Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reveals a nice guy and true Red., 7 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nobby Stiles: After the Ball - My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Great overview of a career that went to the very top of the game. No sentimentality & lots of straight talking about football. Insights into Old Trafford colleagues past and present from a source of genuine authority - himself. Nobby is a throwback to a period of (rough) innocence where what you gave counted more than what you got, something Nobby may well regret. The man emerges as a working class hero and sound bloke. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and funny, 2 Jan 2005
By 
s wheeler (newmarket, suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nobby Stiles: After the Ball - My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Nobby's autobiography is a gem of a story. From his early days in Collyhurst, playing for the school side, through to the last days of his career with Middlesborough, this, not always affectionate look at his footballing life is engrossing. It's quite a shock to read how low, the man who danced around the Wembley pitch, actually sank in his later life. The fact that he came so close to actually taking his own life was a harrowing but ultimately liberating experience.
The book, of course, contains much of Nobby's experience with Man Utd and England. His vivid recollections of the aftermath of Munich, and the way it affected him, particularly the loss of his idol 'Eddie Coleman', are poignant and sad, but also tinged with barely concealed bitterness. Ultimately, if you want a book that is full of back slapping and recollections of the days when it never rained, then you are best looking elsewhere. 'After the ball', is a frank, honest, sad and funny account of a true footballing legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobby Tells it like it is., 21 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. A. Craddock "T.C." (Middleton Manchester u.k.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As A Manchester City Fan who was around for Nobbys career it is quite strange to review a Manchester United player. However, I did prefer the old school when lads like Nobby were working class and not the overpaid arrogant types we witness today. The book was somewhat eventful as you would expect but it is also honest and who could forget that eventful day in 1966 when he danced around wembley. I also, have a soft spot for Nobby because he was a local lad and not least because he once helped City to a draw with a timely own goal in the Manchester derby of 1966-67. Any true football fan should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD AND HONEST AUTOBIOGRAPHY, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: Nobby Stiles: After the Ball - My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Norbert[Nobby to everyone]Stiles is a hero to anyone who watched the 1966 World Cup, when England beat West Germany to win the World Cup for the first, and at the moment the only time in the history of football. The book is honest and forthright, and as Nobby often points out shows the great strides, though not always that England has made in professional football. Nobby writes interestingly about the hide bound attitude that exists in the powers that govern football, which seems to be illustrated by the latest debacle in Israel with the Under 21's and their manager Stuart Pearce. Nobby comes across, perhaps surprisingly as an emotional , and very strong family man. The book covers in detail his youth and rise to those heady days o July 1966,and then after his release from Manchester United there is less detail about his football exploits, and more about Nobby Stiles the man.
For those who know nothing about Nobby Stiles it is worth reading to look at the changes, and appreciate all that has been achieved in the world of football since the 1960's, and for those that do remember him just a glorious trip down memory lane to revive long-forgotten insights into the game of football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real red talent, 28 Feb 2013
By 
S. J. Hall "onesh" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobby Stiles: After the Ball - My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Nobby's personal account of the World cup win and the European cup win mix well with life as a footballer in the 60's and the sad times after he retired from playing.

A very personal book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nobby Stiles After The Ball, 4 July 2010
This review is from: Nobby Stiles: After the Ball - My Autobiography (Hardcover)
This book was a gift to my husband on our Anniversary. He says it is a really good read and he has enjoyed it very much. He has been a Manchester United fan since his childhood, having been raised on the outskirts of Manchester. He follows "The Game" avidly,being disabled it is mainly now through watching T.V. and by reading, especially about footballers` lives, so he found the Nobby Stiles Autobiography very informative and interesting. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Jan 2006
By 
Richard Preston (Wiltshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a truely informative book, you share the ups and downs of Nobby's life. His stories of personalities he played with are funny and at times sad. But you understand that the bubbling personality you saw doing a jig in 1966, truely is that likeable person in real life.
Well written could not put it down, if you have not read a footballers autobiography before read this one first as a benchmark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nobby Stiles: After the Ball - My Autobiography
Nobby Stiles: After the Ball - My Autobiography by Nobby Stiles (Hardcover - 18 Aug 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews