Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight of a great man
I was prompted to buy this book after reading 'Endeavour' by Peter Aughton ... which painted a completely different picture of Cook to what I imagined. After reading 'Captain James Cook' I now realise how the misconception arose - on his last and most famous voyage, he presents a Mr.Hyde personality, completely out of keeping with his previous Dr.Jekyll style of running...
Published on 19 Nov. 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars was so poor, the book was damaged on one side
THe book arrived only , instead of the 4th , the 6th february and the carriage plastic bag , was so poor , the book was damaged on one side ..
The two stars is only for the poor quality of the book carriage bag.
Published 2 months ago by Ferreira Pinto


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight of a great man, 19 Nov. 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Captain James Cook (Paperback)
I was prompted to buy this book after reading 'Endeavour' by Peter Aughton ... which painted a completely different picture of Cook to what I imagined. After reading 'Captain James Cook' I now realise how the misconception arose - on his last and most famous voyage, he presents a Mr.Hyde personality, completely out of keeping with his previous Dr.Jekyll style of running his ship and dealing with the natives he meets - little wonder the Hawaiians took revenge (in the worst possible way). Interesting too, is the side-study of Bligh, who was already showing signs of despotism and seems to have fostered Cook's decline into cruelty, autocratic rule over his crew and excessively harsh treatment of the natives.
The author poses the possibility that a medical condition precipitated this sudden change of character, but it may also have been early senility, Altzheimer's or dementia brought on by stress - who knows?
The book is full of interesting clips from various people's logs, which show other views of life under Cook's leadership. The main thrust of the book is not that Cook was in the right place at the right time, but that he made such a consummate job of ensuring that the surveys were carried out in a methodical manner, with a healthy crew and sound ship. After all, it was HIS decision on what type of ship to use, what food to keep the crew healthy, how to deal with the natives and his diplomacy that ensured that the first 2 voyages were such a resounding success.
All this is in sharp contrast to the last voyage, where he allowed the shipyard to take liberties with the refitting of his ships, the lack of diplomacy, his cruelty to the natives and his lack of patience with his crew. This only serves to reinforce what an extraordinary leader he had been.
A splendid read which has furthered my interest in history and exploration - more like this please! *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best account of Cook's Voyages, 17 Nov. 2004
By 
Simon McMahon "Film Buff" (Chelmsford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain James Cook (Paperback)
Having read several account of the voyages Captain James Cook, I can without hesitation state that this is by far the superior of a generally excellent crop. The late Richard Hough ably captures the spirit of the age of exploration as well as producing a brilliant account of this exceptional man.
Hough also manages to hook the reader with the details of his major voyages of discovery. Not only are the pitfalls of sailing the pacific with a crew of less than perfect men discussed but also various incidents involving those joining himn on the voyage, botanists and artists among them Joseph Banks.
Unlike some of the drier biographies of Cook this reads more like a novel, yet still manages to remain true to the original sources, without the need felt by some to make sweeping gestures based on little evidence.
Where Hough really excels though is in getting across the spirit of excitement that must have been felt by both Cook and his men during these voyages. Whether it was meeting new groups among the islands or fighting off a group of Maori warriors the reader feels close to the action, and this is rare in such a well researched book. And Cook's death is handled superbly well, and by the end of the brutal attack I was left feeling emotional, another rarity in a historical biography.
I am planning to reread this book and would recommend it to anyone with even a passing interest in exploration. Even if generally you find history off putting this is one book I believe anyone can read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking good read grommit, 15 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. Victor B. Hughes (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Cook (Hardcover)
At times the author appears to include far more detail about other people than the captain - then you realise - the captain was a modest and focused guy - and enabled the great achievements of others without the need for great aclaim, hence the reliance on the texts of others. This is a cracking good "Boys-Own" ripping yarn - except - it isn't - it's the actual life story of a real person. What an extraordinary person and well captured by the author. Hough keeps the story going, it flows, hard to put the book down. But Mr Hough- you had a good subject to go at. Having traced the routes of Cook, the author has been able to add real atmosphere to the locations. Hough's lead up to the final moments of Cook's life really builds to a massive pathos - the only time I had to put the book down for a while, for reflection - so sad. Well done Mr Hough, I needed to know about Cook and you certainly helped me do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight of a great man, 16 May 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Captain James Cook (Paperback)
I was prompted to buy this book after reading 'Endeavour' by Peter Aughton (available from amazon.co.uk) which painted a completely different picture of Cook to what I imagined. After reading 'Captain James Cook' I now realise how the misconception arose - on his last and most famous voyage, he presents a Mr.Hyde personality, completely out of keeping with his previous Dr.Jekyll style of running his ship and dealing with the natives he meets - little wonder the Hawaiians took revenge (in the worst possible way). Interesting too, is the side-study of Bligh, who was already showing signs of despotism and seems to have fostered Cook's decline into cruelty, autocratic rule over his crew and excessively harsh treatment of the natives.
The author poses the possibility that a medical condition precipitated this sudden change of character, but it may also have been early senility, Altzheimer's or dementia brought on by stress - who knows?
The book is full of interesting clips from various people's logs, which show other views of life under Cook's leadership. The main thrust of the book is not that Cook was in the right place at the right time, but that he made such a consummate job of ensuring that the surveys were carried out in a methodical manner, with a healthy crew and sound ship. After all, it was HIS decision on what type of ship to use, what food to keep the crew healthy, how to deal with the natives and his diplomacy that ensured that the first 2 voyages were such a resounding success.
All this is in sharp contrast to the last voyage, where he allowed the shipyard to take liberties with the refitting of his ships, the lack of diplomacy, his cruelty to the natives and his lack of patience with his crew. This only serves to reinforce what an extraordinary leader he had been.
A splendid read which has furthered my interest in history and exploration - more like this please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written story from history, 19 Mar. 2014
By 
Ms. J. Bedford (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain James Cook (Paperback)
I read this book for a course on travel medicine and found it quite a fascinating read. It discusses in detail the main voyages of Cook but also about him as a man and why he did things in a certain way. There is great deal of detail regarding the men that also sailed with him in various guises and roles - what he regarded for them. This book allows the reader to make their own mind up about this great voyager of our time without much prejudice. However I do believe Cook was either ill or certainly had a mental illness on his last voyage which certainly contributed to his lack of responsibility for his own welfare - which unfortunately led to his untimely and premature death
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, especially if you've been to Oz or NZ, 5 Jan. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain James Cook (Paperback)
This is an extremely readable and interesting account of Cook's life quoting from his journal and that of others on his voyages. It conjures up the discoveries of places and peoples new to the British, the meeting of different cultures and his achievements as a navigator and leader. It is great to learn how the names of places now familiar in Australia and New Zealand were decided upon as he mapped them. The insight into life on ships at that time and the organisation of the voyages is fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction To The Life Of Captain Cook, 7 Nov. 2002
By 
Mr. J. Walmsley "The Finch" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain James Cook (Paperback)
I read this book after having read the Penguin edition of "The Journals Of Captain Cook". The journals were Cook's own written record of his 3 epic voyages into the Pacific and reading his first hands accounts proved fascinating. However while I was more than familiar with these events I had no real knowledge of how he came to join the navy or what events shaped the man.
This is where this book came in useful. It is a well written and pleasant read and an ideal introduction to the life of one of the worlds greatest explorers. It covers his early life, showing us how he went from coal ships in Yorkshire to the Royal Navy, where his skills were soon recognised as a result of his service in North America. Then we are taken through the voyages that would really make his name. These take up the majority of the book which is to be expected and provide a superb insight into the magnitude of Cook's achievements for science, geography and the human instinct to explore. For those who want a good summary and a story of discovery then this is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain James Cook, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain James Cook (Paperback)
Excellent read. Mr Hough gets the mix of fact information and excitement just right. it would be easy to get bogged down when writing about Cook's adventures but I loved the way it was written.
Delivered promptly and in good condition.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can someone please tell me, why has no one made this into a movie?
Ah, yes. Because too much would be changed.
Loved this book. My one gripe, reading from my iPhone - Kindle app, I should like to have seen those drawings and paintings accompanying the pages of which they were written. But so few were in at all.
I felt compelled to buy this book, having lived near Marton and Redcar, now living near Staithes and working in Whitby. I felt it my duty to learn of this great man. Thank you for compiling all the data and making a wonderful chronological account of his entire life, and information of those who where part of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read of some amazing adventures, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain James Cook (Paperback)
I've now read many of the books about the amazing travels of the european explorers and this one is one of the best. Easy to read and well written. Would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain James Cook
Captain James Cook by Richard Hough (Paperback - 3 Mar. 2003)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews