Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up there with the big boys
This is the first Brad Meltzer novel I have read but it certainly won't be the last.

Wes Ryan, the main character is physically and emotionally scarred by the events that open the book and in travelling alongside him as he attempts to resolve both his own feelings and the unexpected reappearance of someone he thought had died years ago you get an exciting ride...
Published on 20 Jan. 2008 by lmhh

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical References Provide Color for Skullduggery Among the Government Elite
What would be surprising to readers would be a new thriller about the highest levels of government that did not include dishonesty, self-dealing, and double-crossing. So this novel doesn't surprise. Mr. Meltzer tries hard to put some freshness into his book by dreaming up a deluded crazy assassin who was trained as a sniper because of his unusual skills, and adding...
Published on 22 Jan. 2007 by Donald Mitchell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, cynically marketed, 12 Feb. 2008
By 
Ray Blake (Hemel Hempstead, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Fate (Paperback)
Strongly reminiscent of a John Grisham novel - and one of the better ones at that - this is a thoroughly gripping read, albeit quite a light one. But it's marketed as something entirely different. The 'two-hundered-year-old secret' announced on the cover is at best a very minor aspect of the plot. Da Vinci Code junkies will undoubtedly feel duped when they find the book to be simply a political thriller. Shame on Hodder for quite audacious cynicism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's No Secret, 7 Feb. 2010
This review is from: The Book of Fate (Paperback)
Don't believe the hype on the cover as I did and expect anything like another DaVinci Code. Any reference to Thomas Jefferson and the Masons is peripheral at best and could likely have been tacked on to cash in on the craze for 'secret society' and 'ancient conspiracies' novels.

The codes referred to could just as easily have been the four shapes on a Playstation controller for all their place in the scheme of things.

This isn't a book based around ancient secrets it's a political thriller - competent but hardly compelling even within that arena. The twists in the plot tend to be signposted and the characters appear to be designed to gain our sympathy rather than our admiration. As a lightweight beach-reader it might keep you interested enough to keep going. Equally it might help you doze off or decide there's more to be gained by bikini watching.

Far from a page-turner it did just enough to make me persevere in case I was missing something to justify the hype.

I wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius., 14 Jan. 2010
By 
John Foreman (Guildford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Fate (Paperback)
I bought this book at the airport as I wanted some holiday reading and it was billed as an International Bestseller (what isn't?). When I got back home I immediately ordered another five of his titles from Amazon. This is the best thiller I have read since The Day of The Jackal all those years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Action Packed Read, 28 Feb. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Book of Fate (Hardcover)
The author Brad Meltzer has written several best selling novels. He is also the author of two critically acclaimed comic books. Raised in Brooklyn and Miami, Brad is a graduate of the University of Michigan and Columbia Law School. Many of his books have spent several months in the best seller list and have been transferred into many languages. Brad currently lives in Florida with his wife, who's also an attorney.

On the Fourth of July, Wes Holloway, a presidential aide put Ron Boyle, the chief executive's oldest and best friend into the presidential limousine. By the time the journey came to an end, Wes was permanently disfigured and Boyle was dead, the victim of a depraved assassin..

Eight years later Boyle is spotted alive and well in Malaysia. How can that be? All that Wes knows is that he has a chance to undo the worst day of his life. Trying to figure out what really happened almost drives Wes crazy and takes him back to a ten year old crossword puzzle, mysterious facts buried in the history of the Masons and a two-hundred-year old code invented by none other than Thomas Jefferson.

What Wes does not know is that many secrets are worth dying for . . . The million dollar question is does Wes want to go that far . . .

This is the first book I have read by the author and I enjoyed it very much. it certainly will not be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fast-moving and powerful storyline, 10 Aug. 2006
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Fate (Hardcover)
The book has over 500 pages and not one is wasted on the reader. The story of a disfigured young presidential aide, Wes, who, eight years after the assassination attempt on the President in which Wes was tragically injured, spots a supposedly dead colleague in Malaysia. Now the past comes back with a vengeance as Wes has to confront the reasons behind the original attack, work out how far up the presidential line the corruption has travelled and protect himself and his friends from more than one determined and ruthless killer. There are so many strands to this story, each one gradually unravelling, leading towards an explosive finale during which the reader will most certainly wonder who, if any, will survive. When I first read the blurb I thought I was in for another freemason's witchhunt. Not so; they are hardly mentioned and although a code from another President in power 200 years earlier does form part of the solution, this story is very much of today and it rattles along with a force and a cast of characters, some good, many bad that I believe the reader would hope there's a sequel! But that pre-supposes there any characters still around at the end! A cracking good read worth every page. My only criticism is that some of the injured seem to have remarkable powers of recovery but I guess it all adds to the adrenaline rush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad book., 5 Sept. 2007
I was intrigued and interested. This was a story that kept you turning pages. I would say there were a few slow parts to the novel that I had to try and plod through, but all in all not a bad book. I'd read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BOOK OF FATE, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Fate (Hardcover)
I ALWAYS BUY MY BOOKS FROM AMAZON AND ONLY ON ONE OCCASION HAVE I HAD A PROBLEM WITH A BOOK BUT IT WAS SORTED VERY QUICKLY AND I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misrepresentation?, 9 Jan. 2008
By 
Michael Bolan "melesmeles" (Moscow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Fate (Paperback)
This is a well-written book; an enjoyable story. The characters are well-defined, there is ample action and the twist in the tail is well-delivered, if not overly surprising.

However...

To bill the book with a focus on secret societies, conspiracy theories and centuries-old codes is simply unfair. There is a modicum of these elements contained with the book, but overall, it is, for want of a better description, a political thriller.

I enjoyed the book, but felt disappointed halfway through when I realised that Jefferson's archaic code was about as exciting as shorthand and that there was no mysterious cartel controlling the governments of the planet.

I may choose to read more of Meltzer's work in the futurte, but I will do so with my eyes open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A real drag, 31 Dec. 2010
By 
Seta - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Book of Fate (Paperback)
The author really has padded out this book. The plot moves at a snails pace and fails to maintain readers interest. A quarter of the way into this book and the plot failed to keep me interested enough to continue reading. One of the very few books that ended up in the bin. The rave reviews on the back are actually for other books written by the author, a sneaky and cynical way to market a title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars total idiocy, 7 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Book of Fate (Paperback)
Amateurishly written by an author with no idea of literary voice and the common rules for its use. One minute it is written in first person, and in the next the author switched to second or third person. The author also clearly has absolutely no concept of Freemasonry, its history or its structure. Just because someone who is a Mason does an evil deed does not mean it it the policy of Freemasonry to perform evil deeds. If Jeffry Dahmer was a member of the local Rotary Club. Does this mean that all Rotatarians are cannibals and that it is Rotary Club policy to promote the eating of human flesh? This is a typical case of a non-Mason putting the Square & Compass on the cover of a book to hint at some sort of a Masonic conspiracy. Meltzer has no concept of the meaning nor the honor associated with them.

Poorly written and provides a plain and simple stupid plot that moves at glacier speed. Facts? Ah, who needs them? It seems to be more fun to just make up stuff and portray it as being fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Fate
The Book of Fate by Brad Meltzer (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2007)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews