Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellently crafted and definitive work.
On the cover of my copy of this book is a head and shoulders photograph of Scott which, almost eerily, reminds me of a similar study of author Ranulph Fiennes from another work. These two men have more in common than just the South Pole.

Over the years, Scott has come in for considerable criticism particularly by those who have no understanding of the subject...
Published on 21 July 2009 by Ned Middleton

versus
12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An alternative view to other biogs
I have read various books on Scott, most notably Roland Huntford's biography of Scott and Amudsen. After these accounts I have always left with the impression that Scott bumbled through the race to pole. that he was arrogant, ignorant, idealistic and naive. Well after reading Fiennes book I am unsure what to think.

Ranulaph Fiennes writes a good book and...
Published on 15 Sep 2007 by Rufus


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Human Side Of Scott, 29 Nov 2003
This review is from: Captain Scott (Hardcover)
RF has done a fine job in sketching Scott's forays into the Antarctic regions, and attempting to detail his motivation and attitude. I think he perhaps swings the balance too far in attempting to restore Scott's reputation, but he does a good job of rubbishing the people who have attacked Scott for their own advancement. Most people who read the book will perhaps realise that the reality probably lives somewhere in the middle ground.
As a descriptive narrative and straightforward good read, the book is magnificent. It's one of these titles that leaves a sense of annoyance when you realise it's nearing the end! I'm going to leave it on the shelf for a few months & then read it again. Excelllent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENGROSSING, 24 Jan 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Krythia Howard" (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Captain Scott (Paperback)
I read this after watching the TV programme reconstructing the race for the pole and found it filled in a lot of gaps and corrected many falsehoods, and would unreservedly recommend it as a fascinating account of the expeditions themselves. However, I think Ranulph Fiennes, although enlightening, is a little Scott biased and once or twice got annoyed with him using the same argument to defend Scott that he used to denigrate Amundsen or any of Scott's critics. If you can put that to one side, you will thoroughly enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ranulph rates it!, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Scott (Paperback)
After a time when bashing role models was in vogue, it's great to read someone who knows what a role model should be. The question is, which is the best, really, Scott or Fiennes? Read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Scott., 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Scott (Paperback)
Oh! What an education. Explorers of today don't know they are born. The book is so graphic you can almost picture yourself there although it is hard to imagine not having the modern technology. Ranulph Fiennes himself is a wonderful man and has first hand experience of the hardships faced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new viewpoint, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Scott (Kindle Edition)
First class in every respect. Such a good account of what really happened. I found it fascinating reading and would recommend it to anyone interested in those tragic events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Scott, 13 April 2013
This review is from: Captain Scott (Paperback)
Ranulph Fiennes has produced a superb biography which has done much to right the terrible wrongs wrought by the Lithuanian-South African, Roland Huntford (formerly Horwitch). Whether Huntford's motivations were a cultural revenge (both South Africa and Lithuania claim to have been sold short by the British Empire) or whether it was simply for profit, there is no doubting the intellectual bankruptcy of Huntford's work. Scott's endeavours are faithfully and comprehensively revealed by Fiennes. I am both a QC and a serving Judge and having weighed up the relative merits of Huntford and Fiennes, I must confess to a sense of embarrassment that I was at first taken in by the plausible Huntford. Happily Fiennes's immensely superior history has put me right.
Fiennes is to be congratulated on this book. It is a more important achievement than Fiennes' many explorations; it has restored the laurels to the wickedly libelled Scott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Scott (Paperback)
My husband is a great fan of Captain Scott. I had heard Sir Ranulph Fiennes talking about this book on TV and decided to buy it for my husband. He really enjoyed this version of Captain Scott's story, as told by a fellow adventurer. He said he'd recommend it to all Captain Scott/Sir Ranulph Fiennes fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Scott (Paperback)
great book joy to read can get a little deep but well worth reading through bits enjoyed it and have bought a couple of others by ranulph fiennes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Scott (Paperback)
I have read many books on Antarctic expeditions and their characters. Shackleton, Ross, Crean, Oates etc.. This one is well worth a read if only for the work by the author to recreate the route and effort that Scott and his team undertook from the Ice Shelf up Beardsmore Glacier and back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read - do not miss this, 30 Nov 2012
By 
FreddieBoy (Home Computer) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Scott (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating read. A great human story of courage against what were eventually unsurmountable odds.

Ranulph's knowledge of the terrain and polar exploration generally gives valuable insight into the lives that these heroes lived for many many months....nay, years.

Do not miss this book - it really is tremendous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain Scott
Captain Scott by Ranulph Fiennes (Paperback - 24 May 2004)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews