, 500 in total, and the stories that go with them, how they sustained and carried him around the world. From the dizzy heights of the Palace cinema in Newbridge, Co. Kildare to the lonely citadel of Carnegie Hall in New York, Christy has performed these songs 5,000 times, each time like the first, never to sing the last. This is an autobiography which dispenses with a traditional life-narrative in favour of an approach that's far more innovative and revealing. It is also one of the few music books you'll read in which the subject eloquently communicates their love of music and illustrates just what it has meant throughout their life. There are some very revealing stories behind the words and music of particular songs and writers. A lot of his material was by unknown authors that he then recreated into his own unique renditions. Included are well-know and much-loved songs from the talents of Bob Dylan, Shane McGowan, Bobby Sands, Woody Guthrie, Pierce Turner, Jimmy Page and Joe Dolan to mention a few.
There are also quite a few references to Derry and the people Christy met and some of the experiences he had during the troubles at the time. His stories are intimate, honest, absorbing and occasionally disturbing and harrowing. He shares the ups and downs of his music career, his personal battles and his family life. His raw energy shines through and his strength and honest outlook are hard to ignore. Christy found that through this 'labour of love' he was able to write about his life through writing about the songs themselves. They are the real words and memories of much more than "An Ordinary Man" who has been on the circuit for nearly four decades. His message to all is "let the music keep your spirits high." Genuine, sincere and full of spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest, rambling and emotional read, 2 Jun 2001
By 
po'luanaigh@brookes.ac.uk (Oxford - UK via Newbridge) - See all my reviews
Chrsity has written a book that evokes the same emotions as his music. As book you can easily dip in and out of ... skipping bits and coming back later .. just like real life his 'life story' windes and moves along, hghlighted by stories, songs, pictures and emotion.
Well done Christy - Up Moorefield !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is an absolute must read for fans., 21 Oct 2000
By 
I have been a great fan for many years however even I was delighted with the format which this book has taken. Trust Christy to not go down the usual root of a bog (!) standard biography. It was wonderful to find the lyrics to old favourites and to rarer material next to details of Christy's life. Perhaps to those who are more obsessed with the great man not enough gory detail was supplied. However as someone who feels that the music speaks for the man this to me was a fantastic enlightening and loveable way of exposing just as much as I needed and wanted to know. To all those of us suffering from a Christy in the flesh drought, I would thoroughly recommend this tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Jan 2001
By A Customer
If you know Christy Moore you will love this book, if you dont you will love it even more. The style in which the book is written (Song Lyrics beside naritive ) makes it a joy to bick up and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christy Moore, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice: My Life in Song (Paperback)
This was bought as a present for a fan of christy Moore. He found it very informative and enjoyed reading all the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring., 21 Aug 2013
By 
Tia Janey (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was so disappointed with this. I love Christy Moore and the few times I've heard him being interviewed found him witty, well informed, pleasant etc. I was really hoping that he'd explain how he'd come to write his songs and tell us more of his life. This book felt like he'd been forced to write it...I had to force myself to finish it. Such a shame. I'll still be buying his music though as it is incredible and thought provoking. A brilliant song writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well informed book, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice: My Life in Song (Paperback)
enjoying the book, just as good as listening to the cd's and seeing him in concert it was an added bonus to see him in print
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars C Moore One Voice review, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice: My Life in Song (Paperback)
This is a book with the lyrics of most pre millenium songs sung by Christy Moore with each song having an accompanying anecdote. This book is warts and all that describes his various adventures/misadventures including his battles with drugs and workaholism. This is a must read for all Christy Moore fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 April 2001
By A Customer
This book combines lyrics from many songs with stories that can make you think, laugh and cry in turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Voice: My Life in Song
One Voice: My Life in Song by Christy Moore (Paperback - 1 Oct 2003)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews