Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychotherapy
This book is essential for anybody who feel that the original "The power of NOW" was too deep. It could be said that it is the perfect introduction to the magic of meditation, mental awareness, and self instructed psychotherapy. The book goes through the main themes of "The Power of NOW" without getting too deep, but into enough detail for the reader to have an...
Published on 3 Jun 2009 by The Flying Horse

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLES
Nice simple book but for me it was just a repetition of the original Power of Now book which already has most of the exercises in it. Saying that, I do know people who prefer this version - horses for courses I think.
Published 10 months ago by wendy loudon


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful guidance, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Practising the Power of Now (Paperback)
Great practical book for spiritual reference and guidance! It can be refered to again and again. Great follow up to 'The Power of Now' by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth, 1 Dec 2010
By 
D. A. Tonna (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've listened to this CD every week for nearly a year now and you get something from it each time. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone interested in accessing the peace that already lies within them, yet they just can't find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practice makes perfect, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: Practising the Power of Now (Paperback)
This is a very useful book and reitterates the power of now this book is a real must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read This Book!!!, 15 Sep 2010
By 
R. Fordham "Robster" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practising the Power of Now (Paperback)
I have read alot of books on personal/spiritual growth. I have also done alot of workshops. This book is one of my favourites. It keeps to the point of being present, in the moment.

It reminds us of what all spiritual teachers are refering to. Live in the moment as the past and future dont exist. It takes practise and meditation enhances this process.

In a nutshell Read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 12 Sep 2010
By 
E. Josiah (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found this really inspiring and have already listenes several times, for me easier than the print version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational insight, 29 Nov 2003
By 
M. Graham (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Bible teaches about being still in Christ and this book helps this process. In a world where there is so much going on, it is important to take time out to heal your mind and put still your ongoing thoughts. I was inspired by this book and as such purchased several copies which I gave to close family and friends so that they could heal their minds with inner peace. Blessings.xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars different speaker, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is not narrated by Echkart Tolle, a disadvantage, a lack, an inconsistency, an illogicality, a pain. I suggest it be renarrated by Tolle only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommendation, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Hayes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Practising the Power of Now (Paperback)
Most interesting. I already have a copy of this book and I wanted an extra to give to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 78 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Classic 3 Card Trick, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Practising the Power of Now (Paperback)
This is an awful, awful book. Sorry, there's no other way of putting it. And I can hear people saying already "but it makes me feel better".
Whatever makes you feel in control, I guess. But sometimes things which make us feel better aren't necessarily true or even good for us. Tolle and others like him are squarely in the camp of woo (as the great Randi would say!). They promote a watered down and ultimately meaningless new-age theology. (And of course Oprah loves him.) I expected more, but he sits right in there with Deepak Chopra as a prime example of self-asserted anti-science hokum. I don't usually torture myself with such media excretions.

Tolle is kind of cultish. Worse, he uses scare tactics stating we're all in some kind of race to obliterate the human ego and the "pain-body" before they destroy the earth. The `ticking clock' once again...horse manure. We are our egos. We hold memories of pain for a good reason-to avoid repeating mistakes. That's how we evolved from our ape ancestors. And all his arguments fall down in exactly the same way as every other new-age guru I've ever read with the classic '3 card trick' as a means of argument:

1. "The Higher Level Card" (i.e. sorry, it's just over your head). Sorry, but you're just not clever enough to realise Eckhart is cleverer than you, because you're on a lower (less divine/lower psychic vibration) level.
2. "The Projection Card" (i.e., I know you are, but what am I?). By criticising Eckhart, you are really just criticising yourself, because any problem you see in Eckhart/the world at large is just a projection of a problem in yourself.
3. "The Skillful Means Card" (i.e., it's all your own fault, idiot!). The most potent card of all. It's not abuse; it's not pathetic or ridiculous or wrong; it's a crazy to wise teaching method. So when Eckhart calls you an idiot, it's not because he's an pompous idiot, it's because you have a idiot-complex that you need to evolve past, and he's here to help you see that!

It's just not healthy to read books like this. This dualistic zen-style thinking just doesn't hold water in the real world. Then there's the Eckhart Tolle "walk of death." Allegedly after listening to Tolle's Power of Now tapes repeatedly, Brianna Wilkins walked miles without warm clothing (thinking only of the present moment, I'm sure) in the middle of winter and..."Now," she's dead.

Humans are not broken, they're mostly just confused. We may not know ourselves so well, but we're operating exactly as nature intended. We're greedy, competitive, with a short attention span, seeking instant gratification. But we're also kind, long-suffering, generous, wise, and empathetic-with the two camps always in conflict within each of us. Solutions to human problems will come from realist introspection, critical thinking, rationality and acknowledging of the darkness, e.g. more rationality and less mysticism. We can start that process right here, right now-with our egos and pain-memories intact-not in some future idealised fantasy world. Change won't come overnight but occurs through an evolutionary process. That's what else ticks me off about the Tolle: he dresses it up in the conceit of spirituality, but actually panders to the very ordinary materialistic drive towards the "quick fix," the effortless "new you." Well, you don't get something for nothing. Or much for 10! :)

Apologies if this is ranty - but this was a terrible, self-absorbed, arrogant, pompous book. Avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding Buddhism sponsored by Oprah TM, 19 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Practising the Power of Now (Paperback)
Have you seen Jim Carrey on You Tube, exulting the virtues of mindfulness and the bliss of discovering the Now? What a selfish millionaire! To paraphrase Joseph Conrad, Jim Carry doesn't realise that his life, his very essence of his character, his capabilities and audacities, are only the expression of his belief in the safety of his surroundings.". Stick Jim Carry on a desert island, without his philonthropic support and starry eyed hangers-on, and his barbed wire fence, and lets see how mindfull and how In The Now Jim Carry can get. Having said that, i have read Tolle's version of Now ontology, and I can't help but be impressed. Though its still New Age, if you can ignore the infantile hype of blissful peace, then this book is worth a go. You see, I find the new age positive thinking claptrap tiresome to say the least. It's basically a gravy train for clever people who can't find honest work. However, I downloaded the audio version of The Power of Now, read by Tolle himself, and I was pleasantly surprised. I can usually spot morons miles away but this Tolle character seems to believe what he thinks. I don't know if its his wacky foreign accent, or the fact that he looks like a character from hobbit land, but he has his wrap rounded off to a smooth T. Iv constructed a little dialogue to give you a glimpse of this wacky Zen philosophy.

This dialogue is meant to display the two versions to happiness. I am not aware of a third way though.

Cicero: Oh how long, Oprah, will you abuse our patience? How long is that madness of yours still to mock us? When is there to be an end to that unbridled audacity of yours? Oh, what times, oh, what manners!

Tolle: But these are wrong thoughts created by you ego which is not who you really are. Your ego, you see, is like a cancerous growth in your head, churning out toxic thoughts. If you can conquer your thoughts you will be happy.

Rebel: But experience cries loudly against this. My hurting is nothing to do with my personality. It's all out there, in the world. I'm poor, my environment is horrid and relationships don't make sense. Suffering is outside my mind; out there, people are bad so let us educate them. Institutions humiliate and abuse us, so let's change the institutions; we can put people before profit for a change. The work cycle, you see, is amoral, unfair and wrong. This sense of unfairness instils the wellspring of revolution in my belly as it does yours. So fight the system and get away from horrid people; this is the route to happiness for all. Together we can build utopia; us and always. So the road to my happiness is in smashing the system to build a brighter tomorrow. Happiness is in society, community and better people. I need a holiday now; I need to get away for a week.

Seneca: The trouble going on holiday is that you take yourself along!

Tolle: I agree with Seneca. Your ego is focused in the wrong direction and this is the wrong path to true happiness. Your thought patterns are bludgeoning your world view. It was the philosopher Wittgenstein who said that the world of the happy man is different from the world of the sad man. Your inner voice is trapped in a tape loop or revolutionary anguish and existential frustration; this is making you miserable. You are anguishing over a future that will never arrive and you worry over long dead events that continue to play in your head, over and over, like a record. This time-flailing of the ego spaces bare neither relation nor relevance to your present state of being. There is no alternative to your suffering as long as you carry on this, stuck in past, future ego cycling, from one frustration to another, like a rider in an eternal journey with nobody listening but you and your ego's echo chamber.

Rebel: Like a lonely prisoner in an echoing cell?

Tolle: Yes exactly, the echo chamber gives form to a droning introspection that mumbles indefinitely. From this introspection emerges your grasshopper mind; the grasshopper mind hops hither and thither, from one random thought to an unannounced emotion. Your mind is an unfocused, out of control time hopper; hopping to the past were you worry about incidents that for other people are lost in the overgrowth of time but for you, you still dwell where your mind takes you. Or you're always worrying about the future. Like I said, you can only dwell where your mind takes you. You always stay in the past or the future; where is the moment? You are not in control as your mind controls you, because you are not aware. What you think of as your mind is a bundle of electric shocks or sparks firing in your brain; firing off in your head incidental mutterings and random thoughts that, if you can only pay attention, you may be surprised at what is happening behind your eyelids.

Cicero: Oh, mister Eckhart, what intensity, oh, what inanities! How long will you grace us with your discusting verbiage, oh vanity? How long will you stupify, and haunt our hearts and our world? The intensity you show in your eternal mumbling, like an over hatched turd, only bemoans the sleeping multitudes with rolled eyelids. You represent the dark God who turns the mind to madness. Naught will come from your colossal piece of plagiarism, oh Meister Eckhart, tongue forged from the hardest silver!

Rebel: This is the most stupifying verbiage since man first put pen to paper! You may have fooled the masses with your wacky foreign accent and your hobbits grin, but all you are doing is stifling all revolutionary progress. I do mutter to myself thought but tis a soothing muttering. Who ever said a still mind is God?

Tolle: God is a loaded term indeed; your Being on the other hand, is your only ground, and the random, unexamind, muttering, we do all the time, is the fog that blinds your true Being. The good news then, is that you are not this random muttering. Your true self lurks underneath. Thus if you slay the egoic mind, the seeds of enlightenment will flower and your true ground of Being will start to blossom; and the suffering of existence will be cleansed, and the evil within will be broken on the pillars of your true being,

Rebel: But that is selfish and escapism! What about the IMF and the third world? You said somewhere that there is an awakening and the majority will indeed awaken soon, but it's the minority that rule the world. We should agitate for better working conditions to improve our lot.

Tolle: The moment is all you will ever know.

Cicero: Oh, the passion, oh, the vanity! Rebel:Agreed my man; Ititakes a leisure class with philanthropic support to pursue this kind of foolishness. Most people in the world have no material possessions but they are miserable. Tolle: The distance that makes objects looks small to the eye causes them to appear large in the mind. Only the here and now is actual.

Seneca: Our predicament is like a dog chained to a cart. It is wise to follow the cart!

Erm, me: I don't know which side you can take, but its well worth downloading the audio torrents of Tolle reading his own books. He's worth a listen I think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Practising the Power of Now
Practising the Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle (Paperback - 4 April 2002)
8.79
Usually dispatched within 7 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews