Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can see why she did it ...............
This book was excellent. I read it whilst on holiday and for two days i never put it down. I found the characters brilliant and had no trouble at all realating to them and thinking of my own friends who match them. Everyone knows how one little white lie can evolve into the biggest whopper ever and this tale shows it well. I thought Lizzie was going to live happily ever...
Published on 6 Aug 2001 by rodgers__claire@hotmail.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but predictable
I had high hopes for this book after the first few chapters but as the story progressed I felt the characters became a bit too fanciful and predictable. Nevertheless - an entertaining read and I'll be intrigued to know how the story develops in "Running Away From Richard"
Published on 25 May 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can see why she did it ..............., 6 Aug 2001
This review is from: Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life (Paperback)
This book was excellent. I read it whilst on holiday and for two days i never put it down. I found the characters brilliant and had no trouble at all realating to them and thinking of my own friends who match them. Everyone knows how one little white lie can evolve into the biggest whopper ever and this tale shows it well. I thought Lizzie was going to live happily ever after with her American heart throbe, but at the last minute a sudden twist was put in and the ending was some what different, however this was brilliant and kept me guessing right to the end. This story is a brilliant read and I can't wait to get my nose into the next Chirs Manbry story. Fantastic!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life (Paperback)
I ended up with this book by mistake (long story) and only read it when I found myself on a last-minute beach holiday. I'd never have picked it up otherwise as I'm not really a fan of 'chicklit' but I'm so glad I did. The two days I spent reading this book were two of the best of my holiday. Chris's characters are so lovely and so well-written and the storyline had a dreamy fairy tale quality to it without ever being preposterous or unlikely. There were lots of twists and turns in the plot that Chris handled beautifully. And - big plus point this - I genuinely had no idea which bloke Lizzie was going to end up with until very close to the end. This is MUCH MUCH better than most chicklit, and if you want a book that absorbs you completely while you're reading it and then leaves you with a warm glow after, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and entertaining, a great read - buy it !, 19 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life (Paperback)
A nice book which will lift you up from any bad mood, or that shall keep a good one going. I laughed a lot, and had truble putting the book down. For people who love the "Bridget Jone" type of books. Good work Chris !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful - don't bother!!, 12 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life (Paperback)
Lizzie Jordan must be the MOST irritating character in the world and, if not, well she definitely comes close. Skipped through most of this book as wanted to read to the end but it was such dire rubbish. Have enjoyed all of Chris Manby's other books, but not this. Relegated straight to the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 23 July 2007
This review is from: Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life (Paperback)
This book was published in 2000, so as you can imagine quite a long time ago! Since then I've felt Chris Manby's style of writing has improved greatly - from her plot ideas, to her sentence structure. Therefore after reading a couple of her newer (and slightly more highly regarded) books, I began Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life. However, I was slightly disappointed with this book. Don't get me wrong; this book is good, I did enjoy it, but relatively (compared to her newer work such as 'Second Prize' and 'Ready or Not?') I found it was nothing on her newer work.

The main "pro" as such was the plot: I did enjoy it, as predictable as it was. However, to me, it felt somewhat 'done-before' (I later realised, Jane Green had done something mildly similar in her novel 'Jemima J' - but the two novels did indeed have their strong differences). It was amusing and straight-forward, and I did find myself hooked after the first few chapters. A book without a strong plot which goes somewhere doesn't tend to impress me, but I felt that Manby definitely had a good plot going in Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life.

However... there were some negative points I picked up throughout the novel. As petty and pedantic as they may be, they are important to me and I'm sure some other readers. I hope Manby changed editor after this book (or he/she shaped up) because the number of typographical errors and simple grammatical mistakes irritated me. Typographical errors included "Tve" and "somethign". Her speech marks seemed everywhere - I noticed, more than once, sentences that were in a similar way to this: "Hi," he said. How are you?" - It's just the simple, careless mistakes which get on my nerves (this is not Manby's fault). However, after reading her newer works, I haven't noticed any typographical errors or grammatical mistakes, so hopefully all is well.
Her writing style in this novel got on my nerves slightly - her constant repetition of the phrase 'en route', her lack of capatalising the 'G' in 'God' (I may be mistaken, but I've always thought the correct way to write 'god' is with a capital 'G'?). Also, her extremely long sentences irritated me. I found one sentence that was 10 lines long! I mean yes, it did have commas etc. in it, but still, what's the need for such a long sentence? Not only is it confusing for the reader, but it becomes messy and clumsy.
I do ackonowledge that all of these points are rather fastidious, and I in no means mean to discourage anyone from reading this book because of the few small errors. However it was just those mistakes that turned me to give the book only 4 stars, as oppose to the 5 Manby could have gained.

So all in all - good book by Chris Manby. Good plot, amusing story, read it if you're up for a light, amusing read. On the other hand, if you're like me and you find the little things irritate you to high end, maybe her newer novels would be more suitable for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, 29 Oct 2005
This review is from: Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life (Paperback)
I loved this book. it was witty and funny and i couldnt put it down. it made me laugh out loud. i must admit Lizzie was self-centred and self-pitting but thats what made it so fun for me. i defently didnt want it to end though! thats why i was really pleased when i was brousing and found "running away from richard" this is the next book from Lizzie Jordon and i loved it even more than the first one. i have now read more of Chris Manby's books including "ready or not" "getting personal" and "girl meets ape" READ THEM ALL...xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but predictable, 25 May 2001
By A Customer
I had high hopes for this book after the first few chapters but as the story progressed I felt the characters became a bit too fanciful and predictable. Nevertheless - an entertaining read and I'll be intrigued to know how the story develops in "Running Away From Richard"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutly loved this book! It is not the most original book in its genre, but who cares? It made me laugh out loud on a train. Read it in the spirit in which it's meant - light relief and you'll probably enjoy it.
Brilliant story, with lots of highs and lows, you can really feel for the girl, pray that she gets the right guy, and gets more selfconfidence!

Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life is the first Chris Manby book I have read,and it was a very good story line,very humorous and with such a lovely ending!
I would definitely recommend this book to everybody out there, it's a good holiday read, easy, relaxing, and great for the beach without detracting from its comic potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read!, 1 Mar 2010
This review is from: Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life (Paperback)
I read this book years ago, but still go back to it. I loved every page and couldn't wait to turn to the next one. The writing is clever, witty and punchy. I laughed out loud to tears with some of the descriptions. The characters just seem like ordinary people and easy to relate to. Sadly though try as I have, I have almost given up hope that this magic could be replicated but alas Chris Manby has disappointed on this front. But this is a highly recommended read. Enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars predictable, 18 May 2008
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
average reads, girl realises that the love of her life has been right in front of her the whole time. enjoyable enough to pass a week lounging at the beach/pool. got kinda bored so flicked to the end to find out what happens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life
Lizzie Jordan's Secret Life by Chrissie Manby (Paperback - 17 Aug 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews