Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into the mind of a great person
I read this in hardback as soon as it was published and I just started looking at the book again after hearing the sad news that Mo Mowlam has died aged just 55. It is a warm insight into life as a government minister, both the good and bad. Mowlam describes the entire history of the historic Good Friday agreement in Northern Ireland with many of the inside stories around...
Published on 19 Aug 2005 by Mark Hillary

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but still worthwhile
If I'm honest, I had expected (hoped for) a better book. This is not a book in Mo's own image and worse for it. Sure, there is some candour and some humour, but not enough of either. Having said that, it still isn't a book I'd have missed. As a political biography, it lacks bite and substance, but as a biography of a hugely interesting celebrity, it's better than most. If...
Published on 28 Jan 2003 by Michael Stevenson-Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into the mind of a great person, 19 Aug 2005
This review is from: Momentum: The Struggle for Peace, Politics and the People (Paperback)
I read this in hardback as soon as it was published and I just started looking at the book again after hearing the sad news that Mo Mowlam has died aged just 55. It is a warm insight into life as a government minister, both the good and bad. Mowlam describes the entire history of the historic Good Friday agreement in Northern Ireland with many of the inside stories around the peace process and she talks of her own government downfall at length. It's a fascinating book for anyone interested in Northern Ireland or the internal machinations of government written by a direct and no-nonsense politician who will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but still worthwhile, 28 Jan 2003
This review is from: Momentum: The Struggle for Peace, Politics and the People (Paperback)
If I'm honest, I had expected (hoped for) a better book. This is not a book in Mo's own image and worse for it. Sure, there is some candour and some humour, but not enough of either. Having said that, it still isn't a book I'd have missed. As a political biography, it lacks bite and substance, but as a biography of a hugely interesting celebrity, it's better than most. If you're a fan of Mo, buy it. If you're looking for deep political insight, don't bother. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much respect for Mo., 5 April 2011
This review is from: Momentum: The Struggle for Peace, Politics and the People (Paperback)
This book isn't as easy to read as I thought it would be, but then the situation in Ireland isn't an easy one to get your head around either. Mo writes about her experiences but also explains why things are important to Nationalists and Unionists, so you feel as if you are in her shoes. There is an injection of her humour periodically, which keeps the book lighter than others I've read on the subject, and the photos help too.
I have a lot of respect for Mo Mowlam, having seen her talk on a couple of occasions, so I am thoroughly enjoying reading this, as it feels like I'm getting to spend some time with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mo's Account of Her Time In Government, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum: The Struggle for Peace, Politics and the People (Paperback)
A very readable and interesting account of Mo Mowlem's early life as an MP for Redcar, and her time as the Northern Ireland Secretary, her bravery in her deicsion to go to the Maze Prison, her accounts of the personalities of the Irish Politicians, the effect on her family life and her hilarious incidents involving her security.

The book also covers her feelings in being moved to the Cabinet office and sadly now her hopes for the future and what she wanted to do.

The last chapters deal with her views on the peace process since leaving the office of Northern Ireland Secretary.

The book is written in Mo Mowlems unique style and her personality shines through, a very good read and worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor old Mo, 3 May 2002
By A Customer
I've just spent the night reading this book and oh dear, oh dear! How sad that all that conviction politics ends only with a lucrative book deal and the usual backbiting. I used to like Mo - a lot. I enjoyed her conference appearances, laughed at her chat show antics and admired her candour, her warmth and above all, her courage. You get small fragments of that in this book, but what is so very disappointing is that in the end, it's obviously all packaging, all image. It's not what I expected, but obviously all that's on offer. The dirt on Blair and Brown is very personal, yet not terribly illuminating in political terms... It is strangely soulless, often dull, sometimes difficult and definitely lacking in momentum. It doesn't I'm afraid get my vote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 July 2010
By 
William Drysdale (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum: The Struggle for Peace, Politics and the People (Paperback)
After watching the film of mo had to get the book.A fantastic read.She will be sorly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mo Mowlam, 6 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum: The Struggle for Peace, Politics and the People (Paperback)
Unusually, I bought the book after seeing the docudrama yet it has not spoiled the enjoyment of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mo for Mayor, 7 May 2002
By A Customer
I've just finished reading this and Blair and Brown's petty bickering realy struck me. Mo was an eccentric and perhaps controversial Cabinet Minister and too popular for Blair to deal with. This book does lack a certain gravity you may expect and I think she knows a lot more about N. Ireland and the Blair presidency than she's prepared to reveal. Why has a woman like this left politics? She is the very type of person we desperately need. It is a deep shame for everyone. Come on Prime Minster- give her a job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa627c60c)

This product

Momentum: The Struggle for Peace, Politics and the People
Momentum: The Struggle for Peace, Politics and the People by Mo Mowlam (Paperback - 3 Feb 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews