Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars32
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2005
This fantastic book will ultimately become part of football folklore. Quite simply Sir Bobby is a National treasure embodying all that has been good about British sport over the last half century. The book is funny, informative and utterly delicious. It gives you a real "I was there" feeling, which is of course the stuff of legend. It never resorts to any undignified sensationalism, but why should it when the man's actions speak for themselves. This book is a must for any self-respecting sports fan, or indeed anyone who just loves the man.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2005
This book is amazing, ill give you an idea of how good it is. I bought it Saturday afternoon. I began reading, never stopped, 3 am sunday morning, i finish the book. Buy it, read it, enjoy it.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2005
If football is your interest, hobby or life, even if it's not, you will very much enjoy and appreciate this latest autobiography of Bobby Robson. Bobby (just) seems to have always been around in football but his story, comments and wise counsel are fresh and appropriate to today's world of modern international football. If the saying "Been...Done it.....Got the T-Shirt" applies to anyone it truely applies to Bobby Robson. Do read the book you'll enjoy it for who Bobby Robson is, as well as what he has done in his 72 years of life.
Will keep looking at this site to see if FS of Newcastle provides a review and 5 Stars.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2005
Recently I have read autobiographys from Roy Keane, Vinne Jones and Paul Gascoinge and these are all strongly recomended by me, however, Bobby Robsons "Farewell but not Goodbye" I belive beats them all, even though i have just starting reading chapter 3. His life is so vividy detailed and can be very amusing but also very sad at times. I strongly recommend this book to everyone even if you're not a fan of football.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
I love this book.

I am not a big reader at all however this book held my interest and I looked forward to my morning and evening commutes so I could start reading it again.

I am a Newcastle fan, and born there too, so maybe I am interested in Bobby more than most, however given that Bobby was involved with so many teams, in so many country's and did so much for charity, any footballing fan could find something interesting in this book.

This book would also appeal to anyone who enjoys history, as the book goes through his upbringing in the coal mines and how life has changed from then and the modern day.

If you remember the tone and the way Bobby spoke you will enjoy this book even more, as I was able to read this in my head like Bobby was narrating the book to me. Perhaps that's what all good books are able to do, just this one seemed special.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
Ok I'm a Newcastle fan, so may have some biased opinions towards Sir Bob, but seriously, the man was a legend, and did so much for the beautiful game in his long and illustrious career. Took Ipswich to dizzy heights, won the treble at Barcelona, worked his magic in Holland and Portugal, and despite not winning anything for England or Newcastle, did more for those 2 teams than any managers have done for a long time.

His autobiography is very well written, and you find yourself smiling at some of the things that are said over the years, the respect he commanded, and of course for any football fan it's great to get a glimpse of how things work behind the scenes. It's especially interested to see Sir Bob's view of the Barcelona and Newcastle affairs, and as far as footballing autobiographies go, this is a good one to read.

RIP SBR
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
A true gentleman of the game. A remarkable man who had a fantastic career most notably as manager. Pioneering, he was one of the few English managers to venture out of the comfort of his own country. The book touches on his life as a player, what it was like growing up in post-war Britain and of course his life in management. The book opens at his first stage in life, his childhood in the North East and from there takes you on a journey through his life. I particularly enjoyed the chapters discussing his years managing the English national team. The docu-film "One Night In Turin" painted it well, the media relationship and reaction but it was quite another thing reading it in print. Unbelievable the level of hate aimed at Robson during that time, pressure they put him and his team under and them proclaiming he should be sacked. Not much has changed even still and that same sort of sensationalism is part of the media circus around the England team. A great book, interesting, full of detail and one that is impossible to put down. Fascinating to read about how the game has changed over the years. It is a great pity that there aren't more men like Sir Bobby in football.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
What can I say... A wonderful book about a wonderful gentleman. You will go through a wide range of emotions reading this book. From laughter when you hear about some of his stories at Ipswich, to anger when you find how badly he was treated at times by the press and some of the people he worked for, nostalgia when he recalls Italia 90, the tournement that got me interested in football and which I remember so well as a young boy, sadness too, that such a great man suffered so much through his battle with cancer, and also if you support one of the clubs he managed as I do (Ipswich) immense pride.

This book is not just an autobiography it is also a good lesson on how to conduct yourself in life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
The biggest name in football history is finally told in this fantastically written autobiography - Sir Bobby Robson, the legend who came home to manage his boyhood team, Newcastle United, in 1999. after over 50 years away from the North East. The book tells of his comments on when he was let go as manager of Newcastle, the tears of Italia 90 and the tears from Gazza, as well as the infamous Maradona 'Hand of God' goal in the 86 World Cup - this book has it all, told in a heartwarming tale that is a must have for many Newcastle fans or people who love football - Sir Bobby is respected in every way of life in football and he will be well remembered by everyone. RIP Bobby - we'll miss you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
This is by far the best ever book I have had the privalage to read to date, it is an absolute pertraite of a true footballing legend and gentlemen, it is very heart warming and intersting coming from a football fans point of view but anyone who is not associated with football could read this book and by the end they would know forever what a fantastic man bobby robson was as a footballer/ manager but as a ordinary man who had time and respect everyone no matter who are what they were. A MUST READ FOR EVERYONE WHO IS A FOOTBALLING FAN QUITE SIMPLY THE BEST!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)