Customer Reviews


11 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation! This book will release you from church!, 17 April 2008
This review is from: Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books) (Paperback)
Wow, one of those books that has you nodding at every page. Mike Yaconelli had a knack of telling as it is, and this book is brilliant.

He helps you understand God's grace and what it means for the Christian life and church. Essentially it's about realising that our best spiritual connections with God happen when we are at out most honest, most real, most passionate.

Christian spirituality is not about competence or professional church or fake Christian lives on Sundays or comfortable or ...

Christian spirituality is messy spirituality. It is about a passion for Jesus, just as you are. Jesus cared far more about passion than competence.

Churches really need to grasp what Yaconelli is saying as it's at the heart of Jesus' gospel. Read this book, change yourself, change church, meet Jesus in today's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book by a great bloke, 8 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books) (Paperback)
The loss of Mike Yaconelli in October 2004 was huge. Not only was he an inspirational speaker, his books are astounding. Every time I read one of them I feel not only closer to the author but closer to God.
His attitude to Christianity is what the organised Church really needs to take on board. This book is essential reading for all sorts of people, from committed Christians needing a spiritual uplift to those on the fringe thinking that to be loved by God we need to be living perfect lives. It just ain't so!!
Buy this book for yourself, for your best friend, for the person you work with who thinks you're a bit batty going to church every week. Spread the word that you don't have to be perfect to be a Christian, there was only one bloke capable of that...and sorry Mike it wasn't you my love, but God bless you, I miss you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing read, 4 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books) (Paperback)
This book was a breath of fresh air. It was very readable - a good combination of stories, personal bits and Bible references.

It reminded me of God's amazing grace and what it means to live with that in your life. How we don't have to be good enough for God, he loves us as we are. Not that we have licence to abuse God's grace but we don't have to impress him!

Such a relief. Inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its okay to stop faking..., 19 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books) (Paperback)
Mike Yaconelli's message to the world was/is simple, Love Jesus - Follow Him, Love People - as much as you can & It's normal to get things wrong.
This book can help you realise and understand how God sees your life and the mistakes we all make on a day-day basis - be that worrying or other things that make following Jesus seem an impossible task.
His other books are amazing. Buy them now!
Simple and down to earth, practical and real, easy to read and sufficiently challenging to apply.
Guy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 22 April 2015
This review is from: Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books) (Paperback)
A refreshingly honest look at how ordinary people can connect with God, without having to go through the hoops and trappings that are so often associated with ‘spirituality’. Yaconelli was a pastor, yet he struggled at times to pray. He made mistakes, he messed up. He explains that the spiritual life does not have to be a neat progression of steps but is often disorganised and messy.

Specific chapters look at hindrances to the spiritual life. The author encourages us to let go of the past, whether it was traumatic or not, and to move on with God into our future.

He explodes some of the myths that some apparently super-spiritual people hold to; he encourages his readers to encounter Jesus for themselves. He looks at the importance of love, and of doing whatever we’re supposed to do, day by day, with examples of how little bits of grace occur when we least expect them.

Peppered with anecdotes, the book is quite thought-provoking. It’s not a difficult read, and I found it immensely encouraging.

I would recommend it highly to anyone, whatever stage they are on the Christian path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liberating - after guilt ridden year of trying to be perfect, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books) (Paperback)
Mike Yaconelli is so very honest about his struggle to be the perfect Christian some preachers and of course non-Christians tell us we should be.

I was loaned this book by a friend who told me to pass it on, which I have done and those people have passed it on too.
Each person who has read this book has like me, ended up buying their own copy.
I know that there will be some legalists in and out of the church who will not agree and like the Pharisees will make some feel that they can never walk into a church because they can't atain the impossible standard they set
It was a pleasure to have in writing what I have always beleived, tellign the legalists that if it was all black and white why do we need Jesus? Repentance and Grace = Forgiveness and Hope
I was once told that the word sin is the name used for an archer who misses the bulls eye. If it misses it is a sin
We aim for the perfection of God but because we are still earth bound we miss the bulls eye and so are sinners and that is why we need Jesus. I urge those who want the Freedom Jesus spoke of to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the broken & lost, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books) (Paperback)
Lost broken & confused with your walk. Loved the book . One of the "notorious sinners" who will point you in the right direction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, real and no hype! Saturated in Jesus ..., 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books) (Paperback)
Honest, real and no hype! Saturated in Jesus and his grace, this is one of those five books that you keep going back to. Get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, uplifting, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books) (Paperback)
Wonderful , uplifting. the best "Christian" book after the Bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books) (Paperback)
Brilliant book by a sadly missed author full of grace and reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Messy Spirituality: Christianity for the rest of us (Hodder Christian Books)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews