Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars301
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2014
Fantastic read. It gives a great insight to English (British) Culture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
It's well written and the author obviously has a sense of the absurd,making for some good laughs,but it's so culturally limited.
If you're from Manchester,Newcastle or Leeds (or Cornwall), you'll see that the book is alsmost entirely dedicated to the middle classes and above of south-east England.Like so many writers (read just about any columnist in the Sunday papers) the author seems to conflate the bourgeoisie of north London with all of England.Not really worth it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2009
A jolly good read... although I doubt it'll win any awards as a piece of objective research! Maybe should have the subtitle "with particular emphasis on the middle classes in semi-rural southern England".

For me the highlight was working out which social class I'm in (and thankfully avoiding the aspiring upper middles of the Hyacinth Bucket type).

It's very easy read, and a good source of banter and discussion once a few of your friends have read it too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2005
This author seems to have really captured the English in this book. I laughed out loud at many examples that I could relate to, as of course I would because the English are the kings of irony and humour is the best way to cover embaressment. Absolutely brilliant, should be an essential read not only for the lay reader but for the professionals that seem to have so much trouble crossing class boundaries. If you are English it will make you squirm, if you aren't, it will answer a lot of questions!
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2007
Kate Fox study of the English is essentially a collection of cliches about the English. Cliches about the English by the English, so its a collection of "national traits" and characteristics based on how the English like to think that they are viewed by foreigners - there is plenty of talk about queuing, weather, stiff upper lip and all that. That said, the book is entertaining and well written and at times, very funny
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2007
I bought this book for my Father. But I am going to have to buy another copy for him as there is no way I'm going to give this away. So many things that we take for granted, I now realise are actually our upbringing.

For example Buying a drink in a pub ..what we take for granted ..is actually a very complicated series of behaviours.

This book is a revelation. ..and very funny
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
Fanastic insight into the idioscrincies of english behaviour - no wonder others have such difficulty understanding how we 'work'. Older people will find this particularly interesting, especially if they have been brought up to follow certain 'rules of behaviour'.

It's a good book to just dip into, some might find it heavy going to read from cover to cover.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2007
A delightful treat, eloquent, amusing and entertaining and made me proud to be English. A lovely book whose author, Kate Fox, is not afraid to make fun of herself and bring out the hidden rules in English behaviour. I loved the section dedicated to the English habit of the Monday morning moan! Recommended.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Most highly recommended book for anyone moving to the UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
Haven't finished reading but so far its interesting......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)