Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A travelogue of the cricket grounds of England and beyond
White Cap and Bails follows a different format from Dickie Bird's autobiography. Rather than being a chronology, it is a sort of travelogue, with a chapter devoted to each county followed by similar content regarding international grounds.
For each county, Bird gives his best anecdotes about the club, its grounds, and his personal experience with it, both as a...
Published on 26 Nov. 2001 by J. N. Shecket

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing anecdotes of county and country cricketers
Dickie (with the help of a quite a few friends with long memories) details each individual county, recalling many of the characters through his own first-hand experiences and those of others. All the past greats of cricket are mentioned, each with their seemingly own personalised tale from a career that spanned many decades and even more countries. Umpires too are not...
Published on 5 Jan. 2001 by Mr. David M. Ringland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing anecdotes of county and country cricketers, 5 Jan. 2001
By 
Dickie (with the help of a quite a few friends with long memories) details each individual county, recalling many of the characters through his own first-hand experiences and those of others. All the past greats of cricket are mentioned, each with their seemingly own personalised tale from a career that spanned many decades and even more countries. Umpires too are not excluded and are proven to be human after all! He also recalls many overseas players representing counties, and eventually goes on to reminisce his memories of all the current Test playing countries, players and places he has visited. For all the statistitions amongst us, there is contained general information precluding to all the county and country playing cricket teams. On the whole an easy to read book with plenty to keep the enthusiast entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A travelogue of the cricket grounds of England and beyond, 26 Nov. 2001
By 
J. N. Shecket (Columbus, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Cap and Bails (Paperback)
White Cap and Bails follows a different format from Dickie Bird's autobiography. Rather than being a chronology, it is a sort of travelogue, with a chapter devoted to each county followed by similar content regarding international grounds.
For each county, Bird gives his best anecdotes about the club, its grounds, and his personal experience with it, both as a player and an umpire.
I think the international section is a bit unneccesary, as it does not go into anywhere near the depth of the rest of the book. That would be better suited for another Dickie Bird release.
The most remarkable thing about White Cap and Bails is that, for the most part, it avoids repeating the same information from Dickie Bird: My Autobiography.
I reccomend this book to anybody who loves cricket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars White Cap and Bails, 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written with the cricketing enthusiast in mind, as Dickie travels around the counties reviewing their grounds and the legendary cricketers who have played for their respective counties. Light hearted book as if the author is recounting cricketing tales to his friends/pals etc. I enjoyed his style of writing as I can relate to the content and this book does provide a pleasant interlude away from the non fictional world of Baldacci et al.
Take the book with you on holiday or on a long haul flight, as there are some very amusing anecdotes to break the ennui.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have always liked dickie and the book s brill plus he talks ..., 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always liked dickie and the book s brill plus he talks the same language as me as we are both Yorkshire men old lad it was tat good I am looking for some more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... I can say Is that it is a really good read and well worth buying if you enjoy cricket, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All I can say Is that it is a really good read and well worth buying if you enjoy cricket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars he was very pleased., 6 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Cap and Bails (Paperback)
A cricket friend's birthday present. he was very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor and Boring, 28 April 2006
I admit I never finished this. It was so poor I couldn't stand any more of the anecdotes. It was about as much fun as a duodenal ulcer. If you find "I went to Ilkestone one day. It was so windy my hat blew off" (read in a dour Yorkshire accent) at all funny, then you will probably enjoy the book. For the rest - avoid like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A superficial, glib rehash of old stories., 10 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
I admire Dickie Bird as an umpire and have memories of seeing him as a batsman for Yorkshire, and very promising he was too. I still see him nowadays when he visits Scarborough cricket club for Yorkshire matches, and he is a deservedly popular figure. However, this book is a grave disappointment. It is a highly superficial skim through the first class counties and major test playing countries, purporting to be Dickie's memories, but more often than not rehashing old stories of cricketers of the distant past. These can be found in other publications, and those that can't are not worth repeating anyway. Some of the stories are so thin and lacking interest you wonder how they could be included in a supposedly serious book. This reads like a publisher's attempt to milk Dickie's popularity, by throwing together a book of slender content, with nothing new to offer a cricket fan. It is not a worthy tribute to Dickie and it is a shame it bears his name. Avoid this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Cap and Bails
White Cap and Bails by Dickie Bird (Paperback - 7 Sept. 2000)
£5.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews