Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, speedy service
The item is in excellent condition, and I received it quickly. The book is very good albeit it does not include obvious chapters (such as describe oneself, past tense...). It is very colourful and written by italians so it provides with a good insight on the culture and the slang of the language.
Published on 10 Nov 2009 by P. Atzori

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good new material confusingly put together
I had been waiting for over two months for this title to be published and sent to me and when it finally arrived I was rather disappointed by the way topics are arranged in it.
There is no index of topic areas, skills practised or grammar aspects in each unit.
It offers a variety of activities according to the new vision of language teaching which involves group...
Published on 3 Sep 2004 by Mikicellist75


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good new material confusingly put together, 3 Sep 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages) (Paperback)
I had been waiting for over two months for this title to be published and sent to me and when it finally arrived I was rather disappointed by the way topics are arranged in it.
There is no index of topic areas, skills practised or grammar aspects in each unit.
It offers a variety of activities according to the new vision of language teaching which involves group and mingling activities BUT the layout is very confusing, the pictures and drawings are of poor quality. Not very appealing to students (or teachers).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but there are better books., 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages) (Paperback)
I bought this as it was the courses book for some evening classes I took. It seems a bit clumsy and awkward to follow in a logical fashion.

In my opinion, there are much better books available for beginners. (BBC Talk Italian, for example).

However, maybe it just didn't suit my learning style.

This book is not terrible...I just didn't find it particularly useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Situational Italian -O.K., 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages) (Paperback)
As an old-fashioned student of languages I have difficulties with modern-style language books which have the approach of 'Introducing yourself and talking about yourself', 'Making a hotel reservation','Describing your home' and the like. I prefer the building block approach to grammar with a storyline.
Having said all that the book does its job BUT it seems that the CD has to be bought separately which adds huge expense. I make do with a CD from a different coursebook and use of the Internet to listen to real Italian.
I truly cannot rate this book higher than other such books on the market. The Language Centre chose this one and that's why I bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, speedy service, 10 Nov 2009
By 
P. Atzori (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages) (Paperback)
The item is in excellent condition, and I received it quickly. The book is very good albeit it does not include obvious chapters (such as describe oneself, past tense...). It is very colourful and written by italians so it provides with a good insight on the culture and the slang of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages) (Paperback)
I cannot access the listening device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fine, but not always well set out, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Fiona (STIRLING, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages) (Paperback)
Most of the time you can find what you're looking for in the book, but I do feel that the layout can be a bit unhelpful. I'm using this book alongside going to an Italian class so it could be in part the way the classes are structured, but from other reviews I've heard there are better books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very visual and clearly laid out, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages) (Paperback)
Chose the rating as book was in excellent condition - like new.

Very good for home use and use in the classroom for short courses as recommended for the shorter 10-12 week language courses.
As a visual learner I find the book manageable due to the way that it is laid out - hence making it easier to memorise the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy and useful, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages) (Paperback)
Useful, good exercises, not good to learn italian from scratch but as a complement to classes or other cds etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Access Italian, 1 April 2013
By 
M. Searle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access Italian (Paperback)
Clearly set out full of visual prompts this is a good book to support group studies. Be prepared to purchase the accompanying support CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars italian book, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages) (Paperback)
Excellent condition and good price on Amazon. It was classed as a used library book with possible writing inside but is in perfect condition. Arrived in very good time by post.
Good book for beginners. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages)
Access Italian: A First Language Course (Access Languages) by Alessia Bianchi (Paperback - 27 Aug 2004)
17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews