Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for those getting through their A-levels
This is an excellent book. As an A-level student I have read and found it very informative. If you're not a student but want to learn French it is also good, however you should have a basic knowledge of French for this book to make sense. It has high level phrases and idioms which are acceptable in school exams and used by the French. the book will easily assist you in...
Published on 26 Sep 2000

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, mixed feelings
This book held all the vocabulary I needed for A level, but :

Since moving to France, I have found that the content is very outmoded, or plain wrong. Expressions are out of context, or mistranslated, and it can't be relied up on if you plan to use French in the real world.
Published on 23 Feb 2007 by M. Setters


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, mixed feelings, 23 Feb 2007
By 
M. Setters - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mot a Mot: New Advanced French Vocabulary (Paperback)
This book held all the vocabulary I needed for A level, but :

Since moving to France, I have found that the content is very outmoded, or plain wrong. Expressions are out of context, or mistranslated, and it can't be relied up on if you plan to use French in the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for those getting through their A-levels, 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mot a Mot: New Advanced French Vocabulary (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. As an A-level student I have read and found it very informative. If you're not a student but want to learn French it is also good, however you should have a basic knowledge of French for this book to make sense. It has high level phrases and idioms which are acceptable in school exams and used by the French. the book will easily assist you in becoming a true Francophone. An all round excellent educative book, and that in being it's strongest point is also it's weakest. Do not use this book if you don't have a decent knowledge of French, the chances are you may drown, other than that the book is definitely worth a four out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential!, 20 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mot a Mot: New Advanced French Vocabulary (Paperback)
Having used Palabra por Palabra and Mot a Mot at A-Level I made sure I got a copy for myself to take to uniersity - I now own the German version Wort fur Wort too! The vocab is linked by theme, ideal for essay writing, conversation or interpreting preparation. I find the chapter with all those essential essay expressions is used in all my written assignments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars close but no cigar..., 29 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mot a Mot: New Advanced French Vocabulary (Paperback)
The only problem with Mot a Mot is that it really is an ADVANCED guide to french vocabulary. The vocab is aimed at university students, or those working at a standard higher than AS/A level since only a preportion of the words fit into the AS/A level syllabus.
So, if you are a uni student or just generally at a high standard in french, then i would definately recommend this book. Otherwise, i would go for something aimed at a AS/A level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential student vocab book, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Mot a Mot: New Advanced French Vocabulary (Paperback)
This should be a set text for all French AS/A level students - it covers vocab by topic, meaning that you can look up/learn vocab as you go through the topics in the syllabus, and it also has a handy section at the front with phrases for use in essays or spoken work.
This version also has links to websites at the end of topics, which means you can check out articles relating to the topic straight after having learnt the vocab.
I would recommend this to anyone studying AS/A level French and above - the sort of vocab it gives often pops up in listening exercises and reading comprehensions, especially since they have synonym sections now.
Bonne chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mot à Mot - Mot au succès!, 21 Jun 2003
This review is from: Mot a Mot: New Advanced French Vocabulary (Paperback)
I bought this book 18 months ago after commencing an A-Level in French, and as I progressed through the syllabic topics I found the lists of vocabulary to be extremely comprehensive, up-to-date and pertinent. They proved to be extremely useful all around, for discursive writing, oral activities, class discussions and reading activities; and knowing even just a selection of the words from each section of the book helped to boost my general confidence in French phenomenonly, not to mention my marks, immensely helping me attain such high grades.
The initial section of essay phrases was absolutely indispensible for writing tasks and in preparation for my A2 oral, in which I wouldn't have been able to debate so intensely against the strong, forceful arguments and stances with which I was faced without the help of this book.
You can't possibly go wrong by buying this book. It's very reasonably priced and is small and portable enough to be carried everywhere, whether for vocabulary revision or for communicating with French people. It is ideal for any A-Level French syllabus and will not let you down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn vocab the lazy way., 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mot a Mot: New Advanced French Vocabulary (Paperback)
This book should be called 'lazy way to revise vocabulary for GCSE, A Level and university exams without having to look for it yourself'. Sometimes, when perhaps my exams are in a few hours, I use this book to help me regurgitate phrases in my writing. This makes me look clever and like I am bothered about the French language.

The book is divided into sections, such as 'the environment' and 'sport'. This makes me seem educated about a comprehensive range of boring topics France throws at me. Moreover, one could say that it is indeed possible to write entire sentences that are widely considered to have no sound basis or direction apart from various phrases, insofar as to increase word count. This is the real reason anyone uses Mot à Mot.

Perhaps a little outdated now, but I am too cheap to buy the new edition so this doesn't matter to me that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for essays and cultural discussion, 7 Dec 2002
By A Customer
The best thing about this book is that when you first open it you don't feel overloaded with information - it feels manageable even to the point that you don't mind keeping this small book in your bag all the time. However, at the same time, there is plenty of information/ideas for a fruitful discussion. The first chapter provides expressions for starting,describing and concluding an argument; various levels of agreement and disagreement; all to make you sound like a fully fledged member of the chattering classes.The other chapters cover broad topics like human relations, urban/country life; health, work, education etc which are again broken down into sub-categories to provide you with useful, up-to-date vocabulary/expressions so that you can locate what you need quite quickly. If you have GSCE plus knowledge you could use this book to discuss one of the above topics without needing recourse to a dictionary and futhermore the linking of ideas has been done for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Again?!?!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mot a Mot: New Advanced French Vocabulary (Paperback)
I have never ordered or received this item. I do not study French or have any desire to do so. Have I been charged for this? If so how much and I ask for an immediate refund and explanation. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mot a Mot for Alevel, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does what it says on the tin. Comprehensive and effective revision aid for A level students. Worth the money. 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mot a Mot: New Advanced French Vocabulary
Mot a Mot: New Advanced French Vocabulary by Paul Humberstone (Paperback - 23 Jun 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews