Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best raid ever!
I have always enjoyed Ray Mears TV programmes so I thought that this book would reflect Mr Mears easy going personal style and passion for survival in extreme physical conditions....I was not to be disappointed. This was a well written book from beginning to end...exceedingly enjoyable.

This is an amazing true story about one of if not thee most important...
Published on 17 Feb 2007 by David I. Howells

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ski On
Ray Mears is justly famous for his expertise in survival and associated themes such as trekking and wildlife. His TV programmes are sold worldwide and (despite never having been on a major expedition nor served in the Special Forces of any army) he runs his own survival school. He has been imitated, though never surpasssed, by others, such as the (for me) tries-too-hard...
Published on 9 Feb 2010 by Ian Millard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best raid ever!, 17 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always enjoyed Ray Mears TV programmes so I thought that this book would reflect Mr Mears easy going personal style and passion for survival in extreme physical conditions....I was not to be disappointed. This was a well written book from beginning to end...exceedingly enjoyable.

This is an amazing true story about one of if not thee most important covert military operation in WW2. The destruction of a heavy water plant in Norway becomes critical in the 'Nazi v Allies' race to develop a nuclear weapon during the war. Having limited options available to them and after a failed glider commando attempt the allies decided to send in a team of saboteurs to carry out an extremely perilous sabotage operation.

The fact that the team of Norwegian SOE trained agents parachuted in and carried out this task under the Germans noses without even losing a single man is only part of this amazing story. The epic escapes by the team, the pre & post operational hardships encountered by the team in an arctic environment and the subsequent sinking of a ferry a few months after the operation containing another shipment of heavy water is the other half of this narrative. Each operational phase is embedded with quite incredulous mini-stories reflecting the courage, daring and fortitude of the men involved.

A common thread that weaves through the exciting web of this book is the courage and daring of not only the raiding group but that of the Norwegian populous. That these actions were carried out by humble, modest but highly motivated patriotic Norwegians makes this book a compelling read. If you are Norwegian and you read this book you should stand in awe of your countrymen's achievements and contribution to the eventual allied victory in Europe. This book is a great advert for Norway and its people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Hollywood rip-off corrected . . ., 10 April 2007
By 
Nathan M. Bilton (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A really interesting and inspiring read. It covers the real events that were the inspiration behind the film `The Heroes of Telemark'. This was the sabotage mission carried out on a power station in the Telemark region of Norway. It was carried out by patriotic and heroic Norwegians, who risked their lives and showed immense skill and outdoormanship. However, as with most things Hollywood gets their hands on, the story had to be `sexed up' for the big screen.

The only criticism I have from the book is that it seems to have an element missing that must have been in the BBC television series. From what I understand from the pictures in the book, Ray Mears must have attempted some of the feats carried out by Operations Grouse and Gunnerside. However, this is not commented upon in the book, which only focuses on the history and narrative story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting story of true courage, 28 July 2008
By 
Having always regarded Ray Mears as an overgrown boy scout I started to read the book with some apprehension (why did his chubby face have to feature on the cover?) However after the first few lines I was hooked on the story of these true heroes. Mears gives a superb, detailed account of the build-up and action in destroying the heavy water stocks held by the Nazis at Rjukan. The account of the second, possibly more important operation, to destroy the ship that would transport the replenished Heavy Water stock to Germany seemed a little rushed and not so detailed, but I guess he was limited to the size of the paperback. In my opinion a book not to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heros of Telemark indeed, 5 Dec 2010
By 
D. Bennett "Traumadoc" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This true story is indeed a TRUE STORY. I am pleased to say having met Joachim Ronneberg personally and heard him speaking of this operation, Ray Mears account is the most factual. Joachim explained all the difficulties that the team encountered, and never forgetting the many deaths from the British Glider Pilots who were meant to assist them, yet perished when they crashed, and the survivors killed by the Germans. The explanation of this most heroic operation is explained in detail, the dangers, the survival in most horrendous situations, more importantly the success of the whole operation with not one loss of life of the team who sabotaged the Heavy water Plant. Joachim and a few members of the team still survive. Joachim himself the team leader is now 93 years of age. We have so much to thank these men for, had they not succeeded on this operation then without doubt the Germans would have unleashed the Atomic Bomb on the UK and maybe another result to WWII would have ensued. Thank God for very brave men like these, and all others who fought to keep our freedoms, let us NEVER forget the sacrifices these men and women paid for Peace in the world. One day true accounts like these will nudge all to realise Peace only comes from respect for one another. A highly recommended DVD and very accurate account of a true incident. Rev. David Bennett (Chaplain)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling real story, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written story, setting right the misinterpretations of the fil version. Over-rates somewhat the real capacity of nazi Germany to produce an atom bomb, but otherwise a very interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 29 Jan 2014
By 
N (Alford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit I thought I was buying the DVD, but the book arrived instead. By along way the book is the best way to discover this remarkable true story. This is a difficult book to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story of outdoor survival in a real war, 15 Jan 2014
By 
R. Iain F. Brown (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well-told story of a daring and successful operation across some of th most difficult territory in the world in appalliing winter conditions. It keeps you engaged throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real hard to put down book, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing true story Norway has real war heroes to be so proud to call their own sons wives and own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A story of true hero's, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent account of a True daring mission, that destroyed the German plan's to create the atomic bomb.
It tells the story of individual courage and determination to carry out a successful raid under extreme conditions.
The impact of this achievement cannot be underestimated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible story, 9 Oct 2013
An incredible true story of bravery and endurance by several young Norwegian men with extraordinary survival skills - operating in extreme conditions in the Hardangervidda - one of the most inhospitable areas in the world, during Nazi occupation of Norway in the early 1940's. Their heroic efforts resulted in a successful mission to destroy critical material required to develop an atomic bomb which Hitler wanted to destroy London - and was instrumental in determining the result of World War II. Definitely recommended reading for anyone who values freedom in their home country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews