Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Social satire meets Grand Guignol: funny, bizarre,horrific
Sayle has both mellowed and hardened over the years; he's very much more sympathetic to some of his characters than he was in 'Train to Hell', but the world view here is still desperately dark and cynical. The protagonists (who are basically glove puppets for his usual, very funny style of observational surrealism) never achieve any kind of happy ending, and rarely end...
Published on 25 Nov 2000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original, dramatic but a bit of a curate's egg.
This is an arresting collection of stories, from a writer who has depth and bleakness and poetry in his veins.
There are some standout stories - like the title story, and one about an OAP who becomes an urban guerilla. I also liked the last story which can be described as an epic, but it has a beautiful economy. (If someone could explain the punchline to me I'd...
Published on 14 Sep 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Comedian in 'good book' shocker, 17 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barcelona Plates (Hardcover)
What an amazing book! Who would have thought that beneath that rough Scouse communist exterior lay the heart of a fully-accomplished, sensitive writer. Some of these short stories remind me of Will Self's stories, in both subject matter and style - but with more humour. Some stories are nearly libellous - the real-life person's name being only slightly changed for the purposes of fiction. The title story is the best in the book for my money - but do not read if easily offended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original, dramatic but a bit of a curate's egg., 14 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barcelona Plates (Paperback)
This is an arresting collection of stories, from a writer who has depth and bleakness and poetry in his veins.
There are some standout stories - like the title story, and one about an OAP who becomes an urban guerilla. I also liked the last story which can be described as an epic, but it has a beautiful economy. (If someone could explain the punchline to me I'd appreciate it).
Sayle can say in a short story of half a dozen pages what it would take some media clowns (which he parodies in this collection) a bloated mini-series to say.
Extremely good in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars astonishly brilliant, 4 April 2000
This review is from: Barcelona Plates (Hardcover)
There has been no better, more original, or more darkly hilarious book published for decades. This is quite simply unparalleled genius, and anyone buying it will still be thinking about the stories for weeks afterwards. Who'd have thought a fat scouser could run so deep, or be able to handle punctuation? Unbeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection of short stories, 15 April 2013
One I have recommended to friends on many occasions. Even to my book club although they have not seen fit to include it in their reading list yet.
One or two stories fell a little below par but by and large a fine example of how to write in this much maligned medium.
Better than any of Sayle's novels, which I found a little ho-hum.
Would also recommend the Dog Catcher, but it's not as good as this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sure to make you laugh, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Lance Mitchell (Hampshire, UK, Northern Hemisphere, Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a collection of short stories, all of which have either a sinister or an amusing twist in the tail. For some, the twist is both sinister and amusing. The stories demonstrate a great deal imagination and variety. If you want to read yet another version of how Princess Diana died, or how an old soldier could get a deathly kick out of his twilight years, just pick up this book and have a read.

I can't think of any of my friends to whom I would not recommend this delightful little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just very very good., 6 April 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barcelona Plates (Hardcover)
I tend to distrust people who espouse socialist principles for decades then push junk food to children for cash on tv. But that notwithstanding, this is just an absolutely brilliant book, really well written, constantly surprising and with genuine characters that stay with you. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barcelona Plates (Hardcover)
If you do nothing else today - buy this book, buy it now. Beautifully written, imaginitive, witty and wonderfully barbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I cant give 5 stars to anything..., 12 Jan 2004
This review is from: Barcelona Plates (Paperback)
..apart from David Sedaris I s'pose. Alexie Sayle has been around for awhile & lets be honest here, his live & TV output has been rotten & bloated for a decade. His recent TV appearances has been embarrasing, appalling & thankfully the BBC have decided not to make any more . This does not however detract from this delightful collection of short stories, all with a sprinkling of bad language, but excellent reading.read the Book , but dont watch his shows. What more needs to be said?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Emperor�s Old Clothes, 13 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barcelona Plates (Paperback)
Having watched Sayle ooze confidence on promotional televison appearances for Barcelona Plates I was sincerely hoping that the man who told Michael Parkinson about of the 'craftsman' contained in this book of short stories would be able to back up his words.
This he does partially... but only partially. Barcelona Plates does have some engaging elements. It is crisply written with occasionally sympathetic - if a little patronising - treatment of the cast of characters. The book is not, however, a page turner. After ploughing through the first two shorts I began to look forward less and less to what Sayle would tell me next.
It does not help, of course, that the book is sometimes rather clumsily written; certain passages leap out from the book and scream for a good editor. That said it is an interesting first effort. One wonders, however, whether such glowing reviews from the likes of Douglas Adams would have been quite so forthcoming had the book been written by Sid Fotheringay of Streatham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barcelona Plates
Barcelona Plates by Alexei Sayle (Paperback - 21 Sep 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews