Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good solid read in itself
As a stand alone work, this story flows nicely in spite of the multitude of typing errors. Solid characters and a fairly beleivable description of the universe - much fleshed-out from the original book.
Some of the action stretches the imagination too much; in particular the Duncan Idaho part. Ten, maybe, twelve a sure possibility, but eight? This is the same with...
Published on 9 Nov. 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extending Your Grasp of the Context for Dune
Prequels are unusual novels. They should be written to introduce a book and series for someone who has not yet read any of the material. Yet their prime readership will be from those who have already read the series and want more. So you have to evaluate prequels from both prespectives. Usually, they favor one dimension or the other.
As is the usual case for...
Published on 7 May 2004 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Sept. 2000
Although I was sceptical at first, having immensely enjoyed the original Dune series, I must say that I was very impressed with this book. It was well written, fast-paced and once I got started it was hard to put down. Just ordered the next one in the series from Amazon, so looking forward to the "Prequel" saga continuing. I wonder if these guys will ever reveal what was going to be in Dune 7 ? I hope so, in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best since Messiah., 21 Jan. 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Atreides (Prelude to Dune) (Hardcover)
A brilliant addition to the Dune series. A worthy successor to Dune and Dune Messiah which knocks spots off Chapter House and Heretics. Reads like Frank Herbert before he got caught by his own verbosity. A big well done to Kevin and Brian and thank you from the bottom of my heart for not writing the sequel(s) to Chapter/Hertics. Let the story hang poised for ever on the verge of another monumental trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Greatest Series Of Books Of All Time, 20 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
House Atreides is a worthwhile read for those who like Science-Fiction. It is about two feuding families. The Harkonnen's and the Atreides. The Harkonnen family have been enemy of the Atreides Household since the time of the ancients. The evil Baron Vladimir Harkonnen hungers for more spice. A substance that prolongs life and increases Physic ability. Baron Vladimir is also part of a breeding program by the Bene Gesserit sisterhood a female cult who plan to create The Kwisatz Haderach. A human capable of bridging the gaps between space and time.
Meanwhile the crowned Prince Sshaddam plans to poison his father with the help of his evil accomlice Hasmir Fenring.
On the water planet Caladan young Leto Atreides journeys to Ix tom learn how to rule. Befriending Prince Rhombur Vernius and learning of a dangerous plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as all the over books by the father., 10 Jun. 2000
By 
I found this book by chance, having read the six other Dune books a good few years ago, this book triggered the memories of these. A very good yarn had me reading at every opportunity, until I had consumed every detail. I can not wait for the next book. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to the epic saga, 15 July 2001
By A Customer
Although the book lacks some of Frank Herbert 's great insights it 's still a must-read because it introduces the new reader to the fantastic Dune universe and is a great story by its self. It's easy to read and attrsctive so go get it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to the Dune series, 27 Jun. 2000
By 
maward55 (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
I enjoyed the book tremendously. Maybe not as superbly written as the original Dune, but if you stop trying to compare it, and just enjoy it for its own qualities, you will be like me and be unwilling to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will miss the characters !, 13 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
The only thing i can say is that when i finish reading it .. i felt sadness.. i liked it very much .. i will miss the characters !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing to the avid Dune fan, 3 April 2002
Of course I was very excited when a new book set in the Dune universe came out, even if it wasn't written by the original Herbert. But frankly I was extremely disappointed. The book, whilst quite interesting in places, has bigger and more obvious faults than merits. The authors have not even tried to write in the original style of Frank, and the result is that the entire book reads false. Also, they seem to have a huge need to EXPLAIN every little detail of what their characters are saying, whilst the ambiguity of the original Dune series strengthened its appeal. You can read Dune again and again and discover something new about the plot and characters each time- here this book rings false and thin, and some of the plot completely contradicts the original series, almost as if the authors have not understood Dune properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House Atreides (Prelude to Dune)
House Atreides (Prelude to Dune) by Kevin J Anderson (Hardcover - 7 Oct. 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews