Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2013
Elizabeth George has not disappointed with this book. I would recommend it to any Elizabeth George fans. It is a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Elizabeth George lives up to her usual high standard of writing; as with all her books, this is a thoughtful novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Elizabeth Gearge is a great crime writer, didn't think this was one of her best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
George has come in for a lot of stick with this book, a lot of criticism for its final "twist" (just go to the US amazon site, or her web forum). Trouble is, it isn't valid criticism, not proper evaluative comment. It's just emotion-fuelled vitriol that has no real value whatsoever as critical appraisal. Discarding it, almost every other proper reaction has been wholly positive, and the concensus opinion seems to be that this is George's best book in years.
Do I agree? Well, no. I don't think it's George's best book in years (A Traitor To Memory is her absolute mega-masterpiece, but most fans entirely disagree with. There we go) but I do think that most fans will think it is, and will love it. It doesn't concentrate on Simon and Deborah St James (a la A Place of Hiding), isn't and long and invovled portrait of one character (as A Traitor To Memory was), and it returns to what fans love: Lynley and Havers, who, having featured little in the past two books, are back right at the front tackling a serial killer who preys on young boys. It's the first time George has turned her hand to the serial killer; she doesn't do anything we haven't seen before, and doesnt do it better than anyone else, but that doesn't mean it isn't a very worthwhile read. She's just as good at anyone else at writing on this theme, it seems. Besides, that isn't really what fans want anyway: what they want is the procedural detail (present here in spades), and George's excellent portrait of all her characters engaging personal lives (present here in truckloads). As a novel of the police, it will satisfy every fan of her mysteries, and as another entry in the lives of her characters, it will satisfy also. Hugely.
I enjoyed it all very much. I never know why I do enjoy George's books so: she's a [sometimes remarkably] verbose writer, and every book of her past 6 at least has been overlong by at least 150 pages, maybe even 200. They're just so exhaustively long. But nonetheless I enjoy them, and don't mind that they're always too long. That may be part of the attraction, and why readers find themselves drawn to her characters os much: you knowingly enter the book for the long haul, willingly accepting the company of the characters for over 500 hardback pages. Smallish print, too.
If you're a fan, you should really like this. (If you're sensible enough not to be sent into paroxysms of irrational invective by the cathartic end.) I don't personally think its quite her best (do lynley and Havers tackling a serial killer really FIT? does it seem quite...right?), but there's no doubt that With No One As Witness is a good crime novel, with a full cast of character, and is, in terms of the series' recurring players, very, very powerful indeed.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
This kept me glued to the story. Very strong story. I recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Another great who dunnit keeps you guessing till the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Fabulous
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
An excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
I enjoyed this book but not as much as others in this series. It started out very slow and at times is quite long winded. Took till half way to finally get well into the storey. So hard work at first and you need to stay with it until good story comes out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.