Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2005
This book is brilliant, Im new to Psychology and the first book I bought was this one. It has very clear ideas and is easy to use and is a great guide for undergraduates. The language is of medium level so its not so difficult to understand. During assignments, presentations, its a good refernce good guide.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2001
This is an excellent book written by one of the chief examiners for A level psychology. The text is clearly written and covers a wide area. Although perhaps not bedside reading, it is very understandable and covers the field in considerable depth. It is an ideal textbook. It is sufficiently readable that you dont fall asleep, but contains sufficient detail that is serves as a reference book as well. Highly recommended.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2003
This is a phenomenal book. It's clearly written and includes amazing detail on a wide range of topics. If you're going to buy one textbook for any Higher Education Psychology course, this is the one to choose. Lots of universities recommend American based textbooks for their courses but this one is far more detailed and the best I've come across.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2003
This is an excellent book for A level students wanting a fairly comprehensive guide to the basics of psychology. The problem is the number of undergraduates who think that this book provides enough detail and critical analysis to do well at degree level. My three stars is the mean. 'A' level 5 stars, degree level 1 star. Although the one star might be better suited to the undergrads who rely too heavily on this text than to Richard Gross.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2005
A perfect intro to psychology, ideal for any A-level psychology course. Very broad coverage and written in a simple style.
However, this applies strictly to A-level courses ONLY. For psychology undergraduates this book doesn't cover approaches in nearly enough depth that is required.
Fantastic at A-level, not so fantastic for a degree.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 1999
This book contains several hundred multiple choice questions, some of them very complicated and some requiring a good deal of discernment to answer them. My students enjoy them enormously in small doses... I pass them round with copies of 'Gross' so they can look up in the text for the answers.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
The cost of this book brand new is in excess of 25.00 and as a student I'm always on the look out for a bargain. This book is like brand new and one of the best second hand copies I've ever purchased, a fraction of the price and quick delivery. I Recommend this seller to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
i purchased this book as the author was recommended to me by a psychology lecturer. It is well written and easy to follow with a broad range of topics discussed and is an excellent reference book. Delivery was prompt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
I kept this book ever-present when studying my NCFE in Psychology. It is full of great source material and has a lively tone that prevents it feeling too text-book. A must have for Psychology students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Exactly as described, delivered swiftly
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)